We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a boutique hotel should be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maria-Viktoria-Strasse 2C | Ludwig-Wilhelm-Strasse 5, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 55 hotels in Baden-Baden
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what a boutique hotel should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Baden Baden where you get the specialness of the 'waters' at the Friedrichsbad Spa (the good one) along with the beauty of the Black Forest.
The Belle Epoque is a 5 min walk from the main center but well worth the stay. A period mansion built by a Count, it is comfortable in it's surroundings.
But what really makes Belle Epoque stand out are the staff and the thoughtful extras the hotel provides it's guests.
Rarely have we come across staff so helpful in a very unobtrusive way, with advice and thoughtful attention to things we the guest hadn't thought to ask for. Then there's the 'extras' ~ tea with cake (even a glass of wine) from 14:00; a few nuts for your room before dinner ~ why not one bowl for you and another for your wife; or at the (included) breakfast where paper bags are left out for you to take snacks from the breakfast array for 'later'. (How often have we snuck out with some breakfast elements surreptitiously hidden in a napkin?) Here they anticipate your needs and make it comfortable to do it.
And that's the point. You feel you've been taken into a home rather than a hotel and that's a very good feeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    20
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
49
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a phenomenal time here. We were a little apprehensive about staying in a small boutique hotel - but all our apprehensions about the place and people were put to rest during our stay - we were extremely impressed and would visit baden-baden again to stay here.

Choose a garden facing room in the main building though because there are quite a few buildings that belong to the hotel.

Very nice quaint rooms, lovely decor and detailing without being obnoxious or over-the-top. Very tasteful choice of appointments. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

Vegetarian options at breakfast (especially heated options) were very limited, it was a decent spread overall though. High-tea was phenomenal with a nice choice of teas, pastries and alcoholic beverages. Just keep in mind that there isn't a restaurant at this property so meals have to be had either in the town or at the sister property. A little bit of a walk from the town center if you don't have a car - need to walk 10 - 15 mins for your meals - we didn't have an issue with this.

Room Tip: choose a garden facing room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write your impressions of you stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
The restaurant of our sister hotel is just 100 meter away by foot, what means about 2 minutes. To walk to the next restaurant in the city it is not more than five minutes. And of course we will serve you warm food from our menu at our restaurant hours directly to the room.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a Small Luxury Hotel, and members of this mix of independent hotels have never let us down.  Seeing our membership card, we were given an upgrade to a junior suite.  (SLH membership is free and highly recommended).   The reception staff are all friendly, helpful and welcoming, and all kitted out in impeccable suits.  During our stay, any time we came down the stairs someone would be ready asking how they could help.  Our room was on the top floor and up two flights of stairs.  All the way up the decor was what you would expect for a hotel called "Belle Epoque".  Our room, Jugendstil Suite, is an attic room, with a deceptively high ceiling, oak beams and a jacuzzi.  The furtniture and decor are all to a high standard - all in the era style, but clearly modern and well mantained.   The bathrooom is quie small, containing jsut the shower, sink and loo - the jacuzzi is in the main bedroom area.  A dressing gown and slippers are provided, but only one bath towel each and a single hand towel.  
The hotel has free wi-fi which is easy to join and which has a good signal from out on the garden balcony, in the pubic dining room and in our room on the top floor.  The safe is a good size and has a removable shelf, which is handy.  The minibar fridge is large enough to hold your own water bottles etc. The items provided are fairly expensive, as is usual, and the hotel do charge for water - 4 Eur for 0.5l - so you may prefer to get a bottle from the super market - cross Maria-Viktoria Strasse and head uphill towards Lichtentaler strasse - the supermarket is just on the right.  Here you can get a litre for less than a euro.
The hotel is more generous with breakfast, where a little notice invites you to take extra rolls etc and make yourself a snack to take out for lunch.  Breakfast selection is "the usual' rolls, cold cuts and cheese, cereal and yoghurts plus a small amount of fruit, salad and yoghurts.  Hot eggs, poached, scrambled or whatever can be made to order.  There was also a bottle of champage (and note: champagne, not sparkling wine or prosecco) next to the fruit juice at breakfast.  
Also icluded in the room rate is afternoon tea (or coffee) with a small selection of cakes and parties.  This can betaken in the dining room, on the sofa in front of the fire or out of the shaded terrace.  As well as cakes they had a bowl of nuts, which was a huge win for me as a fan of the savoury snack!   

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of you stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Treated like and individual and made feel welcome and special. The room was delightful, clean and homely. Location is just minutes walk from the town and the staff were very helpful as tourist guides and hosts. Breakfast was substantial and perhaps the best we had in our recent travels. Afternoon tea on the terrace was a delightful,experience. Silver service all round.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If I could give this hotel 0/5 I would as it is easily the worst hotel either of us has stayed in over our numerous travels. I cannot believe it is part of Small Luxury Hotels (SLH) as it is far from luxury and not even clean (see pics). I booked this as part of our honeymoon and intended to stay 5 nights but we left after one. The hotel seems fine from the exterior and the communal areas are also ok but once you get in the rooms it is another story. They seem to feel that creating a 'belle epoque' feel means they do not have to renovate at all. I had informed the hotel over a week before arrival that it would be our honeymoon, when we arrived the manager said he had upgraded us for this reason which I thought was a bit odd as as an SLH member you are meant to get an upgrade if available anyway, no other effort was made. The room itself looked really tired, the bed was sagging in the middle, the carpet was really old and there were fraying net curtains in the window. The room was supposed to have a view of the gardens but due to the pitch of the roof you couldn't see anything (I am 6'5'' tall) not what we expected at all. We went down to reception to ask if we could change rooms and the manager said that the only other suite he had would have a wedding going on next door tomorrow night so if we wanted that one we 'better not come running back complaining of noise.' We instead opted for the standard room we had originally booked as it looked the least worn but on closer inspection found it to be quite dirty. There were stains on the bed cover which we mentioned when we were shown the room, as a result one of the maids came and ripped the cover off the bed then left again. We found hairs all over the duvets and pillows (not just one or two as you might get transferred in the wash) and there were also hairs all over the bathroom floor, which incidentally has no bath in a standard room just a shower, is this your idea of luxury?

By this point we felt there was no point mentioning this to the manager as he had already made us feel less than welcome and had it been earlier we would certainly have left that night, on looking at other reviews on tripadvisor we see the management has the opinion the guest is always wrong so decided to complain through our booking website who kindly negotiated our early departure. We were just about to bed down for the night when we started to smell cigarette smoke filling our room through one of the vents, nice.

As for the rest of the hotel it has absolutely no facilities at all and the 'extensive' gardens are more postage stamp sized, the breakfast is adequate but nothing to rave about. You are also expected to pay €18/night for parking. So in summary if you stay here you will be paying 5* luxury prices for a dirty, smelly, tired room in a hotel with no facilities to make up that price and you will be charged extra if you want to park your car, I don't know if the rude manager was an added bonus or comes as standard. What makes this all the more upsetting is this has tainted the memory of our honeymoon when we booked high grade hotels specifically to try and prevent such an event occurring. It also significantly impacted our holiday time as we spent a day travelling back to our original hotel and then had a much longer journey than anticipated for getting to the airport for departure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that our services were not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. We will do our best to improve upon the complaints you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in such comfortable and luxurious surroundings being looked after by the excellent staff. The on site parking made life a lot easier after a long drive and the town centre was easily reached on foot. Our room had a lovely view of the garden and terrace at the rear. Breakfast was excellent - down to the paper bags and notice telling guests to make a sandwich for their journey if they wished. Afternoon tea was also included and the cakes were delicious! Baden Baden itself was lovely and well worth another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendation. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this private residence converted into a hotel, in April '13. We were here for just one night and we had driven into Baden Baden from Cologne. We couldnt make the most of the hotel, but whatever little time we spent at this hotel was wonderful. This hotel surely creates an ambience that must have been at the turn of the last century. We had a room right on the top floor, complete with sloping roofs and exposed rafters. We had a jacuzzi in the room(a tribute to Baden Baden's legacy by the designers, no doubt). The hotel has onsite parking which is quite convenient. The hotel is quite close to the main city centre and the Casino. The breakfast at the hotel was quite sumptuous and our stay, though short, was luxurious and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your approval as well as your positive review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: Maria-Viktoria-Strasse 2C | Ludwig-Wilhelm-Strasse 5, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.