We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colombi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colombi to your Saves list
Hotel Colombi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rotteckring 16 | Am Colombi Park, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Living in style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Living in style: In a way majestic building with a sweeping staircase, comfortable chairs in the hall, charming old style elevator, etc. The service at the reception was attentive and very friendly (except by checking out).
The bed was very comfortable and the choice of pillows was great, along with satellite TV, bath robes and slippers and, last but not least, the Molton Brown toiletries were exciting – they’re just delightful.
Unfortunately there was no time for the indoor swimming pool and spa.
5 - 10 minutes walk into the centre of Old Freiburg (Münster) and perhaps 10 minutes from the Main Station.
With some small extra touches it could have been even more lovely. The off putting things were that the lighting in our so called “classic room” was inadequate – almost no daylight as the room was out to a kind of backyard, this could give you a kind of depressive feeling (especially on rainy stormy days) … .
The breakfast-service was friendly, the choice of cereals was not overwhelming. Coffee was unfortunately just OK, I do like it stronger.
The dinner in the restaurant was delicious, even if the service was not perfectly friendly. As I remember it was more "naturally" friendly some years ago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    54
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
88
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a two night stay after a tiring trip up from Lyon, and knew as soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted like old friends with a genuine warmth from the reception staff and concierge, which was welcome as we were fully clad in our MC gear!

We were shown to the room by the reception manager who explained the facilities as he concierge brought up our bags. The rooms are large and comfortable with beautifully finished bathroom with lovely toiletries and lots of towels and robes.

The hotel has a beautiful indoor pool and relaxing area with a small steam room and sauna which was very welcome.

We ate in the restaurant which is expensive, but the service and quality of products are what you would expect. The menu was not that extensive but gave a lot of thought to the food on offer including local sourced food products. The wine waitress was extremely helpful and guided us to some lovely local red and white wine which truly supplemented our meal.

I wish the hotel had another restaurant serving a little more basic food, as two nights in the one restaurant would have detracted from the first occasion. Freiberg is a lovely walking city with so much to enjoy and take in with a wide selection of restaurants and bars to sample and enjoy.

he buffet breakfast offers a good selection of hot and cold food and in a lovely sunny first floor overlooking the park. There is good secure parking which was useful for us.


We will definitely come again and enjoy this fine hotel and lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write that you enjoyed your stay at the Colombi Hotel.

We are delighted that we meet your taste and that you can benefit from the services we offer. We strive for offering our guests an excellent quality in all areas of the hotel to make your visit a very special one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.


With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We came to this hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was a nice surprise to find flowers and a delicious cake in our room upon arrival. It's a nice gesture and a memorable souvenir.
Tho hotel is perfectly located with all great services you can expect from a 5 star hotel. Service was above my expectations and the room was nicely decorated and clean.
If I have to think about a downside I will just regret that it is too far to come back more often.... but I definitely will come back.
Thanks for the great memories left.

Room Tip: We were on a Superior room. They are on the top floor with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your holidays and your birthday in the Colombi Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to us to read you positive comment concerning the attentive service team. We gladly forward theses feed-back to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and we remain with best regards

Yours sincerely,


Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

As part of our trip in the "Black forest" we planned to stay in Freiburg for 5 nights.
I was with my wife and 2 kids, we received a world class treatment in the Hotel, one of the best hotels I stayed. The Room was very big and the kids had a separate room with their own bathroom. The service was excellent, very recommended and probably the best hotel in the "Black Forest".....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your pleasant evaluation. We were really delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the Colombi Hotel.

Your kind words are the best motivation for us to keep up our efforts and to give our best every day again to make the Colombi your holiday home.

We would be really honored to welcome you again being your hosts.

With kind regards


Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A comfortable place with old world charm right in the heart of Freiburg. My husband and I loved the attention to detail in the layout of the room and the bathroom.
We made the most of Sauna and Steam room during our stay, most of the time we were on our own enjoying the peace and quiet.
In this day and age it would be good to have WiFi access and not just cabled net access in the room.

Room Tip: Our suit on the second floor facing the park and the road was quiet due to double glacing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

We refer to your stay in the Colombi Hotel and would like to thank you for taking time to answer the evaluation on Tripadvisor and tell us about your positive experiences.

Your compliments show us that we are on the right way for the well-being of our guests.

We will gladly leave your suggestion regarding "WIFI in the rooms" in our next decision to be incorporated.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would be very happy to welcome you to the Colombi Hotel once again.

Yours sincerely,


With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I am @ colombi with my wife and 6 years old daughter. Hotel location is great. Old town is just behind the hotel. Service is excellent with friendly staff. Only minus point about this hotel is no wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

We refer to your kindly assessment and would like to thank you to tell us about your positive experiences.

Furthermore we thank you for your suggestion because of WIFI in our rooms we would like to give your suggestion a serious consideration.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would be very happy to welcome you and your family to the Colombi Hotel once again.


With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have been staying at this hotel for a number of years on business and it is truly a top star hotel.
Their attention to detail is amazing, they even have a maid who' turns' down your room at night.
The breakfast is very good and the choice amazing. It puts most uk hotels to shame. I have not eaten here at night as I am taken out to dinner in the old town. The hotel is in a great location in the city and is a very short stroll from fantastic shops and restaurants.
Do visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombigmbh, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Colombi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We refer to your stay in the Colombi Hotel and would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your positive experiences.

The ratings in the internet are becoming more and more important for us, so we thank you for your kindly post on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would be very happy to welcome you to the Colombi Hotel once again.


With kind regards

Michael-Stephan Sänger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colombi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombi

Address: Rotteckring 16 | Am Colombi Park, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#9 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#10 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Colombi 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colombi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombi Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Hotel Colombi Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colombi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.