We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Hotel Belle Epoque
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maria-Viktoria-Strasse 2C | Ludwig-Wilhelm-Strasse 5, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Baden-Baden
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We travelled here from Freiburg (down the Romantic Road) in December 2012, for 2 nights (following the suggestions of the Lonely Planet and stopping off in Triberg for Black Forest Gateaux and driving through Freudenstadt). With a satnav the hotel was easy to find – a lovely house and grounds with beautiful decor (especially at Christmas time with a huge tree in the lounge, next to a cosy fire). They gave us a choice of 2 suites (something we have never been offered before so were most appreciative); we picked the Mozart Suite (the other had a darker wood decor but a large bath in the middle of the room if you’re feeling romantic). The Mozart Suite was spacious and comfy with a Jacuzzi bath. We had wanted to stay at Brenner’s and also looked at the Dorint but were more than happy with our choice (it’s actually situated parallel to Brenner’s which looked absolutely huge – so less intimate and probably without the personal service, and Dorint was in a good location but didn’t look as unique).
The Belle Epoque offered fantastic service. We made the most of the free afternoon tea (served until 5) which offered a selection of teas and snacks – a nice addition. They offered us a good price for theatre tickets on our last night but unfortunately we already had restaurant reservations which we wanted to keep. Breakfast was equally good with your usual selection (they did hot foods by request).
A few little things: the internet was very good (and free). Parking outside was at an additional cost. Smell seemed to travel through the vents and, unfortunately, you could smell cigarettes (a problem we found in a few other German hotels). The distance to the town centre is a 10-15 minute walk and further again to the baths.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your approval as well as your positive review. We are of course very sorry about the smell of smoke and we will take better care of that! But we are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again very soon in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
62
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for my birthday, during wintertime. Everything (room, lobby, dining room)was clean and taken good care of by the staff. Knowing it was my birthday, the staff took us to see several rooms and we go to chose the one I prefered.
The dining room is just perfect in a snowy afternoon, with the fireplace and free tea and really tasty cakes and cookies.
The room and whole hotel was absolutely gorgeous, with a genuine belle epoque decoration. It feels like a home!
We liked it so much that we extended our stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much and it is an honor to be “your favorite of all”. We would be glad to welcome you again very soon in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

When in Rome..I mean Baden Baden...why not stay at an elegant hotel from the good ol' days of this high rollin spa town. The entrance is grand with a large staircase and staff opening the door remotely for you before you even see them. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a junior suite. The room at baroque style furnishings and period pieces. The bathroom was large with high end fixtures. The only complaint on the comfort of this hotel was the firmness of the bed. It was quite hard in our opinion which could lead to poor sleep quality. Otherwise this is counter balanced by the entire positive experience at the hotel. The communal area lounge has a fireplace and couches for relaxing. It was nice to come home from dinner and enjoy a glass of port by the fire. They also offer a high tea service in the afternoon as included in the price. Overall, it was a nice stay at this hotel...would just recommend improvement in the mattresses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services. We of course will examine the mattress and at your next stay I am sure we will find a softer bed for you.
We are pleased to hear, that you otherwise enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This property is beautiful. Each guest room is named after the style in which it is decorated. We were in the Brahms room which included a small lounge area with desk, comfortable bed, small bathroom with shower and a separate spa bath in the corner of the room apart from the bathroom. The spa bath was a very nice luxury after walking around Baden-Baden for the day.

The breakfast includes cereal/museli, yoghurt, meats and cheeses, muffins/pastries, tea/coffe, juice and is included in the room rate. Free wifi is also available throughout the hotel, though it is somewhat limited in the range in the guest room we had as were were on the second floor at the end of the hallway.

This property certainly takes you back in time and allows you to experience how Baden Baden would have been during the height of its popularity with European royalty. It is a very short walk from all the tourist attractions, thermal baths and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of your stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services. Of course our strong boys do not mind to carry heavy suitcases even to higher floors.
We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again in Baden-Baden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A lovely hotel. Feels like you are staying in a family home. The decor and attention to detail is superb. The lounge is cosy and classy at the same time. Breakfast and afternoon teas are very nice, all the best china and good choice. Service here is very good. We had a meeting here and the service was great as well as a large room with plenty of light. This hotel is great for bussiness or for a romantic break. Superb!

Room Tip: The old house has nicest room. Second floor is ok but plenty of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your time to write on your impressions of you stay. Your information is very important to us as they help us to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Belle Epoque last week. I started off having very high expectations of the Hotel until we sat down at reception too check in. Our room was not ready too start off with so we had too hang around for that. We had too ask someone too bring our bags in not something we are used too having stayed in all five star hotels. Let me point this out too you this is not a five star hotel,The Mandarin Orientals are Five star hotels this hotel is clearly not. It does not even have its own restarant how unbelivable is that!!!! The room was old fashioned and the ensuite bathroom was a hideous burgundy colour that had a curtain as the door!!!! When I spoke too a very rude man about cancelling our two night stay and just staying for one night I was barked at saying that would not be possible and that we had too pay for two nights. You also get two single duvets on a double bed instead off a proper double duvet.Breakfast was very dull not what we are used too. After one night we left the following day. I had too ask one off the staff too bring our bags too the car as they were all too busy lolling around talking. Horrendous place if you like good food and nice people and good service do not stay here.You have been warned!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for writing your experience in our hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention.
We are sorry you had to wait for the room but our check in time is 3pm, what is always told at reservation or in the confirmation. Of course our staff is supposed to bring in the suitcases if you wish for it right away. He was probably not sure about that since the room hasn’t been ready yet. We apologize herefore.
The points about our décor and restaurant in our sister hotel are actually very clear prior to arrival (or reservation). We are not a modern standard hotel. The hotel is known and loved for its antique interior. To hear that our staff has been rude is very shocking. Normally, as you can see in our other reviews, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We apologize for that also.
We are astonished that our breakfast buffet with poultryliver parfait, salmon, freshly squeezed juice and the other rather regular luscious items as black forest ham, at least five different sorts of cheese…and so on.. was too dull for you. We also serve every kind of eggs you can imagine on request!
The cancellation policy is 72hours prior to arrival, which is also written in every confirmation or told on the phone at reservation. Unfortunately you were not within the policy when cancelling at arrival. We are a small hotel and do not overbook. We hold the room for our guests until the last minute.
It’s our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you of our quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Staying at the Belle Epoche is like staying as a house guest in a friend's chateau. It's a very pretty building in a good location with lovely antiques, roaring fires, books, paintings, fresh flowers and great attention to detail such excellent quality crockery (Villeroy & Boch), cutlery, soft furnishings and bed linen. The reception rooms and bedrooms are very well appointed and very attractive indeed and everything is spotlessly clean. The staff are polite, helpful, well presented and wonderfully discreet and the ambiance is elegant and tranquil. Delightfully fresh and plentiful breakfasts and the scrumptious complimentary afternoon tea completed the sense of thorough well-being. There's also a large and pretty garden, parking and very good security. Both my husband and I felt extremely comfortable at Belle Epoche and I would not need much persuasion to move myself in for good! I particularly relished the fact that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, no trouser presses, no ironing boards, absolutely nothing 'hotely' and naff (although there was an excellent hair dryer and super bathroom products!), allowing us to enjoy proper butler service instead. This gorgeous and romantic little boutique hotel ticks all my boxes!

Room Tip: Choosing a room is impossible as they are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleBad, Inhaber at Hotel Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we would be glad to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Address: Maria-Viktoria-Strasse 2C | Ludwig-Wilhelm-Strasse 5, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.