We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures on TA say it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kreuzblume Restaurant

Kreuzblume Restaurant
Konviktstr. 31, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
0761-31194
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $73
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Unser Kuchenchef Arnejan Kruithof serviert Gerichte mit franzosisch, mediterranem Akzent, wobei der pure Geschmack im Vordergrund steht. Seine interessanten Geschmackskombinationen erwecken Sie Sinne und lassen essen zum Erlebnis werden.
Pacoima, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The pictures on TA say it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I already did a detailed review of the Kreuzblume Hotel: suffice it to say that this place is everything the pictures describe. Wonderful!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    22
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A truly superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We passed by this restaurant on a stroll through Freibourg and decided it looked interesting from the outside, even if we had been looking for restaurants recommended by the Michelin. We had an absolutely wonderful evening there: the wine was excellent, the food was delicious: incredibly fresh, with a highly inventive selection (great vegetarian and pescatarian options) of creative dishes. Every little detail was well thought of, the bread was slightly warm, the tapenade was home-made and the timing between each dish was absolutely perfect. Lastly, the service was truly professional, very discreet and non-obtrusive while again each detail was thoughtfully taken care of. For this standard of restaurant, the price is very reasonable. We highly recommend the Kreuzeblume and look forward to coming back and trying the hotel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Top level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel restaurant. The first night looking for somewhere to dine when we saw the menu we decided to stay here for dinner. We are wine lovers and this restaurant definitely knows its wines. Well, the food was delicious. Local products and also fish and really nice fish which I though it was hard to find elsewhere in Freiburg. I loved the cod, the monkfish, the quail, the veal... everything! The wine menu, extensive, well thought and varied with local and foreign wines. The desserts, heaven. In fact it was so nice that we repeated the following night, this time we had dinner in the terrace because it was nice outside. It was really cosy to be in the terrace having a glass of sekt in a warm summer evening. This time we asked the chef to surprise us and again we had a wonderful meal and fantastic wines. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

June 2012 we visited restaurant Hotel Kreuzblume, It is under new management since September 2011 and there is a new chef.
We let the owner put a fitting menu together from the menulist and the taste was great.
Highend quality in Freiburg, the way you would expect in cities like Berlin.
The wine was excellent. They charge fair prices for the quality that is delivered.
We certainly will visit again when we are in Freiburg.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We dined in the restaurant two weeks ago and had a really creative and tasty meal. My husbands starter was the goose liver brûlée, which he really enjoyed and left us checking the ingredients to try to duplicate it at home. The meal was beautifully served and definitely the best food we'd had in Germany. Great food and great service.
Would be tempted to try their rooms next time we go to Freiberg.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kreuzblume Restaurant also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Kreuzblume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kreuzblume Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.