We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quellenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Quellenhof to your Saves list
Hotel Quellenhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 27-29, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Chester, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Excellent location, quad glazing blocks out all traffic noise. Room was uninspiring but adequate and clean. Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel staff were bordering on confrontational but I think this is a German trait rather than this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated on Sophienstrasse just a few steps away from the two main spas, the Friedrichsbad and the Caracella. The breakfast was excellent-loads of choice from a range of cheese, meats, bread etc and a pleasant dining room. The staff were very nice. The room is well-furnished and immaculately clean, with blackout curtains. There is a computer in the lobby to access the internet free of charge. It cost 37 euros for a taxi from the airport as the last bus had gone when we arrived late, but the hotel front desk is manned throughout the night (unlike the dreadful HOTEL REGENT which we booked last year and couldn't get in to as the Ryanair flight lands late on Friday night-whatever you do, DON'T book there) However, this hotel was excellent and I'd recommend it highly. Only slight problem was there's no tea or coffee making facilities in the room-otherwise, perfect!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back-not facing Sophienstrasse-are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Baths located around the corner. Helpful staff. Good breakfast, included in the price. Computer with internet access in the lobby. Underground parking. Room had a remodeled bath, with tile floor, tile wainscot and granite counters. Our window was off the side alley/street so we did not have a lot of street noise. I think we paid 99 euro for one night, not sure if it was a good deal, but we were happy. Some reviewers complained about air conditioning; we can't speak to that, we were there in November.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and found it to be nice 4 star hotel. The hotel is very central, close to the baths etc. and we used the underground parking for a fee (approx Eur 12 per night). The bedroom was very large, clean with large beds. The bathroom was fine, not very large and had a shower. The breakfast buffet was good with choices of hot and cold food. Overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here for one night booked thru the local tourist office - excellent location on the main street with just a short walk to the main restaurants and also the wonderful spa.Hotel is clean, rooms are a decent size and the reception staff very pleasant .Didn,t use the restaurant as there such a variety withina few hundred yards. The casino is worth seeing such a beautiful building and the spa also worth a visit .Dont pay the full rate as they are never really fully booked so dont be afraid to ask for some discount !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Pros: This is an attractive hotel in a great location, very close to the baths, shopping, gardens, restaurants, museums. The breakfast was excellent. The room was bright and airy with the windows open, very clean and modern.
Cons: The room was exceptionally noisy with the windows open; there is no air conditioning. Front desk staff were almost confrontational at times. Parking is in a lot down the street. There is no porter or elevator to the ground floor.
We stayed in Baden Baden twice; I much preferred the Hotel Beeg which is right nearby. Baden Baden is wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

The Quellenhof is in a great location, a hundred m from either the Caracalla Bad or Friederichsbad, about 300 m from the casino and 500 m from the concert hall.

While advertising 4 star quality, the hotel does not offer basic services such as a porter. This lack of service is magnified by the limitations of their elevator. The elevator runs from the front desk to the guest floors, but he desk is not at street level, which obliges guests to carry their bags up a flight of stairs. While I am able to carry my own luggage, many others are not, especially in a town that specializes in therapeutic baths.

Underground parking is available for a limited number of guests. If a guest arrives after the garage is full, he/she must locate a public garage. Fortunately, the public rates are more reasonable than the hotel rates.

The hotel was not able to support basic business services, such as transmitting a fax.

The attitude of the staff remained quite pleasant, while informing us that they could not help with parking, with bags, with faxes or resolve billing questions.

Beyond these issues, our stay was unremarkable.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Quellenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quellenhof

Address: Sophienstrasse 27-29, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Baden-Baden
#14 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quellenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Quellenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quellenhof Hotel Baden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quellenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.