We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST Hotel EVER!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Merkur to your Saves list
Hotel Merkur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Merkurstr 8 - 10, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WORST Hotel EVER!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've travel a lot of hotels over the years for work; this is by, far, the worst hotel. Here are just some of the reasons why:

1. Hotel doesn't allow you to change your plans. If you leave 1 or 5 days early - you still need to pay the price even if you DID'T STAY there
2. They say they have a restaurant. It is a joke. There isn't a host/waiter there to serve you.
3. No fitness center even thought he woman on the phone said they do
4. No receptionist between the hours of 10pm - 8am (even though they claim it is 12-7). I needed cab for the airport at 7am.
5. Wi-fi sucks. Really poor signal through entire hotel (yes, I even asked to change rooms and was faced with low signal.)
6. Right by a busy alley. Woke up to trash/street cleaners each morning

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias_Hirsch, Manager at Hotel Merkur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear writer of this review,

we don`t know who wrote this review and what could be the reason for this.
And we can also not understand that it is possible to write untrue reviews like this here.

We just want to clarify:

- It could be that we have to charge a cancellations fee. But we search always a good solutions to the satisfaction of our guests. So, for example we do credit the cancellation stay at a following stay.

- We take care of our guest 24 hours. We are personally there for our guests at our reception from 7 am until 12 pm and our guests can reach us by phone all through the night.

- Of course we have waiter in our restaurant. Normally it is not worth to tell, because it is clear and necessary

- We have no gym in our hotel. And we never communicate anything different.

- Our hotel is located in a hotel quit zone. This is a little one way street with very less traffic. There are definitely no street cleaners, never!

It should be clear for everybody, that this review ist not a true one.

We thank all our guest who take time to write a real review about their real stay at our hotel MERKUR

Every single guest and the satisfaction of all our guests is very important for us and we are happy about every positive feedback.

Warmest regards

Matthias Hirsch & the hotel MERKUR-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    101
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
144
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was quite modern, and our room was well-equipped and clean. A note in the room informed us that we could request coffee and tea making facilities, as well as bath robes. The free WiFi worked well in the room, and the breakfast (6 euros each, but included in our rate) was of good quality.

I don't give this a hotel 5/5 because parking was 9 euros/day, and the other hotel I usually stay at in Baden Baden offers free parking. A double room for 118/night seems a bit expensive to me, but I suppose that the first week of January could be a bit more expensive than normal, as so many Germans have time off from work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, USA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loved this hotel. About 15 min by taxi (€18 euros) from train station. Super convenient location - within walking distance to town center, restaurants and shops. Staff was friendly and helpful, both at reception and at breakfast service.

Rooms were impeccable - very nicely decorated, modern furniture, very spacious, and comfy bed. Free wifi available in the room, although it did not work in every corner in the room. Bathroom had good water pressure, but shower screen allowed water to splash out, leaving water all over the floor after a shower.

Breakfast/dining area was lovely. Breakfast was very nice, especially the delicious breads, natural yogurts, and cheese varieties. Complimentary tea/coffee service in the room if you ask
.
For lunch/dinner nearby we recommend Amadeus on the corner of Leopoldplatz - big, fresh salads with grilled fish at reasonable prices, generous portions, great house-brewed beer, very friendly service, nice ambiance, inside/outside seating areas

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Superior room really large and very clean. Breakfast excellent. served with a smile every morning by the excellent lady Manager of the restaurant. Reception staff helpful and fantastic location as only a few minutes walk from centre of the Town. Thank you for a memorable stay. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Our Superior room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel is very clean, rooms are big and modern. The hotel location is in the center of the city and with few minutes walking distance to the famous Caracalla Therme. Very friendly staff. The director has welcomed us himself and was every morning in the breakfast area to welcome the guests and wish to everybody a good day!
We eat few times in the evening in the hotels restaurant. I would say they offer very nice food quality and various german specalites. We were very glad that we have choosen this hotel. I would give easily 4 stars for the Hotel Merkur.
Thank you for a nice holidays!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a great experience at Hotel Merkur in Baden-Baden. They had, bar-none, the BEST included breakfast of any hotel I've ever stayed in. I mean... who puts out an enormous bowl of stewed cherries for you to stir into your yogurt? HOTEL MERKUR! There were also lots of different meats and cheeses to choose from - not just the normal sandwich slices, but also brie and cut cheese - then muffins and pastries, hard-boiled eggs and really really good coffee, orange juice and grapefruit juice, fruit, etc. etc. Really generous.

The room was spotless and comfortable. It was nicely decorated and the bed was a slam-dunk on the comfy factor.

I had fun watching a movie in English after 3 months of German-Only TV, then conked out. When I checked out the next morning, they watched my bags free of charge, although it was clear that a tip was expected and appropriate when I came to get them.

The only drawback was that the free Wifi didn't work and the room was a little tight for navigation, space-wise. That's what rolled it back to a four.

Great experience all-around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel 3 times over the last few years and I think, in comparison with other hotels in Baden-Baden, it offers good value for money. The location is great; close enough to the centre of town but up a fairly quiet side street. You sometimes hear a little noise late at night from people walking past but nothing too disruptive. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom is of a good quality. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served in an attractive room and there is a fair amount of choice. If I was being picky I would knock off half a point for not having any pain au chocolat or more sweet things for breakfast. I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Address: Merkurstr 8 - 10, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Merkur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double room at hotel MERKUR. Autumn 2007 high-quality renovated rooms, equipped with CD-/ DVD-Player, 26' LCD flatscreen-TV, sat-tv, minibar, direct dial phone, safe, and free of charge amenities as wirless-LAN and Premiere Hotel TV channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Baden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.