We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bareiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bareiss to your Saves list
Hotel Bareiss
Gartenbuehlweg 14, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Baiersbronn
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Bareiss is a hotel and spa nestled in a gorgeous Black Forest valley. The hotel is laid out in timbered buildings in the base of the valley, with no fewer than five separate swimming pools, inside and out. We had a two night stay here in June 2014 (room 97). The room was large, with a very comfortable bed, big bathroom and a lovely balcony with loungers. The view over the valley was picture postcard perfect. Although the place looks quite rustic it had nice modern touches, such as effective (free) WiFi and plenty of electrical sockets at desk level, avoiding the need to go crawling around on the floor at the back of cupboards to recharge your phone.

Staff were great, genuinely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was spectacular, with a huge selection of breads and an entire meat counter with a dedicated server to carve the sausages and hams to order. For more serious fare there is the gourmet restaurant, which has three Michelin stars. This is a beautiful spot, and the hotel is hard to fault in any way.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Hayler,

Let me tell you how glad our hotel was receiving your rating, thank you – we appreciate your feedback, it is very important for us to know, if we were successful in reaching our goal and in offering you, our guests, the best and most unique holiday, at Hotel Bareiss.

For sure, as our guests, you have the wish to relax, have a good time and forget all stress –

Our location, in the middle of the nature, is an ideal spot to make you concentrate only on your well-deserved holiday. There is a range of activites, ready to be discovered by our guests, indoors as well as outdoors. Be it hiking, mountain-bike tours, tours with our oldtimer-cars, tennis, golf, just to mention a few.

Our rooms were especially designed in such a way, giving our guests a feeling of staying at home, but still being on holiday and these are equipped with internet and TV, for the full enjoyment of our guests. As your hosts, we are concerned of making sure you profit from a relaxing atmosphere! The beautiful green view from your room on the forests may be one possibility to find quiet moments, or our SPA can offer you, our guests, this "special relaxing atmosphere”.

Our hotel, as holiday resort, aims to be your special holiday home, where all wishes of our guests are fulfilled and where "holiday dreams” shall come true!

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon with a "Herzlich willkommen”, sending you our kindest regards, accompanied with our wishes of luck, prosperity, happiness and of course health.

Yours truly,

Hannes Bareiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    25
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
136
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wuerzburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having stayed at the Hotel Traube Tonbach several times we decided to try the Bareiss for a change. First the pros: All members of the staff are very friendly and helpful, they know you by your name in no time. The premises, indoors and outdoors, as well as the facilities are in excellent condition, impeccably clean and the whole Hotel has a very pleasant ambience. Especially the pool- and wellness area radiate unsurpassed luxury - with an abundance of towels on every corner, free soft drinks and ice cream in the lounge area of the sauna etc.
Regarding the cons: Even if our room, with a nice balcony, was not exactly spacious, it was ok for a couple of days. What was not ok was the bathroom, which turned out to be too small for two people at the same time (unless one is in the shower or the bathtub), when you opened the door, it almost hit the sink. There was a separate toilet though.
Unlike most other reviewers we cannot really rave about the food. Our half board menus were decent, but not outstanding, we would have appreciated more flavour and spices, and a little pause between the courses. The breakfast buffet lacked nothing in choice and variety, though we had the impression that the bread and rolls were warmed up and not fresh from the bakery, Also the fruit plates did not look very inviting, fruit - especially the mangoes - was carelessly piled up. And some little decoration, a little tomato or parsley on the side, would have looked so nice on the fried eggs.
Certainly the Hotel has many advantages and merits, however we have not made up our mind whether to prefer the Bareiss to its competitors.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your trust and being your hosts. I was really pleased after reading your lines that we were able to inspire you with our staff and our premises. Your recognition is really appreciated.

I am really sorry that your room did not meet your expectation concerning the bathroom. Maybe you can imagine giving us a second chance – we would be glad to do everything we can to leave no wish unfulfilled. We just finished some extensive replacements in 35 of our rooms – a new look for well-tried standard.

Your critical comments concerning your stay are really helpful for us. Nevertheless, I feel of course sorry for what you experienced different from what you expected and wished. This is not at all enjoyable for me as your host who wishes the best experiences and memories for his clients. Our ambition is to arrange a stay for you as comfortable and enjoyable as we can. Generally we achieve this aim. Therefore, it is much to my regret that we cast a cloud over your stay concerning the food and I truly apologise for the inconveniences. It is our aim to offer our guests relaxation far from the everyday life so that they can get new energy.

I can only apologise again for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay and hope that you not hold it against us. We would be very happy to welcome you again and to persuade you from our hospitality – because that is what we wish for you!

Maybe until next time, which would please us all very much, I wish you all the best and send you best greetings from Mitteltal.

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, April 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We loved everything about Hotel Bareiss and it truly accomplishes what it is strives to do - rejuvenates the heart, mind and soul. The staff was stellar. Our room was very comfortable, well-appointed and the view was quite beautiful (storybook beautiful). We took hikes through the bucolic countryside equipped with a lunch the Hotel packed for us. After hiking, we would visit the spa. Not part of our usual routine in America, we loved the cleansing and rejuvenating effects of the sauna and pools. We treated ourselves to a massage one day which I highly recommend. Cocktails in the bar room before dinner was a nice way to start the evening. Recommend dining at least once at the 3 star Michelin Restaurant Bareiss. Each restaurant served delicious fare with top-notch beers and wines that were fairly priced. The breakfast buffet had so many delicious dishes to try it was a culinary adventure each morning! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mrs Elizabeth S.

Being a place of well-being is what drives us every day again. As it is an honor for us to be at your service and to do everything we can that you remember your stay here with us in Mitteltal the best possible way. What more can I say and write concerning your evaluation but “Thank you very much”. We, my father Hermann Bareiss, the Bareiss-Team and I, are really proud that you could spend wonderful days in the Black Forest and were able to find the recreation you expected.

As a hotel for three generations, the Bareiss should be a haven of peace and quiet, relaxation, pleasure and escape from the everyday bustle. A place of which one thinks with anticipation before the doors open and one enters the very special and unique Bareiss world. A place of which one is happy to reminisce when one sets off again towards home. Your lovely words are the best motivation for us to keep up our efforts and to give our best every day again to make the Bareiss your holiday home.

Right from the beginning of the story of the Bareiss, it was a very important fact for my family to create a “holiday home”, not just a hotel – and the work will go on! As we still have a lot of ideas to be put into practice, some of them this year.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity welcoming you again here in Mitteltal and being your holiday hosts one more time. Until then, I would like to say “Auf Wiedersehen” and wish you and your family all the best.

With kind regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, March 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I surprised my wife with a weekend trip to Hotel Bareiss in April 2013. Since both of us are German and used to live in the Mannheim region it wasn't an entirely long trip to this wonderful venue. But we fully support anyone from around the world who thinks it's a good idea to take a ridiculously long trip to see this hotel / region. It is simply breathtaking! The attention to detail, the friendliness, the way it is embedded in this beautiful part of Germany, everything! Sure, it's not exactly budget-friendly, but it is worth every penny!
And to top it all off, you can dine in one of only ten 3-star (Michelin stars of course) restaurants in Germany. Be sure that your savings are invested perfectly, when chef Lumpp serves you French cuisine that cannot be described with anything else but jaw-dropping!
To sum it all up: we are making this hotel a regular destination in our schedule of international trips. We don't really care that we moved to Bahrain in the meantime...

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy that superb breakfast. There's nothing they don't have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to write that you enjoyed your stay at The Bareiss.
We are delighted that we meet your taste and that you can benefit from the services we offer. We strive for offering our guests an excellent quality in all areas of the hotel to make your visit a very special one.

I could not be happier after reading your compliments for our staff members and I am sure you can imagine how delighted they all were about it. So there is nothing more for me to say but ‘Thank you!’.

We, my father Hermann Bareiss, all staff members and I, would be very happy to welcome you again here in Mitteltal.

With my best regards from the Black Forest

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, February 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our third visit to Bareiss was just a perfect as the first, and we have already reserved "our" room for Christmas 2014. We say "our" room as we have stayed in the same suite every time - we love to light a fire and play Christmas music while relaxing in the evening. We were again treated to a wonderful evening at the Morlokhof while the Bareiss family celebrated the holiday season with a special evening for all the staff at the hotel. The Morlokhof is one of the oldest and best conserved farmhouses in the Upper Murg Valley. It was a splendid night for those going to Morlokhof and a wonderful time for the staff at Bareiss - a huge win win for every one and a demonstration of the care for both the staff and the guests the Bareiss family shows.

There are not enough superlatives for the room, the food, the sauna, the staff - they are all perfection. If you are going to Europe from the US and expect to have easy access to fast food places, and for everyone to speak perfect English, this is not the place for you. If you want to enjoy the finest in German hospitality then this is the place, and most of the staff do speak very good English so there won't be any problems.

We took side trips to visit Christmas Markets - great fun and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guests!

You enjoyed your Christmas time here at the Bareiss – that is the most important fact for all of us, my father Hermann Bareiss, the entire Bareiss team and me. Thank you very much for your kind and friendly words.

Your laud and recognition mean a lot to us, because every day we try to achieve the best for all our guests and customers. It is not always easy, especially at Christmas time. We, my father Hermann Bareiss and I, know quite well that our staff is unique and it is very important for us to say “Thank you” for this commitment. A special evening, such as you describe it, is our duty and we are really glad that most of our guests can accept our decision to spend an evening with our crew. Your lovely words concerning our Morlokhof make us a bit proud and we feel honored of having the chance to present to you an unique Black Forest farmhouse ensemble with all its history and charm.

Right from the beginning of the story of the Bareiss, it was a very important fact for my family to create a “holiday home”, not just a hotel. With our latest renovation concerning the new Pool and Sauna environment, we decided to create a new oasis for our guests – and the work will go on! As we still have a lot of ideas to be put into practice.

We look forward to welcoming you again here in Mitteltal in December at the Bareiss. Until then, I would like to say “Auf Wiedersehen” and send my best wishes and greetings.

Kind regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, February 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel was "simply perfection" and the very pinnacle of outstanding service, comfort and splendid food. I spend over 100 days every in very good hotels all over the world but I believe this is the ultimate of what can be achieved.
If you wish to be truly pampered then Bareiss is the place to go

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guests

Sometimes it only needs a few words to make one beam with joy and pride – and so did you with the words you found to describe your days at the Bareiss. Thank you very much for your laud and your recognition, also in the name of my father Hermann Bareiss and the entire Bareiss team. We were really delighted about your evaluation.

We might not have Caribbean flair or the outstanding impression of the Rocky Mountains, but we have the Black Forest with its wonderful and unique landscape, fresh air, hiking facilities and many ways spending your time with leisure activities in a healthy and moderate climate.

So if you wish being pampered again and experience true recreation, we will be glad welcoming you again here with us in Mitteltal. Until then, I say “Auf Wiedersehen!” and wish you and your loved ones all the best.

With best regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, February 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

As one can conclude from my reviews, I'm kind of a hypercritical and captious customer. My captiousness emphasizes the "perfect" rating I'm giving to Bareiss.
It's an outstanding European resort, brought to perfection in every detail from the location to the unique culinary experience.
I can hardly find words to express the level of service, the quality of food and the atmosphere in the hotel.Bareiss provides a particularly remarkable combination of old school service with the state of the art premises.
A couple of tips
- The hotel is not inexpensive, but it is excellent in terms of price/value ratio. Worth every penny.
- Pool and sauna are not to be missed. I used to be in many European wellness hotels, Bareiss is truly unique
- Book their gourmet restaurant. It's a kind of a once in a lifetime experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannesBareiss, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guests

Sometimes, it takes only a few words to make other people lucky. After reading the first lines of your evaluation, I was so happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Mitteltal and I would like to express my deep gratitude to you. With a smile on my face I forwarded your laud to my father Hermann Bareiss and the whole Bareiss-Team and I can assure you that everybody was really delighted about it.

As a hotel for three generations, the Bareiss should be a haven of peace and quiet, relaxation, pleasure and escape from the everyday bustle. A place of which one thinks with anticipation before the doors open and one enters the very special and unique Bareiss world. A place of which one is happy to reminisce when one sets off again towards home.

Also in the future, we will continue our efforts of being your favorite holiday home and give our best to fulfill your expectations – in the name of hospitality and welcome.

Looking forward welcoming you again soon, we wish you and your family all the best and send lovely greetings from the Black Forest.

With best regards

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, January 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bareiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bareiss

Address: Gartenbuehlweg 14, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baiersbronn
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family and holiday hotel set in the middle of the Black Forest, in which three generations can feel at home and spend their holidays. A whole range of possibilities for wellness benefiting both body and soul: from gourmet gastronomy to Black Forest snacks, from the Bathing Environment to Bareiss Beauty & Spa, from attractive living right up to leisure time programmes. Experience the genuine hospitality which makes Bareiss what it is - a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bareiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bareiss Hotel Baiersbronn
Hotel Bareiss Germany/Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bareiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.