We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bischofslinde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bischofslinde to your Saves list
Bischofslinde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Bischofskreuz 15, 79114 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamburg, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is outside the busy center of Freiburg but is very near a tram line that passes the train station and then continues to the center of town... about five or six stops between the hotel and the center. The neighborhood around the hotel is pleasant, quiet, and contains a small grocery shop, a bank, and a pharmacy. Within a short walk from the hotel is a lovely park area with a walking trail.

All the staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. The hotel gives the appearance of being well maintained; however, it does not have an elevator.

Our room was a comfortable size and it was bright with two windows. The room had a cabinet for hanging clothes and several shelves. Comfortable bed. The bathroom was not large but it was clean and had modern furnishings. Liquid soap was provided at the sink and in the shower.

The buffet breakfast was very tasty and had a good variety of foods from which to select The hotel does not serve lunch and dinner. There is a restaurant in the neighborhood but we did not eat there.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Our daughter studied abroad in Freiburg in Fall/Winter 2010. My yougest daughter and I went to visit her in December 2010. Bischofslinde was a wonderful, quiet, convenient little place to stay. It was very, very clean - not plush, but just perfect for us. The rooms have an anteroom that you enter first where the closet/storage and bathroom are located; there is a door to the room where the bed is; this makes it nice and quiet and dark at night. The breakfasts were incredible! I still cannot get over how the Europeans eat their morning meals...such wonderful goodies. I'm a bacon, eggs and grits gal, but this breakfast satisfied every craving! (No grits though!). When we returned, i purchased two twin down comforters and that is how my hubby and i stay warm in winter now...a cozy memory from our trip to southwest Germany. Hotel staff were friendly and kind, especially Patricia. Thank you for our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so, if you have trouble with stairs, may want to ask for a lower room. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The rooms at this hotel are very dated and in desperate need of modernisation. The room however was very clean and a nice quiet location dispite the rather popular Italian restaurant at the bottom. The tram is a 2 minute walk away and takes about 10 minutes. One way is 2.10 euros. Parking outside the hotel is quite limited but there is more parking further around near the shops. A supermarket is conveniently located 30 seconds away. Beware if you cannoy mage stairs as this hotel has no lift. A nice simple breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

A very nice and cozy hotel which was very well located from the Freiburg Main station and city center. Our host (Patricia) took great care of us from a nice sumptuous breakfast to a nice warm room which we would love to come back after a long hectic day! Being 3 mins from the famous Seepark of Freiburg, the evenings were very relaxing sitting next to the lake in the park & unwinding. Would surely recommend this place. NJOI.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

A nice , clean basic hotel, rooms clean and roomy, some with a balcony. some rooms walls are a little thin, you can hear next door when they visit the toilet etc etc. good parking facilites with garaged parking available on request. Pets allowed and free good fast wi-fi. comfy beds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bischofslinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bischofslinde

Address: Am Bischofskreuz 15, 79114 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bischofslinde 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After extensive renovation and the implementing a new concept of furnishing the hotel is open again since April 2014. The carefully modernized Hotel Bischofslinde offers 26 charming, non-smoking rooms with contemporary bathrooms. Some rooms have views of the park and includes a balcony. The interior architectural transformation of the building from the 1960s is not only visible in the guest area, the corridors and the breakfast room, but already at the hotel entrance and reception. Let yourself be surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bischofslinde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bischofslinde Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bischofslinde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.