We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly, Perfect Location! And APPLES!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Merkur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Merkur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Merkurstr 8 - 10, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 55 hotels in Baden-Baden
jamaicanlovers
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Warm, Friendly, Perfect Location! And APPLES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights on holiday recently in Baden-Baden, staying at the Hotel Merkur. The staff was professional and very helpful, answering all of our many questions. The room that we stayed in (Room 304) was not large, but adequate by European standards. The bed was firm, but comfortable. The shower was quite nice. The only drawback might be the lack of air conditioning, but the evenings were cool enough that the open window provided enough comfort. Of course, the open window meant that we heard the street sounds, which could be quite loud at times (3:00 am - bar patron returning home and talking loudly on his cell phone!). The solution would be to request a room that did not face the street, which is what we would insist on next time. We definitely would stay at the Hotel Merkur again. The owner had a great sense of humor and treated guest in the restaurant like family. We did enjoy dinner at the hotel and would recommend it. Remember, though, if you order the "Jacob's Mussels" you will get scallops. They weren't the expected shellfish, but they were perfectly prepared. Complimentary apples at the front desk were welcome, and the included breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    91
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
127
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great hotel near the thermal baths! We stayed here for 2 night while traveling around Bavaria just to go to the thermal baths. The hotel is very quiet, near everything and has great staff. Parking is a little jammed up in their garage because they like to put people in their by what time they are leaving in the morning. Overall the room was very clean, bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was great.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington kent
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The reception staff were extremely helpful and provided us with excellent information about Baden Baden. As our room was on the first floor facing the street, we did experience quite alot of noise especially as we had to keep the window open.
The hotel was a 2 minute stroll to the wonderful town full of beautiful gardens,fountains, lampposts and great buildings.
We ate at La Casserole in the town which was great and Zum Alde Gott, a 15 minute drive away through lovely peaceful landscape (see separate reviews).

Room Tip: Avoid the lower rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a 3 star superior and we really liked it. You can park outside in the courtyard for 9 euros per day. Greeted warmly at reception and given lovely room with 4 windows and 1 in bathroom so very light. It was very warm whilst we were there and although it lacks air con all the windows open top and bottom. The breakfasts were good. The only hot food is a boiled egg which was fine as there were runny. Good coffee. Spacious rooms and we had a large sofa to relax on after a hard days sightseeing. Would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Excellent hotel. Highly recommended. Personable and helpful staff who helped at every stage during our stay. Location couldn't be faulted. We had a suite which was roomy and perfect, particularly when travelling with a small child. Parking spaces limited but always made available. Good variety of continental breakfast. Nothing to gripe about at all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Pros:
Modern and clean hotel 1 minute from the "city centre". The room was small, but charming. Served great breakfast. All this for a good price. Hotel helps with parking. Staying there again next time I´m in town.

Cons:
No Internet connection in the rooms - only in the lobby area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a junior suite for three nights, beautiful clean and comfortable room. The location is great for walking around downtown Baden. The staff were friendly and helpful. The parking lot by the hotel is small, but we were able to find a spot every night without having to use the garage. The breakfast was very good, better than other hotels we stayed at on this trip. If you want to use wifi, be sure to ask for a code for each device you will be using.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Address: Merkurstr 8 - 10, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Family Hotel in Baden-Baden
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Merkur 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double room at hotel MERKUR. Autumn 2007 high-quality renovated rooms, equipped with CD-/ DVD-Player, 26' LCD flatscreen-TV, sat-tv, minibar, direct dial phone, safe, and free of charge amenities as wirless-LAN and Premiere Hotel TV channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Baden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.