We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in old town Freiburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel to your Saves list
Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrenstrasse 43, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Right in old town Freiburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Schwarzwaelder Hof but wished it was longer. The updated hotel rooms were very nice and the elevator made taking our bags to the third floor much easier, although we still had to manage a few stairs to get there. The hotel is only a few blocks from the cathedral and the rest of the old town Freiburg, which is very walkable. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast had a good selection. There was an attached restaurant but it was closed the night we were there (Sunday).

There's no parking at the hotel but there's a public parking garage behind it with a back exit that leads to the hotel 50 yards away. The hotel can give you a chit so the cost is only 10 Euro per day. The hotel is on a narrow street with no clear area where to park during check-in so contact the hotel for directions on the parking garage and how to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    85
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
97
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were visiting our daughter who has been studying at the University of Freiburg and we chose the Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel mainly because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We loved the room, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was large (by European standards) completely remodeled, and very clean. The staff was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Should we ever go back to Freiburg, we would stay there again. We did not have the breakfast, it smelled delicious, but we just do not usually eat a buffet style breakfast.

Please note, there is a lot of construction throughout Freiburg right now, and they start working around 6AM; this will wake you up, but as there is so much to do in Freiburg, you will not mind waking up early. If you do not want to get up early, close the window and bring earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biri, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited Freiburg for 5 days in April and stayed in this hotel located in the old part of the city. The hotel is a relatively small family run hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms nice and clean and the breakfast very good. You have a big parking facility close to the hotel. When you arrive you get tickets for free for all public transportation in Freiburg. So if you want to stay in a quiet hotel with a warm atmosphere, nice staff and good service, try this hotel. We had an excellent stay there!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one evening as part of a tour around Germany. We were impressed.

Location wise, the hotel can be found just behind the Munster. This is about 10-15 minutes walk from the station although this is mostly through pedestrianised areas and very scenic throughout. The hotel is part of the Altstadt so there are several great restaurants a short walk away with the lovely Rathausplatz and main shops also very close by.

The hotel owner was very friendly upon our arrival and even helped with our bags. Other staff that we encountered at breakfast and when returning to our room later in the evening were also proactively friendly, which made us feel very welcome.

Our room was perfectly fine for its price range and was clean and spacious. The dining area was particularly nice and very traditional in its design with lots of wood decor. Our breakfast was very good.

We would totally recommend a stay at this hotel and love Freiburg generally. We will be back,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I recently stayed two nights in Freiburg and was pleased with my choice of hotels. The hotel is in a great location...you can't get a better location in Freiburg. Parking is also very convenient in the garage located off Schlossbergring. I will say that the room was pretty basic and a little outdated as far as the furnishings go, but it was clean and cozy. Breakfast was very good and convenient. There is also free wifi, and you can get the access codes from the front desk (which was also very helpful).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent 4 nights here at the end of April. The hotel is in a quiet street just a few minutes walk from a tram stop. The stop is only a few minutes ride from the train station.

We stayed in their guest house building which is a miunute or so walk from the main hotel. Our room overlooked a very quiet courtyard. Everything was very clean and tidy. There was a small deck with a table and chairs on it which we used a few times. The room was a reasonable size and suited our needs. The bed was a bit on the hard side but wasn't as bad as some we experienced during our trip.

Breakfast was served in the main hotel so you do have to walk outside to get to it. That wasn't an issue at all for us. The breakfast choices were very good. All the staff were very friendly.

There are plenty of restaurants close by. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but it was always busy. The area was not rowdy or risky at night.

If we go back to Freiburg we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The staff at first may be a little unfriendly but they aren't really, great prices to eat there too. Wish hotels would have irons and laundrettes in Europe. Very reasonably priced food and drink in the restaurant the white asparagus soup is amazing

Room Tip: No irons or top sheets , if it's hot you only have a big duvet. Cleaning staff are amazing I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel

Address: Herrenstrasse 43, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#6 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schwarzwaelder Hof
Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.