We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly out of Town but no problem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Classic to your Saves list
Hotel Classic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gundelfinger Strasse 27b, 79108 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Slightly out of Town but no problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on a visit to Freiburg.We could not stay in the center because of low emissions laws in certain Germany cities, and we had a Landrover Discovery which did not qualify.This Hotel is the closest to the town you can get without the green sticker for your car.The center is easily reached by bus and tram which was fun and cheap.The hotel was modern we had a self catering apartment altough the kitchen area was small the rest of the apartment was a good size with a patio.Staff we very friendly and helped with our days out.Very cheep bear by the crate in the supermarket across the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had inadvertently booked a hotel in a city 5 hours away............long story.
We were in Freiburg after dark trying to find a hotel and we discovered The Classic Hotel. Clean, large, bright room. AIR-CONDITIONED, quiet, great breakfast at an affordable price. We had dinner there both nights we stayed. Did I mention hardwood floors? Friendly staff. Easy trip to city center via public transportation

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a matter of last minute booking on a spontaneous trip to Freiburg. It was a little difficult for us to find initially and in an out of the way location where you might not find a typical hotel. All the hotels downtown Freiburg were sold out and we happened upon this booking. Upon check-in, we were greeted politely, and checked in quickly. There is an elevator, and the rooms are very clean, modern and spacious. There are earplugs for your convenience from train noise, but we didn't find that to be an issue if you close the windows. Beds were comfortable and shower / bathroom amenities are adequate. We were very pleased with our one night stay and took the tram / bus downtown until late hours. The owners are very pleasant and have beer on tap for purchase right in the lobby. That's a nice extra for thirsty travelers. I would stay here again mainly for the service and the ability to be out of the way from downtown, although my preference is to stay in the city. As previously mentioned, there is free parking for your car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very nice and comfortable place. It is not totally close to the center, but you can hop on the street car and go there in no time. The room was noisy at night. We should have known since they provided ear plugs!!! train goes by all night and is noisy. We needed a triple room so we took what they had. otherwise it was good. Free parking.

Room Tip: be careful that your room is not toward the train tracks. It runs all night and is noisy. Unfortunat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The only problem is the noise from the train the location is very good and the breakfast as well, the rooms are big and nice , the price is nice
The service is very good and the food is. very good ,,,,,, it's a good base for travelling to the lot of interesting places

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of 5 plus our little dog stayed one night during our road trip travels this summer. We needed a place with parking which is provided here. We all stayed in one room which was large with comfortable beds and duvets. The bathroom was large and clean. We had difficulty connecting to the wi-fi and not being able to really communicate with the reception staff made this part of our stay a bit frustrating, but since we were only there one night - it wasn't that big of a deal. If we had been there longer, it would have been a problem for us since we work from the road. The room and hotel don't really have a personality or character to speak of, but this was fine with us as this wasn't what was important for us during this stay. The center of Freiburg is just about a 5 minute drive away and there is plenty of parking located throughout on the street and in parking garages. There looks like there is going to be a tram line that will eventually run by the hotel which is a straight shot into the center and that will be useful for guests of the hotel who don't want to drive their car into town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First of all, Forget the swimming pool : there is no swimming pool even if that's written on Tripadvisor for the hotel's services. So i had choosen the hôtel for it and the girl at the réception just made as if i did not read good...

Also call to know if the breakfast is offered before going there as it is again noticed on tripadvisor hotel's services because they made us pay for it... So we had to pay something about 128€ (104€ +12x2) instead of 104€.

The room was ok so as the hôtel's name, this hôtel is a suburb classic hôtel.
The inside pictures are as you would see it. Large room and bathroom.
The outside pictures do not show the train Line behind the hôtel or the rental car area just in front of it.
The breakfast is ok even if it could be bigger

Room Tip: Not noisy because the double windows make the room safe and calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Classic

Address: Gundelfinger Strasse 27b, 79108 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Classic 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Classic Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.