We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bareiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Bareiss to your Saves list
Hotel Bareiss
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gartenbuehlweg 14, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brazil
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed there with our 2 kids and it was excelent. they had nice ladies to take care of them until 11 o clock at night, so we could enjoy the wonderful gourmet restaurant.
The spa and pool as well as the rooms are fantastic and the service impecable. Definitively we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khm_2009, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Dear guest,

I want to express my sincere thanks for your comments with regard to your stay at The Bareiss.

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed the time here in the Black Forest, you as well as your children. The ladies in the children’s programme remember them well and had a lot of fun with them. As you might have seen, we are currently expanding our programme for the children with a second house for them and a new playground. So you can be anxious what will it be like when you come back.

Your compliments regarding the spa and pool area, the rooms and the service show us that we are on the right way for the well-being of our guests. I forwarded your laud also to Claus-Peter Lumpp and his team of the Gourmet Restaurant Bareiss and he thanks you and gives you the best wishes.

I join the wishes and look forward to welcoming you again here at The Bareiss.

Best regards,

Hannes Bareiss

29 July 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    25
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
146
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Very nice location for afternoon tea on the terrace, good selection of teas and pastries, excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khm_2009, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at The Bareiss here.

The cakes and pastries are part of the “Culinary Day”, the exclusive Bareiss half-board, or can be enjoyed by external quests as well. The cakes and pastries are baked in our own patisserie due to the recipes of my grandmother Hermine Bareiss who founded the hotel 60 years ago. To complete this culinary delight a good selection of teas and coffees is necessary. We are very pleased that you appreciated your visit.

Once again I thank you for your visit and I wish you all the best for the future, in which we hopefully meet again.

Kind regards,

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, 10 July 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walderslade
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

As the title suggests the hotel, the staff, the food, the room, everything was superb. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we could not have chosen a more lovely hotel.

I think we were the only English staying at the time, however all the staff spoke a little English and understood our German was limited and helped us through. Our room was delightful, with plenty of storage space, beds had remote incline and reline, chocolates left each evening and a proper bed turn down service.

We had free mountain bike hire which was great as we wanted to explore the local forest and villages without climbing back in the car. The spa and pools were fab, something for everyone.

In summary the Bareiss family have thought of everything and should be highly commended for their choice of staff and the little touches throughout the hotel that made it very special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khm_2009, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to express my thankfulness for your confidence that you gave us by celebrating your 25th Wedding Anniversary at The Bareiss. It is an honour for us that you have chosen our hotel for this very special day in your life.

As we have many international guests the staff in general has a good level of language skills and we do our best to improve the skills.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the room as well as with the bike service and the spa and pools. Our aim is to offer our guests a high quality service in every aspect to become their “holiday home”. Your comments are motivation for us and a confirmation that we are on the right way having in focus the well-being of our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and compliments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Bareiss and wish you all the best in a harmonious marriage.

Kind regards,

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, 10 July 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

As carlsberg,probably the best hotel in the world.
Personal,family,quality are the items in this guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khm_2009, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear guest,

I thank you very much for taking the time to write what you enjoyed during your stay at The Bareiss.

We are delighted that we meet your taste and that you can benefit from the services we offer. We strive for offering our guests an excellent quality in all areas of the hotel: from the restaurants and the leisure and kids programme to the wellness area.

For the well-being of our guests we practice a cordial hospitality and highest attentiveness in accordance with the motto of the founder Mrs Hermine Bareiss “Never say ‘No’ to a guest”, as the guest is in the center of attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Bareiss and wish you all the best.

Warm regards,

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, 22 May 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pa.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

In the past two years I have stayed at Bareiss many times. When I leave,I can't wait to go back. The staff,food, rooms,many pools,spa and service are the best I have found anywhere. The hotel is close to France and Switzerland. The meals and many activities,and other treats are included in the price. The hotel offers organized hikes in the forest around the hotel. The owner and his son are present to assure total customer happiness and satisfaction. Almost all of the staff speak English. The website has many good pictures of the hotel and surrounding area. Please feel free to contact me with any questions

Room Tip: Tell the hotel what you want and you will get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khm_2009, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear guest,

I would like to express my thanks for your time and your comments that you wrote after your stay here at The Bareiss.

Your description and evaluation are full of praise. I would like to forward these compliments to our guests who leave their mark on the hotel by telling us about their likes and dislikes and thus play a substantial role in the development of the hotel.

We are very thankful for both, the compliments as well as the criticism from our guests. The compliments spur on and motivate us to continue on our way. The criticism, on the other hand, helps us a lot to improve what has to be improved to become your “holiday home”. This is our goal and therefore you can tell us what you want and we do our best to grant your wishes.

So we appreciate the opportunity to thank you for being such a loyal guest and putting up with the long journey for your stay here in the Black Forest.

Warm regards,

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, 18 May 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

If you want an experience of staying in a family run 5 star hotel - then stay here. The Bareiss family and their staff have pride in their hotel and want their guests to enjoy their stay. We stayed for 3 days, wish we stayed longer - best hotel we have ever stayed in. Our room was huge with beautiful views of the mountains. Fresh fruit and little chocolate treats were left in our room each day. Dining was a food experience not to be missed. Enjoyed the dessert buffet evening !! Swimming pools were brilliant especially the outdoor thermal with the lazy river. Went hiking ended up at the hiking hut, which belongs to the hotel, for cake and coffee. We have told our friends how wonderful it was and we hope to visit again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khm_2009, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words, with which you reviewed your stay and expressed that you had marvellous days from the sweet treats in the room to the hiking tour and enjoyed yourselves here in the Bareiss and its surroundings!

With pleasure I forwarded your compliments to our staff members and you can imagine how delighted they were about it.

We are striving every single day to do our best for our guests, reconsidering our services and achievements. The laud as well as the comments and criticism are very helpful and increase the motivation and the inducement of the staff members. It therefore helps us to get closer to our goal of being your vacational home. Thank you very much, also for recommending the hotel to others.

I am looking forward to welcome and see you on your next visit in the Black Forest and send my best regards to you and your family. Have a nice Advent season.

Sincerely yours,

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, November 28th, 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I'm very desapointed! poor room , food - not at all as expected! we prefer the Engel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khm_2009, Inhaber at Hotel Bareiss, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear guest,

I am very surprised by your comments concerning your stay at The Bareiss and regret that we apparently did not meet the expectations.

Nevertheless I would like to thank you for your criticism as it gives us the opportunity to react. Should our guests be disappointed about anything during their stay with us, our employees seek to be aware of it and try to solve the problem by offering an alternative, e.g. a different room or meal. You may also be free to express your critique directly as our aim is to not only satisfy your needs but to excel them. In order to be able to do so, we need to know about your wishes. Therefore I would be very pleased, if you could write me the details of your criticism. I promise that we will take notice of your individual wishes during your next stay.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again here at The Bareiss and remain for the time being with the best regards,

Yours,

Hannes Bareiss

Mitteltal, October 7th, 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bareiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bareiss

Address: Gartenbuehlweg 14, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Family Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bareiss 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family and holiday hotel set in the middle of the Black Forest, in which three generations can feel at home and spend their holidays. A whole range of possibilities for wellness benefiting both body and soul: from gourmet gastronomy to Black Forest snacks, from the Bathing Environment to Bareiss Beauty & Spa, from attractive living right up to leisure time programmes. Experience the genuine hospitality which makes Bareiss what it is - a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bareiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bareiss Hotel Baiersbronn
Hotel Bareiss Germany/Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bareiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.