We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaipur

Jaipur
Gerberau 5, Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
761272082
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good option for Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is always hard to please Indian person in Indian restaurant abroad. But this hotel could please us. Food was quite good ..we were 9 people and everybody ate till they were stomach full.
They didn’t have as many varieties as anyone would have in India but whatever was cooked was brilliant. Spices were not aggressive so anyone who is not used to eat spicy can also try the food.
We had some trouble finding the restaurant and I expect same would be the case for tourist. So please make sure you have exact address and exact directions from google maps before leaving the house.
One thing that we didn’t like was service.It could have been more coordinated and polite. Seating arrangement was quite flexible. They accommodated 9 people in the busy hours of the day.
All in all good food and average service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    15
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not typical Indian food, but still reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I know Indian food and, with the exception of the excellent Naan bread, this is not typical. The food was quite bland, with many of the typical spices missing or untasteable, and the Indian beer in the restaurant (not any of the typical ones like Kingfisher, Tiger, Cobra or Namaste) I'd never heard of before, although they happily served it in a Kingfisher glass! The waiters were friendly. although it would really help for them to actually write orders down, and the restaurant was pretty understaffed. Happily go there and give it a try, but if you don't know Indian food well, don't go expecting it to be typical of India's cuisine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic Indian food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I visited this restaurant during a short trip to Freiburg. I ordered Lamb Rogan Josh. The Rogan Josh was not like any Rogan Josh that I have ever had before. The sauce was quite weak and didn't taste like a normal Rogan Josh. The starter was ok and the price was reasonable. I would look for somewhere else though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in the Black Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

By far the best Indian Food in the Black Forest; food was rightly cooked, very good sized portions and service was great. Ate here way back in 1998 and I remember it was good then as well. Location also great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“very good authentic Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Nice decor, good service and tasty food. Could visit again

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaipur also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.