We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stadt Freiburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stadt Freiburg to your Saves list
Hotel Stadt Freiburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breisacher Strasse 84b, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were on a tour of several countries in Europe and our tour organiser booked this hotel in Freiburg to prepare us for the next day's visit to Lake Titisee. The hotel was modern and looked spanking new. The room was spacious and the theme colour was white. I mean, the bed sheets, blankets, pillow covers, bathroom tiles, towels and toilets are all white. It certainly looked clean which was impressive. The beds were comfortable and we slept really well. The breakfast was good with a variety of food selections. The staff were friendly and they seemed to be in a hurry to do their chores. The hotel was located outside the city centre and hence it was so peaceful, quiet and devoid of people. We took a walk around the hotel and we only saw a few cars and people riding their bicycles. The streets were deserted which was nice for a change.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
19
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautifual and modern hotel, nice helpful staff, large quiet rooms, good breakfast, and nice restaurant with quite normal prices. Located in about 20-30 minutes walk to the centre of the city (and bus and railway station). Taxi from the station to the hotel was for 8 euros (7 minutes). There is also a tram going to the city centre (about 2 euros). No problems with wi-fi, library (or a reading room), several computers in the business zone with free internet and possibilities for printing etc. Staff is ready to help in case of any probems. Extra paid spa facilities (like massages etc) are really nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

stayed one night at hotel stadt. the hotel was booked by my holiday tour agency.

room was great, spacious and very new refurished room.

bed was great. comfortable.

the breakfast was full marks. many choices and good quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went to Freiburg specifically for the Christmas Market, and to admire and enjoy the old town (home to Germany's oldest Hostelry). All the hotels in the centre were already full, but this little gem, only 10 minutes by bus (stop right opposite the hotel) from the centre and entirely renovated over the last 12 months, was still able to offer accommodation for 2 over the weekend. Owned by the same family as the well-known Colombi, our upgraded room was well appointed, quiet and in tip-top condition. The service was efficient, and the reception staff ever helpful with reservations for restaurants, or information about town.
We enjoyed a light supper at the restaurant on Sunday evening, and although it does lack a little charm and ambiance, what we ate was very well prepared, the service friendly and the prices correct.

Room Tip: If the budget stretches, a junior suite, which could have up to 4 persons, would be a delightful way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There for five days during a visit to Freiburg and found this hotel a little lacking in service. The restaurant was for much of the tme closed during the evening as was the bar.
This hotel resembled more of a bed and breakfast than a full facility hotel. There appeared to be a distinct resignation among the staff that guests were an inconvenience.
Have stayed in several hotels in Germany and have had nothing but praise for quality of service down the the most modest establishment.
It was so inconvenient that we ended up using the facilities and restaurant of the hotel opposite.
Certainly no return visit and would not reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were in Freiburg for a weekend and didn't know about this hotel much while making online bookings. Hotel is simply brilliant....We were given three beds in one room for friends without any objections...Rooms were pretty big at the normal rates...Bathroom was quite big and with all the necessary things like Shampoo, Moisturizers , conditioners along with nice hot shower.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was good. Offcourse it could have been better for Vegetarian person but I would say it was good. Reception was polite enough to greet us well. They kept our bags on request for few hours in the secured place for us.

Hotel ambiance is good. There is nice garden and fountain in the hotel premises.

You can reach hotel by local tram and then bus (3 stops) which is bit inconvenient for tourists but all in all nice hotel and I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfei Menshe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed with my group in this hotel for a week. As a tour guide experiencing many hotels around the world, I can tell you, it was a great choice. Althow it is not in the center of town it is very easy to get into the center with bus that stops right in front of the hotel and comes every couple of minuits. The stuff at the reception and at the bar/restaurant where wonderful. so kind and helpfull, rely gave us the fillinf we are very welcomed. Great breakfast and nice meetingrooms with all the equipment we needed for audio and video

Room Tip: all the rooms where great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stadt Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Freiburg

Address: Breisacher Strasse 84b, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freiburg is one of those cities that offer the things that dreams are made of. Situated just a few minute's drive from the town centre and the exhibition centre, the Hotel Stadt Freiburg offers for both business and holiday activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stadt Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Freiburg Hotel
Hotel Stadt Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stadt Freiburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.