We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good centre for Northern Black Forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krone Igelsberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Krone Igelsberg to your Saves list
Krone Igelsberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstr.8 | 72250 Freudenstadt, 72250 Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Manchester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good centre for Northern Black Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

This was our second visit exploring the Forest visiting Alpirsbach, Triberg, Haslach and Gengenbach - all worth a visit for traditional architecture. The hotel food and room was as good as last year with the pool table particularly attractive this time though in the smokers' room. The sauna and steam room were only available from 1430 to 1800 for some reason.
The walking and autumn colours were superb.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

From the friendly welcome (in English) to the fanatasic food and service, from the lovely village location in the heart of the Black Forest to the splendid indoor pool ]]we loved it all. We felt so relaxed and at home at the Krone, although this was our first time in germany and we were the only english at the hotel.

The Hotel is comfortable, the dinners suberb including the vegetarian option and the breakfasts huge (they even filled up our always hungry teenage son). We opted for half board in a family suite and thought the cost extremely good value. We really didn't want to leave and are heart broken but not surprised that Xmas is fully booked.

Anja and Torson made us very welcome and we will be back. We have stayed in all sorts of hotels in several continents, this beats them all for comfort and service.

If this review sounds over the top, sorry, but this is genuine. We have had to promise the children and ourselves a swift return. We miss the soft musical chimes of the church clock, the peace of the forest and above all the welccome at the Krone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My friend chose this hotel during a driving holiday as it was conveniently situated between Lake Como and the Nurburgring, with some autobahn miles in between :o) Brilliant stay, we arrived quite late for check in and the restaurant was nearly closed, however we got a wonderful express tour of the facilities and prompt delivery of a couple of stein's of pils. The hotel style and location is a bit quirky, read Stepford meets the Rheinland, but please dont let that put you off. The food was excellent, beds and rooms clean and comfortable, but the service was exceptional! Would recommend a trip to meet Torsten and the staff at the Hotel Krone...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights half board in a family room. It was very comfortable and the food was good for dinner (€21pp for fixed menu) and breakfast (varieties of egg dishes available).
The pool and sauna/aromatherapy were good too. we were often the only ones using it.
The staff were friendly with a willingness to chat and get to know us.
It s a good location for the Northern Black Forest with the Murg valley and Baden Baden a pleasant drive away

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krone Igelsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krone Igelsberg

Address: Hauptstr.8 | 72250 Freudenstadt, 72250 Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freudenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Krone Igelsberg 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das 4 Sterne Hotel Krone Igelsberg ist zwischen Freudenstadt und Baiersbronn im Schwarzwald gelegen und bietet seinen Gasten 21 behindertengerechte Zimmer und Apartments. Diese verfugen uber Badezimmer mit WC und Dusche oder Wanne, ausserdem zahlen Bademantel, Handtucher, Kosmetikspiegel, Fohn, Safe, Telefon, Fernseher, Internetzugang, Schreibtisch, Sitzecke und Balkon zur Ausstattung. Auf der Beautyfarm werden verschiedene Massagen und Kosmetikbehandlungen angeboten. Ausserdem gibt es einen Frisor, ein Hallenschwimmbad, Sauna, Dampfbad, Whirlpool, Solarium und Fitnessgerate. Fur Kinder gibt es Billard, Elektronik Dart, Playstation, Tischtennis und Kicker zum Spielen. In dem weitlaufigen Garten des Hotels findet man auch eine Liegewiese, eine Teichanlage mit Koi-Fischen und ein Meerwasseraquarium. Geschaftsreisenden stehen mehrere Seminar- und Konferenzraume mit moderner Tagungstechnik und Internetzugang zur Verfugung. Fur das leibliche Wohl sorgt das Restaurant Krone, in dem saisonale Spezialitaten serviert werden. Gaste konnen entweder nur Fruhstuck oder Habpension buchen. Ausgezeichnete und DLG Pramierte Edelbrande aus der hauseigenen Brennerei runden das Angebot ab ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Krone Igelsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krone Igelsberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.