We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a leafy neighbourhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caritas Tagungszentrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Caritas Tagungszentrum to your Saves list
Caritas Tagungszentrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wintererstrasse 17-19, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel in a leafy neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this spotlessly clean, comfortable hotel. An excellent location for both discovering the city as well as hiking in the nearby hills. Great breakfast. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

High value for your euro/dollar. The rooms are small, but clean. The breakfast was very nice. Free Internet. And a nice, easy walk to the city center with directions courtesy of the staff. Only downside was that my room was on the top floor and there was no elevator access.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Even though we stayed only a short time, after travelling several days around Europe, it was lovely to arrive at this quite and comfortable place. We didnt have much interaction with the staff, but the ladies at reception were very warm and friendly. We arrived Sunday night after 8pm and stayed until Tuesday, so there werent many people around.

It was a 10 minute walk out from the center of town, but we like that as its quieter with no noise.
The breakfast was great - good selection and better than some other hotels we've stayed in previously. The "pillow bar" was also a hit, being able to choose what type of pillow you wanted. I enjoy places with window shutters that block out the light- so it was a great nights sleep!

They were doing expansion work on one of thier buildings so there was some construction going on, but that was only during the day- working hours. It will be a lovely addition when its completed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have stayed there only 1 night, but this is what I can say so far:
Positive:
Excellent breakfast. New and nice bathroom. Different pillows to take your favorite one.
Neutral:
Many people praised in the reviews the location of the hotel because of the city view from the top. However I didn't see any view, because in the evening it was dark already and in the morning was a heavy fog. So please consider the time you stay.
Negative
Very small room. The room of very plain style, nothing special.
Very short reception open hours (please check them before you come!)
The hotel is quite far from the train/bus station (3km). It gets especially inconvenient if you have to reach the station couple or more times per day and if you are in a hurry to catch the transport.
4 or so buildings belong to the hotel. My room was in one, and breakfast was in another - not much of pleasure to pass the cold weather in the morning with still wet hair after the shower.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caritas Tagungszentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caritas Tagungszentrum

Address: Wintererstrasse 17-19, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caritas Tagungszentrum 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caritas Tagungszentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caritas Tagungszentrum Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caritas Tagungszentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.