We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, authentic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathausgloeckel

Rathausgloeckel
Steinstrasse 7, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
+49 7221 90610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 159 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Experience recreation of “historical German cuisine” in stylish surroundings and friendly atmosphere: we spoil you with historical dishes, regional specialties and international dishes. Our daily menu is enriched with menu suggestions, as well as seasonal offers. If you prefer vegetarian, vegan, lactose-free food - please contact our service personnel. Our kitchen staff prepares all meals fresh and tailored to your wishes. Innovative ideas applied to traditional and regional dishes with historical influence define our cuisine with fresh regional ingredients.
London
1 review
“A wonderful, authentic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This fantastic place is all about delicious, traditional cuisine and a warm welcome. The couple who run the restaurant are a brilliant team: him in the kitchen, whipping up old-school German fare that will leave you stuffed to the gills but hungry for more; and her, front of house, making sure everyone is happy and comfortable. Rathausgloeckel hasn't the glamour of some of the other great restaurants in Baden Baden, but that's a good thing. Its home-from-home vibe is perfectly in keeping with the food you imagine the best German grandmothers still delight their children and grandchildren with. Highlights? The smoked salmon and smoke trout starter is delicious (and they even made me a special starter of smoked trout and potato salad brought alive by the liberal use of creamy horseradish and a little chopped onion), the sauerbraten (beef braised with vinegar and served with noodles and fresh vegetables) and, for dessert the plum parfait or the traditional apple tart, which were more akin to the three loveliest doughnuts you've ever had, with delicious light dough encasing a perfectly cooked ring of apple and topped off with cinnamon and sugar and served with a ball of vanilla ice cream. If you love German food then this is HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    35
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic german cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ate at this place in June and now will return for a great meal at Christmas time.

Service and food it top notch and the beer is vunderbar (sp?)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service. Waited too long for service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We waited almost 10mins to get menus and even then, they gave us 2 when we were a party of 3. Hardly a smile with the order and everything was just conducted rather perfunctory. Food came quickly but they never came round asking if we wanted dessert.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausgloeckel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for alerting us to this. We work hard to offer great food and friendly service, and I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. We are happy to inform you, that the restaurant Rathausglöckel is as of March 3rd 2013 under new management. While the owner-family Asel will continue to manage the hotel, Mario Rebellato (chef) and Michaela Rebellato (Restaurant Manager) with a new team will lead one of the oldest restaurants of Baden-Baden. Quality and freshness as well as warmth and hospitality are paramount to us. We are looking forward to welcome you in our so old, yet so new Restaurant Rathausglöckel. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you’d like to contact me directly, please email us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“A Historic Baden-Baden Dining Experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visit Baden-Baden each year in the fall and have really enjoyed our dining experiences at the Rathausglockel Restaurant for the past two years. The restaurant is in a building of local historic significance and is approximately a one minute walk from Friedrichsbad. The restaurant is run by Sonja, the hostess and waitress, and her husband Andreas, the chef. Sonja speaks perfect English and is very accomodating and knowledgeable. Last year I enjoyed a dinner of pike-perch and was looking forward to having it again. When we made dinner reservations this year, we were advised that it was no longer on their menu. However, I was pleasantly surprized to find out that Andreas purchased the fish that afternoon in order to have it on the menu for me that evening.

The ambience of Rathausglockel is warm and the food is delicious, lovingly prepared and authentic, regional cuisine. Plate presentation is a treat for the eyes. My husband and I have enjoyed the snails, smoked salmon & trout with horseradish cream, stuffed quail with schupfnudelm, pike-perch over spinach with potatoes, and the roast pork. The desserts are equally outstanding.
No trip to Baden-Baden is complete without enjoying a Rathausglockel dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Rude Staff Spoils Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the adjoining hotel and prior to departing for a performance at the Festspielhaus, we confirmed at the front desk that the restaurant was open to 11pm. We returned immediately after the performance at 10:10 pm. I was keen to dine there as the reviews were very favorable. As soon as we entered, the chef's wife, who was acting as waitress abruptly asked us what we wanted there. We explained that we wanted to dine and she acidly informed us that the restaurant would close in ten minutes so that we had to order immediately if we wanted food. We explained that we were guests at the hotel and had confirmed the hours and had returned following our performance to get there in time. The woman rebuked us by saying that was our problem and not hers. In all fairness, the food was good but the foul disposition of this dour, bitter woman marred what would have otherwise been nice dining. I understand the desire to close at a certain time but don't advertise hours if there is no intention of keeping them. After eating I asked if we could get a cold plate of cheese (something which would have required minimal preparation and effort) and was harshly told that the kitchen was closed. I have had both many good and bad dining experiences living in Germany but this probably about the worst. I would sooner eat a bucket of gravel rather than eat a meal in that restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoia A, Inhaber at Rathausgloeckel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest "VulcoRoot"

We are very sorry for the rudeness of the stuff - this is unacceptable. We have investigated the concerns you have raised, and have made sure that this will never happen again.

We are happy to inform you, that on the 3rd of March 2013, the restaurant Rathausglöckel reopened under new management. While the owner-family Asel will continue to manage the hotel, Mario Rebellato (chef) and Michaela Rebellato (Restaurant Manager) with a new team will lead one of the oldest restaurants of Baden-Baden. Quality and freshness as well as warmth and hospitality are paramount to your hosts. We hope you will give us another chance and are looking forward to welcome you in our so old, yet so new Restaurant Rathausglöckel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathausgloeckel also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Rathausgloeckel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathausgloeckel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.