We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel/dining room, STINKY room! Dont take 3rd floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof to your Saves list
Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiserallee 2, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Baden-Baden
CA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel/dining room, STINKY room! Dont take 3rd floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a beautiful old hotel, they remodeled it and all rooms are different in size and shape. They first gave us a 3rd floor room. The elevator only gets to the 2nd floor, we had to climb a very steep staircase to get to our room. I usually carry our big luggage ourselves to save time. There is no way I can do that with these stairs. More surprise when we got in the room-we had to walk down 3 big steps to go to bathroom. I am a senior and go to bathroom 2-3 times at night. I was afraid I could fall at night and break my hips, so asked the front desk to give us different room without the steps IN the room. The 3rd floor must be converted from attic. They should make them maids quarter and not for guests! Some of our other passengers in Gate 1 tour has beautiful room with small balcony facing the Art museum and garden. Try to get those rooms.

Then we got a 2nd floor room. Opened the door, it was a smoking room. it STINKS like hell! Guests prior must smoke cigar or something very strong. We had to open the window to get some fresh air. Found out the heater does not work. So we were cold. By then I was too tired to change to another room. We stayed in the stinky room for 2 nights in the cold. Bathroom heater works, we go to bathroom to warm up. Slept with fleece cuz there was no extra blanket in the room. Tried to ask the maid (a guy), he didnt understand English so we gave up.

The hotel is and old charm. Has chandelier in the room and high ceilings. Bathroom has 2 sinks. Beautiful dining room with chandeliers too. Breakfast is very good. Shower door is only half the door, it always flood the bathroom. Across street is an Art museum and garden where they had Xmas market. Very convenient. Fast free wi-fi in the room. I would stay here again, but make sure to ask:
no 3rd floor room
prefer 2nd floor with balcony
no smoking room

Room Tip: * NO 3rd floor rooms. They are converted from attic. Elevator only reaches 2nd floor, you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    82
    42
    21
    7
See reviews for
13
80
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the outside this hotel looks really nice and cosy.... However, this is properly the worse hotel I have stayed in for many years.... The staff if so old fashion and really out of touch with real life, actually it is a study in it self. The prices are not cheap, however the room are very bad... Like total castrophy..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Back in its glory days, this Steigenberger hotel must have been a sparkling jewel for the German aristocrats vacationing in the resort town of Baden Baden. There are gleaming chandeliers, royal blue tapestries, and large oil portraits. From the outside, the hotel looks majestic and grand as it stands on the Oos River across from the spa gardens.

Over time, however, the hotel has aged. Although it still carries old world character and charm, it has lost some of its prior elegance and glamour. Rooms are a hodgepodge of sizes. Carpets are frayed. The CRT TV is an antique. Paint is chipped and peeling. The heater did not work. The rooms smell of stale smoke. The hotel's redeeming qualities are its excellent location, free wifi, and delicious food. The hotel is located near the pedestrian mall and near the Christmas markets. There is free wifi everywhere in the hotel. The restaurant food is tasty, and the restaurant service is attentive.

If you want a taste of Germany in the 1800s, then this place is for you. If you want a clean, modern, smoke-free place to rest, then stay elsewhere.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

From Zurich we drove to Baden-Baden where we stayed three days at the Steigenberger Europaeische Hof hotel, right opposite the baths. The hotel is still decorated in an old fashioned way and is showing its age. This notwithstanding, we had a lovely, spacious room with a view on the park and bathhouse. All our meals were taken at the hotel and dinner is worth staying in for as the food is top quality and the service efficient and rather teutonic. If you cannot eat dinner without the waitrons smiling from ear to ear all the time and making idle chat with you, you are going to be disappointed - it is not the German way. Instead, you will get a restrained efficiency served with utmost politeness. We loved it. The main shopping areas is almost directly behind the hotel, as is the Altstadt or 'old town'. Many restaurants and surprisingly, a lot of pharmacies are also to be found here. We were told that the average age of the town folk is nearing retirement and the huge number of pharmacies are there to serve the ageing population. There is a lot to see and do in Baden-Baden so make use of it. If you are into classical music, a wide programme is offered - just check with your hotel's concierge. Walking is quite a favourite pastime and you'll encounter many people walking from the old town right down to the gardens at the end of the town. We really enjoyed our stay here and is sure to go back to the Steigenberger. Parking is right opposite the hotel in an underground parking area and very secure and safe. We love the atmosphere at the hotel and the entire town.

Room Tip: I think most of the room do face the park and baths - just make sure to ask if it does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This hotel is old, and could need renovation. However the atmosphare is still there - in the building. The staff was rather tired and uninterested, per haps due to a busy week, but no excuse. What you get for free is a lousy internet connection, but you can pay for more speed. That should have been unnecsssary when they charge you three times the pay for a room elsewhere in the region - with "unlimited" speed.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We had a lovely room - LARGE and a nice stay but the property is definitely in need of some updates and repairs. There is a lot of worn carpet and paint chipped off throughout. Our room was clean and we had a king bed with lovely bedding. The old town center is just behind and there is a park in front so the location can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed for one night only and didn't expect much as I had booked online for a very low price. Still, you do expect a minimum of maintenance in a place that presents itself as a luxury hotel. Staff were friendly but not overly competent (had the concierge recommend a restaurant and book a table, turned out he mixed up the names of two different plkaces and when we arrived, no table was ready). Room: well. Quite roomy and it did have sort of an 80ties charm to it. However, in the bathroom a loudspeaker for the bathroom radio receiver (probably the latest in tech when the hotel was renovated last) was hanging from the ceiling. Lock on the door was a nuisance to open and didn't feel safe - no keycard, just an ill-fitting key. Carpets everywhere were seedy and worn-out. So, I'm sure this was a charming place years ago but it has not aged well!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof

Address: Kaiserallee 2, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baden-Baden
#11 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s central location at the edge of the pedestrian zone, opposite the spa gardens of Baden-Baden with its world-famous spa and casino, makes it the ideal starting point for many different activities. At the Steigenberger Europäischer Hof the guest will find comfortable rooms, a cuisine with a French flair and a modern wellness area with sauna, massage and beauty treatment. The city of Baden-Baden and the surrounding area are very diversified. Spend a day relaxing in one of the thermal baths, hike or cycle through the Black Forest or the magnificent vineyards of Baden-Baden and enjoy a performance in the festival hall in the evening.The usage of WiFi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Europaischer Hof Hotel Baden-Baden
Steigenberger Europaischer Hof Baden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.