We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and yet close to the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stadt Freiburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stadt Freiburg to your Saves list
Hotel Stadt Freiburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breisacher Strasse 84b, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful and yet close to the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went to Freiburg specifically for the Christmas Market, and to admire and enjoy the old town (home to Germany's oldest Hostelry). All the hotels in the centre were already full, but this little gem, only 10 minutes by bus (stop right opposite the hotel) from the centre and entirely renovated over the last 12 months, was still able to offer accommodation for 2 over the weekend. Owned by the same family as the well-known Colombi, our upgraded room was well appointed, quiet and in tip-top condition. The service was efficient, and the reception staff ever helpful with reservations for restaurants, or information about town.
We enjoyed a light supper at the restaurant on Sunday evening, and although it does lack a little charm and ambiance, what we ate was very well prepared, the service friendly and the prices correct.

Room Tip: If the budget stretches, a junior suite, which could have up to 4 persons, would be a delightful way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    45
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
9
22
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There for five days during a visit to Freiburg and found this hotel a little lacking in service. The restaurant was for much of the tme closed during the evening as was the bar.
This hotel resembled more of a bed and breakfast than a full facility hotel. There appeared to be a distinct resignation among the staff that guests were an inconvenience.
Have stayed in several hotels in Germany and have had nothing but praise for quality of service down the the most modest establishment.
It was so inconvenient that we ended up using the facilities and restaurant of the hotel opposite.
Certainly no return visit and would not reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were in Freiburg for a weekend and didn't know about this hotel much while making online bookings. Hotel is simply brilliant....We were given three beds in one room for friends without any objections...Rooms were pretty big at the normal rates...Bathroom was quite big and with all the necessary things like Shampoo, Moisturizers , conditioners along with nice hot shower.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was good. Offcourse it could have been better for Vegetarian person but I would say it was good. Reception was polite enough to greet us well. They kept our bags on request for few hours in the secured place for us.

Hotel ambiance is good. There is nice garden and fountain in the hotel premises.

You can reach hotel by local tram and then bus (3 stops) which is bit inconvenient for tourists but all in all nice hotel and I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfei Menshe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed with my group in this hotel for a week. As a tour guide experiencing many hotels around the world, I can tell you, it was a great choice. Althow it is not in the center of town it is very easy to get into the center with bus that stops right in front of the hotel and comes every couple of minuits. The stuff at the reception and at the bar/restaurant where wonderful. so kind and helpfull, rely gave us the fillinf we are very welcomed. Great breakfast and nice meetingrooms with all the equipment we needed for audio and video

Room Tip: all the rooms where great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed there for three nights. The rooms are clean and there are lots of option in the breakfast buffet. I hated the bed, it gave me back pain. I think it is about time they change the matress because it didn´t offer any support and I am not a large person! The location is not ideal, I needed a taxi to get on time where I needed to go. It is good that they asked the customer's opinion but it was a yes or no questionnaire. It would be more helpful if instead of asking "was the room comfortable yes or no" they gave an scale from one to five. I can say it was comfortable but not comfortable enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Stadt Frieburg for 2 weeks while on business. I was overall very disappointed. The cleaning staff took advantage of the fact I was there for so long and did a suboptimal job at cleaning my room daily.

The staff do the wake-up calls and 3 of them were missed. Unfortunately, one of the wake-up calls that were missed was on my last day and I almost missed my train.

Worst part. When I checked in, it was not mentioned nor is it posted that breakfast is not included. Each early morning I would go to breakfast and ask for a cappuccino to go. THEY CHARGED ME FOR AN ENTIRE $12 BREAKFAST each time and didn't make adjustments to my bill.

Overall very unprofessional and poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Very clean, professionally managed 4 star hotel.

Front offices and other services staff arev very polite and forthcoming.

Highly recommended for the commercial traveler.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stadt Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Freiburg

Address: Breisacher Strasse 84b, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freiburg is one of those cities that offer the things that dreams are made of. Situated just a few minute's drive from the town centre and the exhibition centre, the Hotel Stadt Freiburg offers for both business and holiday activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Stadt Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Freiburg Hotel
Hotel Stadt Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stadt Freiburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.