We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the Black Forest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adler Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Adler Hotel Restaurant to your Saves list
Adler Hotel Restaurant
Forststrasse 15-17, 72250 Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in the Black Forest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel as it in a good centre. With your stay you get the 'Konus card' that allows you FREE, yes FREE travel in the Black Forest area on trains and buses, which can save you alot of money! The rooms were clean and comfortable and modern. Chef and owner Armin Gaiser and his wife are wonderful hosts and speak perfect English. His cooking is excellent. The hotel is perfectly situated about 200 yards from the Stadt railway station and the market square, the largest in Europe. It is a hotel that I would and have recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Not sure what to say - nothing wrong with the hotel apart from being really dated, we obviously had 2 older rooms, very large but poor decor. Bathrooms were terribly dated very 70's style. The room had the worst pillows we have ever experienced - just filled with nothing! The room was clean and had wifi. Breakfast was fine - typical German continental breakfast. Location good - near the market place. I think this hotel is fine but it was not really to our taste.

Room Tip: Not rooms 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. We stayed 4 nights in August, two rooms and found the hotel and restaurant exceeded our expectations.
The owners, the Gaisers were so friendly and accommodating and made our stay so much more enjoyable. Rooms were comfortable and spotless, the staff helpful and charming.
Armin Gaiser is an excellent chef and food in the restaurant was first class.
We were impressed with the way the Gaisers treated all their guests conversing effortlessly in English and French.

Additional benefits included free WiFi internet access in rooms, free parking and the Konus travel card was a bonus.
It’s location is perfect, quiet and close to the Stadt railway station and Marktplatz . Would highly recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, husband and wife run hotel and restaurant and give you such a warm welcome. Rooms are spotless, modern and charming and the food was of the best we had in Germany. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we personally will definitely return at some point.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Hotel Adler was a great base for a few days hiking in the Black Forest area. Located close to Freudenstadt stadt rail station, it has spacious rooms, (recently renovated) and a large bathroom including a shower and a large bath - which is always welcome for hikers. Really friendly and personal service and the restaurant is excellent as well. Highly recommended. The Konus card for transport in Baden-Wurt is a great bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, Somerset. UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We have just returned from a holiday in Germany. For part of the time we wanted to stay in the Black Forest region. Freudenstadt seemed centrally placed. Searching the town website we came across the Hotel Adler's page from the description there it seemed just the place we wanted. Using their website and email facilities we booked a room. Our expectations were exceeded. On arrival we were greeted by the very welcoming and friendly owner who helped us to carry our luggage up the our room. This was a very pleasant room of a good size, with two chairs a desk, and plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom while compact was perfectly adequate with a tollet, shower cubicle and washbasin. The shower was excellent and easy to operate. A buffet breakfast was included in the room price. The Adler is also a restaurant. It seemed very popular, being well patronised every night we were there. There was a good choice of dishes on the menu, with some regional specialities. They had copies of the menu in English, another good point for us.
The Hotel Adler is a family owned and run bussiness and Mr & Mrs Gaiser go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and valued. Add the fact that the prices charged are very good value for money and we thought we had made a really outstanding find which we ought to share with others.
I have no hesitation in thouroughly recommending this hotel

  • Liked — Welcome, room, food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adler Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Hotel Restaurant

Address: Forststrasse 15-17, 72250 Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freudenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adler-- we`ll make you feel at home´is our slogan and our promise.The Hotel is situated right in the middle of Freudenstadt, even then You will stay quiet. We have the hotel car park just behind.-3 min walk to the largest market square in Germany-3 min walk to hundrets of shops and so many cafésAll rooms are equipped with shower, toilet hair dryer, cable-tv, rradio-clock, telephone, free w-lan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Adler Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adler Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.