We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen

Save Saved
You added Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen to your Saves list
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gernsbacher Strasse 9, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Ranked #20 of 55 hotels in Baden-Baden
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

A perfectly good hotel situated right in the middle of the main pedestrianised street and close to the thermal baths. The bedroom was adequetly, if old-fashionedly, furnished but the en-suite looked brand new and was kept sparklingly clean - it had a bath tub as well as shower. The only problem - and it is the same for all the central Baden hotels - is that the hotel has it's own restaurant / bar outside. Consequently it's noisy from about midday to midnight, when it closes - not normally a problem but if you've arrived as we did on a very early flight, having had to get up at 4.00am, we really needed an early night - not possible here!

By the way the breakfast was fine - previous report seemed to be disappointed to get a continental breakfast while staying on....er...the continent! What did they expect - a pig roast with dancing girls???

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

We were in Baden Baden for the first time in June-07. We got there by chance, without any reservation. We slept our first night at the Alte Laterne (see separate review), but unfortunately. they where fully booked for the second night.

My guess is that the hotels, who are situated on a sqare in the middle of the pedestrian zone, have the same owner. So they arranged for us to stay the second night at Zum Goldenen Löwen.

Goldenen Löwen is clean, newly renowated, completely without charm and also more expensive than Alte Laterne. We were also unlucky to get a room without view (see pictures and compare with Alte Laterne)

My overall experience (3) is because the neighboring hotel Alte Laterne offers everything that you get at Goldenen Löwen, but with charm and at a lesser price.

  • Liked — Clean. location
  • Disliked — That we had to move here because our first hotel were fully booked
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

We first tried the Am Markt based on the reviews here but as they were booked we ended up here and liked it very much. It had been remodeled, all hard wood flooring, non smoking, clean, etc. Like the rest of European hotels, you mustnt expect a bath tub and unfortunately they beds were those that are like two twins put together . Otherwaie we had a stay stay and the hotel restuarant was also quite nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smoking reception...grosssssssss!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

The location of the hotel is perfect- in the pedestrian area in the centre of Baden-Baden, just two minutes walk from the spas and other places of interest such as the casino or the Trinkhalle. The room was clean, although fairly basic- no hairdrier, toiletries etc, well-worn towels and bed linen. However, the staff in the lovely restaurant below were very friendly, and the location and reasonable price more than made up for the slightly tired feel of the place. Breakfast is taken in the cafe across the street, and that wasn't worth getting up for- cereals, yoghurts, a few bits of cheese and meat and dry bread rolls- but there are loads of lovely cake and coffee shops nearby.

Don't book this hotel if you want luxury, but for a reasonably priced, centrally located. clean place to stay you can't beat it. The spas are the best bit- take your own towel for the Caracelle Spa, but they are provided in the Roman Friedrichsbad- and enjoy the relaxed, safe atmosphere of Baden-Baden.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — tired, basic, shabby room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen

Address: Gernsbacher Strasse 9, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 hotels in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zum Goldenen Lowen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.