We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Hotel...could be better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auf der Zinnen 1, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mercure Hotel...could be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 10 days. The staff were very polite and helpful, they gave excellent service. I asked for a non smoking room. The room was on the 4 th floor. It was a good size. The bathroom was clean and house keeping came everyday. Though the room needed updating. Carpet needs to be changed as it was old and looked dirty, wood would be better. A coat of paint would also freshen up the room. The air conduits and vents needed cleaning, they looked dirty,. The hair dryer would switch off after 20 seconds, as it over heated (I went and bought one). The phone was not on a night stand next to the bed, but on a table on the other side of the room. Every time the phone rang, I had to get out of bed and walk to the other side of the room to answer it. There was no clock in the room, had to check my phone for time and the alarm, luckily I had it with me. The internet plan that I ordered and payed a fee for with the hotel to use on my notebook was not reliable, had to log in and out often to reconnect. In this day of age of global internet communication, an internet connection in the room would be useful. Luckily the city centre is so near to this hotel, so I was out of my room most of the time. All the main stores and restaurants near by. Walk to the Munster and buy home made delicacies where one can eat an authentic German sausage in a bun with onions and mustard. Visit the stores on Kaiser-Josephstrasse for the latest fashion. Have a yummy coffee at Kolben Kaffee Academie, also on the same street, near the Martinstor and if you have a sweet tooth indulge in one of their deserts or eat a sandwich. Eat an authentic German meal on Herrenstrasse at the Lowen, a very old restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    273
    83
    23
    7
See reviews for
132
207
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A low value for money, too expansive for what you get.
the room is ok, but small. Never take the standard triple room- its just too small.
the location is the only good thing in this hotel- right in the heart of old Freiburg. BUT, and thats a big "but"... I can never understand nor accept the fact that hotel charges his guests for parking- its pure GREED to my opinion and as if its not enough, they also charging for WIFI!!!! Unbeliveble!!
Also- Brakefast is way to expansive, so dont take it!! theres a great bakary just outside.
Sorry, but this time i strongly recommand you'll search for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0492-GM, Manager at Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Münster. I am sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

About the room situation we can offer some different types of rooms, single double triple, family rooms , but actually there is highsession in Freiburg, with many families. Therefore the earlier you book you have the choise. Further it is vey important for us to have the real number of persons ( incl. childrens ) that are staying in the room. Sometimes we have reservations for 2 or 3 persons and at arrival there are a different number of guests. At time of check in we often cannot change the roomtypes anymore, because we are fully booked.
For our clients we only can offer a special overnight-price in the huge public parking under the hotel. Therefore you have nearly no problems to get a free parking place in it and, many clients appreciate, that in case of a city trip you are already direct in downtown, where you have otherwise to use a public parking ( with charge ) or to get in town by taxi, or public transport ( with charge too ). With our hotel location your car can stay and the town is yours.
Wifi we offer free of charge if you have the "leClub" Accor card. This is free of charge and you can apply for at any time of your stay !
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Graf-Mathias
General Manager
__________________________
Mercure Hotel Freiburg Am Münster
Auf der Zinnen 1
79089 Freiburg
Fon: +49 (0)761/3851-0
Fax: +49 (0) 761/3851-666
E-Mail: h0492-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Mercure Freiburg am Munster is just a walk away to the central of Freiburg ! We had an enjoyable stay, the room is large, view is fabulous, nice room at breakfast + what a spread ! Our stay happens to coincide with the last week of the great sale in Freiburg ;) There are many restaurants too from fast food to elegant dining ! A beautiful city that caters for everyone !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A very good, central hotel; quiet, too. Breakfast extra and expensive, though. Nice rooms-stylish, sleek with mini-bar and big bath! Sometimes families meant rooms cld be noisy! Loads of places for food nearby. Freiburg a little gem. Great shopping, as well as culture and history. Go to Lake Titisee and to Schauinsland. Tourist office not great but hotels can help!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Mercure am Münster is loacted within a few walking minutes from downtown Freiburg. It's very conveient due to the car park located right below the hotel. It's a little pricey, but very convenient for travellers that arrive by car. Downtown is easy reachable by foot, no car or taxis needed. Rooms are simply furnished, but perfectly clean. Beds are comfy. Hotel is completely lacking character and atmosphere - the wrong place for a romantic vacation, but the right place for city travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster

Address: Auf der Zinnen 1, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#9 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Freiburg Am Muenster
Mercure Freiburg Im Breisgau
Mercure Hotel Freiburg Am Muenster Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.