We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing but sadly not for much longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe to your Saves list
Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Schwarzwaldhochstrasse 1, 77815 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing but sadly not for much longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Buehlerhohe, where to begin? We went here with high expectations and were not disappointed. The castle it looked quite impressive, surrounding nature (like B500 street) was breathtaking and also the nearby Baden-Baden was worth a visit. The round hallway with white marble, pianoplayer and high windows, the history of the place and the way it made us feel welcome, very good. Even though it could have been mass-printed, the personal letter in our room to welcome us, it just is that finishing detail that makes a great hotel. The room was clean and roomy, allthough it lacked airco. Staff were very helpful (and that is remarkable, being motivated despite the closure). The view from our window overlooking the Rhinevalley, you can look for hours. That same view we enjoyed from our breakfast table, while the selection of food and drinks was abundant. But there was quite a surprise to hear that the hotel is closing at the end of this August since the hotel is no longer run by NH Hoteles. At this time it seems that it will stay closed for the coming years. And that is such a pitty cause this is one of these rare hotels that I would whole heartedly recommend. But maybe the renovations will be so great that it will be worth the wait and a good excuse for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

This is definitely a place you would not stumble upon driving around. High up in the mountains by Baden Baden's black forrest, Incredible views from room. Very attentative staff. Very well furnished room. Very nice spa area. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is a top class hotel that seems to have got just about everything right. Fabulously comfortable stay and probably worth the premium asking rates. I have no affiliation with this hotel and had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary at the end of July on a room only basis. The hotel is grand, perched high up in the Black Forest with amazing views across the Rhine to the Vosges mountains in France.

On arrival we were shown around the hotel and our room. We booked a Superior room, that was more like a small suite with a huge bed, seating area, TV and a balcony with amazing views. All other mod cons included as befits a hotel of this class. As it was late we ordered room service which arrived served on a fully set table, and was good.

We had breakfast in the Schloss Restaurant, which has great views across the forest. It was a buffet style, with everything that you would want, including champagne!

We booked a table in this restaurant for our anniversary the following night. The food was traditional and tasty, with an excellent wine list. There is a Michelin starred restaurant in the hotel but this was booked up over a week ahead. If you want to eat there I recommend booking before you go just to be safe.

As it was raining we spent most of one day in the spa. The pool is large, and there is a jaccuzi, steam room, 2 saunas, showers and baths, as well as a treatment room. There is a nude area off to one side for those that like that sort of thing.

The surrounding grounds are pretty, and there are plenty of paths to walk around at your leisure. They do give you maps if you wish to walk further outside the grounds. It is a bit hilly though!

The public areas are okay. During the day there is a pretty balcany area with expansive views where you can sit in the sun (hopefully), drinking a beer or a coffee and having one of their tasty cream cakes from the expresso lounge. At weekends this can get busy with coach parties. There is a bar with a piano player, plus a smoking room.

Service throughout was excellent. From reception, room service, bar staff, and restaurant staff. On our anniversay, on arrival at breakfast, we were taken to a table that was decorated with rose petals and candles. We were given a card from the management, and presented with a decorated cake. All unexpected, and a lovely touch.

The surrounding area is worth a drive through. We did a circular drive down the scenic Schwarzwaldhochstrasse and back up the Baden wine route. We found this on the things to do page on Trip advisor. Very nice drive.

A lovely stay in a beautiful part of the world. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

This is a Leading Hotel and the public rooms are very elegant. The guest rooms however lack in decor. The room was spacious but decorated in a bland manner. The grounds were lovely and it was fun to walk in the woods around the property. I enjoyed the pool also. I had one major complaint. On a very rainy night ( and remember this hotel is along way from anywhere else), I overheard the front desk tell another guest the casual restaurant was full and it was not possible to seat her. When I was seated a half an hour later I was astonished to be eating in a half empty restaurant that never filled up. The the food was quite good as was the service . I hope she opted for room service!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Our "luxury" travel agent booked this hotel for our vacation. It is in the Black Forest about 10 miles from Baden-Baden. The hotel has wonderful grounds and looks great from the exterior. The service is excellent and it is very clean. When we checked in, we asked for an upgrade but none was forthcoming. Our "luxury" travel agency lead us to believe upgrades would be given if space was available (the hotel was empty). The rooms accross the hall from us had great views of the valley. Obviously we were disappointed. When we were shown our room, it was on the first floor facing a grass burm. We asked to be moved to a higher floor and were accommadated. The hotel rooms were large, the bathrooms had seperate showers and bath tubs. The restaurant served good breakfasts but we went into town for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

A hotel which belongs to the LHW leading hotels of the world. It also belongs to NH hoteles, which normally has fair standard hotels. Apperantly they have a few more luxurious hotels in there chain.

Unfortunately, I cannot say that it belongs with the leading hotels. The property in itself is very impressive and its surroundings are very nice especially now in the fall. But the rooms are very disappointing very average. There size is good but the furniture is very average, no flair at all. Maybe it is the colors they used. Not to mention the spa or whatever it suppose to be as it is way too small for the amount of people who where staying in the hotel at the moment. I think it is way overpriced a room should cost around 150 to 175 euros and not more then that.

On the other hand the breakfast is lovely and has a variety of products. Unfortunately, we were there at the same time as big group and we sat at a table which was still dirty. It took the staff 5 minutes to realize that we were sitting there. Too long for a hotel which pretends to have a certain standard. All in all dissapointing and I would never ever stay there again. Unless, it would change management or had a big overhaul of the rooms.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe

Address: Schwarzwaldhochstrasse 1, 77815 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baden-Baden
#9 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe Hotel Baden-Baden
Schlosshotel Buhlerhohe Hotel Baden
Schlosshotel Buhlerhohe Baden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Buehlerhoehe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.