We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bischofslinde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bischofslinde to your Saves list
Bischofslinde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Bischofskreuz 15, 79114 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Functional and clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

The hotel is a bit tricky to reach, since it is located off the main roads, but still reasonably close enough to "Technische Fakultät/Messe" to reach it in about 15-20 minutes by foot.
The reception is friendly and the room - as well as the rest of the hotel - made a spotless impression on me.
The recent design is quite "functional"; the rather small and narrow room was designed in dark olive, white and dark orange to mimic late 70's style, I guess. In combination with a hard mattress and a too soft pillow, this was not to my liking.
The TV programme setting is a mess. For every available channel there were like 10 following, which were not. I had some time at hand, but it was unnecessarily complicating.

If you have light sleep and intent to stay in the first floor, don't take the rooms facing west: Next door is a penny supermarket and between 6 and 7am the guys there were transferring the goods for the day from the lorry. First I thought a large travell group would have arrived and pass my room, so loud was the noise.

If you want to enjoy a morning run, the Seepark is just north of the hotel and is really beautiful to go jogging or simply walking in.

The breakfast was disappointing to me, since it provided a rather small buffett and just 3 juices (orange, apple, multifruit) and coffee on demand. Eggs and other warm food may be available on demand, but at least scrambled or poached eggs would have been nice.

To sum it up: It is a nicely clean and functional hotel, but for 70€pp/pn I would have expected better beds and breakfast. The staff is really friendly and the cleaning personal very thorough.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
28
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cussy-le-Châtel, Bourgogne, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The aim of our visit was to enjoy the 2014Christmas market in Freibourg.
The reception at the hotel was excellent, informative and exact.
Everything inside was spotless, clean and light.
The bedrooms were large and spacious, bathroom very correct.
The linen and quilts are very comfy (outside temperature is 2°C).
The breakfast is copious and correctly served.
Free parking is ideal and we used the tram service as suggested by the staff to get to and from the old city centre.
Internet access is really easy and fast.
We're looking forward to using the hotel again this summer.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We chose this hotel from traveller reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was a reasonable size, sparsely appointed but with a quirky edge. There were humorous sketches hung around the hotel, it was colourful, staff friendly especially Christina and the breakfast was very good, kept us going all day. Has free parking, tram stop around the corner that within 6 stops take you directly to the city. We found it to be excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 109, no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Perfect place if you have a car and are making Freiburg your base for exploring the region. Stayed here two nights, in a single room, early October.

The positives:
- Very friendly staff- Specifically I want to mention Ena, who was most helpful in giving me tips about the region and information on little villages and things that tourists miss.
- Very quiet neighborhood
- Free Car Park
- Supermarket literally 10 meters away, and its open until late (at least 10 pm)
- Italian restaurant (did not try) and a Turkish cafe (tried twice - very nice for take away) - again right next door
- 5-7 minute drive to Freiburg city
- For European standards, my bathroom was HUGE.
- Breakfast is hearty

There aren't any negatives, but something to keep in mind - there was no AC in the room I stayed in (single room, right next to reception).

Also, if you are visiting in the next few weeks, watch out for a *lot* of construction in Freiburg. I had friends staying at a different hotel closer to city centre, and getting to Bischofslinde from the city took an extra 10-15 minutes because of diversions and road closures. However, Ena tells me that it should be over by end October.

Overall, very nice property, and perfect if you are driving around.

Room Tip: Single room next the reception does not have AC. Don't know about the rest of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Ina behind the check-in desk was great. She shared some really nice local spots to visit that we never would have found otherwise. The rooms were really clean an no thrills. There isn't an elevator if that's important to you. The Italian restaurant next door is pretty good as well.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July and found it to be in a nice, quiet area just a 10-minute tram ride from Freiburg. Our good sized room was very comfortable with an excellent shower and a balcony with a table and chairs which allowed the four of us (my husband and I, brother in law and mum in law) to sit outside in the evening and share a bottle of wine.

The breakfasts were very good with lots of choice and it was lovely to be able to have a cup of tea or coffee in the breakfast area when we got back from a day out. There is free wifi but we didn't get partiularly good reception until we went downstairs.

There is a small supermarket next door, an Italian restaurant where we ate a couple of nights and a few more shops in a square about 200 metres from the hotel. There is free parking at the side of the hotel but it is on a first come, first served basis. Fortunately we managed to find spaces for our two cars every day.

We would certainly come back to this hotel and can recommend it for a reasonably priced stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Nice and clean hotel with comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and gave us useful information about public transport. The center can be reached in 10 minutes by tram. The fare is € 2.30, but the card for 24 hours for 5 people is 11 euros.
Nearby to the hotel has a pizzeria and two supermarkets. Breakfast is very rich.
No lift. Internet access and an extremely complex, we needed about 100 passwords and finally refused to use it.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, select a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bischofslinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bischofslinde

Address: Am Bischofskreuz 15, 79114 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bischofslinde 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After extensive renovation and the implementing a new concept of furnishing the hotel is open again since April 2014. The carefully modernized Hotel Bischofslinde offers 26 charming, non-smoking rooms with contemporary bathrooms. Some rooms have views of the park and includes a balcony. The interior architectural transformation of the building from the 1960s is not only visible in the guest area, the corridors and the breakfast room, but already at the hotel entrance and reception. Let yourself be surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bischofslinde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bischofslinde Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bischofslinde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.