We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service but rooms showing their age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiserallee 2, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 55 hotels in Baden-Baden
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service but rooms showing their age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I had room 220 on a stopover to UK from Austria - this was the only one of the main hotels we could get into even booking 3 weeks ahead. We had a view of Kurpark and Trinkhalle although this was obscured by the trees in late June so I wouldn't pay much extra for it (although better than the dustbins!).
The lady at the desk was very helpful although there was nobody around to help with our bags. We could have had the car parked but decided to park it ourselves due to it being right hand drive - instructions were a bit vague but by fluke we ended up parking in the huge Kur Park underground car park right by some steps which came out in front of the hotel - as far as I could see there was no special section for this hotel's parking (unlike the Dorint) - 20 Euros is a bit steep for a public car park but not much choice.
The room was cleanish apart from a nasty stain on the headboard however there was an overwelming feeling of it being very dated and in need of refurbishment, from cracked tiles to scuffs on the wall in the hall way section, dated looking CRT television (not flat screen), chintzy flowered curtains, net curtains, formica furnishings, a shower curtain (not seen one in a luxury hotel in a while).
On the central staircase was a huge vase and even this had a huge chip in it - I have a feeling refurbishment surely must be round the corner.
However we had a good sleep (largely thanks to the door that separated the hall from the sleeping area which minimised noise intrusion from the corridor) and the breakfast was pretty good which an egg chef present (although no toaster to do your own toast).
I wouldn't rush to stay here again but I guess you could do worse - importantly though we had a good rest and were set up nicely for the long trip back home.

Room Tip: The view is obscured largely by trees in the summer so bare this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manollo J, Public Relations Manager at Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Chappel,


Thank you for your visit in the STEIGENBERGER EUROPÄISCHER HOF in
Baden-Baden.

We wish you have arrived home safe and still benefit from the positive experiences of your visit.

We thank you for taking the time to send us your experienced incidents and your comments about your stay.

Most of the described incidents display that you have not been satisfied with our offer, we are very sorry and wish to apologize. Some rooms are literally "getting old" and no longer correspond to the standard that you are used to from the Steigenberger Hotels & Resorts.
Eventful years with various owners have passed and we are happy to announce that the "Steigenberger Europäischer Hof" - the first Steigenberger Hotel ever opened - has now officially returned back to the Steigenberger Hotelgroup.
We are awaiting a modernization in the near future and are looking forward to reconnect with the known standards.

I gladly assure that improving the standards is highly prioritized for the Steigenberger Hotel Group and we will do our best to avoid further issues in the future.

I am sorry for any inconvenience caused and wish that you will visit us again in the future to witness our improvements.


Best regards from Baden-Baden



Kai-Uwe Wellner
Interims Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    83
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
10
69
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Classic luxury hotel, great location and very friendly staff, try to be allocated to a room opposite to the river, which is very specious and have a small terrace with a dream view to the green mountain and the river, simply speaking it is a part of the haven.
Another advantage is the buffet breakfast with a wide selection of delicious food and cafe,

Room Tip: Select your room with river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manollo J, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Maldeiri,

Thank you for your visit in the STEIGENBERGER EUROPÄISCHER HOF in
Baden-Baden.

We wish you have arrived home safe and still benefit from the positive parts of your visit.

We like to thank you for taking the time to send us your experienced incidents and your comments about the hotel.

Best regards from Baden-Baden

Kai-Uwe Wellner
Assistant of the Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menton
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were spoiled from start to finish. Our car was parked for us and our baggage carried up to our wonderfully large and comfortable bedroom. I loved the imposing staircase, the elegant bar and dining room.
Breakfast was offered buffet-style with a vast choice of cold meats, fish, cheese etc. My only little gripe is that the cooked breakfast wasn't cooked to order but had been kept warm in a bain marie.
Table service was very attentive and the hotel is centrally located. There is a spa in the hotel which, due to shortness of time we couldn't explore.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates bygone elegance.

Room Tip: We had room 229
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

those who like luxury may dislike the hotel, as this one is fascinating rather by it's 19th century spirit, and naturally a little old interiors, which creates particular charm to the hotel. Take kur haus and casino view room. Centrally located and close to everything. Breakfast is great. Excellent value for money (we had special offer 3 nights for the price of 2). And though many guests are seniors, we loved it even being much younger

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvigny-sous-Andaine, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A wonderful hotel of character and style, that cannot be mimicked by modern hotels. Room was spaciuos and comfortable. The hotel provides a comfortable and relaxing environment in the beautiful town of Baden Baden.
The hotel restaurant was superb with a knowlegdeable maitre d'. The Chateaubriand was superb. Having valet parking was superb, one less thing to worry about. Unfortunately our stay was only one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed for the second time of my life in this Steigenberger Hotel. First time was about 15 years ago. The hotel is an old lady, Grand Hotel style. It is perfectly located in Baden-Baden city center, just across of one of the most historical and beautiful casinos in the world and seconds away from the pedestrian zone of Baden-Baden with its exclusive and expensive shops. The location and the view from the breakfast area are certainly the highlights of the hotel.
The biggest disappointment however are the rooms. I certainly understand that in a historic building NO fully modern room would fit. But the room I had was an impertinence for a 5 star hotel. The bed was so low, I had the impression of lying on the floor, furniture showed lots of signs of wear and tear, the bathroom could not have been much older in style and the room was higher than wide. Obviously the style of the hotel is very much liked by asians and russians, some unfortunately are very noisy at night. Apart from these guests THE HOTEL AGED WITH ITS OTHER GUESTS. The generation 80 + seems to like the place a lot.

Grand Hotels or Hotels in historic buildings can be great. But the hotel inside needs to be maintained, must be equipped with state-of-the-art technique, with suitable rooms and appropriate furniture. But therefore you have to invest money from time to time. It seems that this did not happen in the Steigenberger for the last 35 years.

Restaurant TIP: We had very good food in the "MEDICI" restaurant, 5 minutes walking distance, not the cheapest place, however nice in style and visited before by lots of celebrities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in this grand old lady of a hotel. The decor is rather of faded glory but the hotel was warm, comfortable, clean and central. The breakfast was excellent with lovely views across to the Kur Haus. The reception staff were friendly, smiling and professional - offering towels for our visit to the Caracalla Baths and making suggestions for restaurants. With the good rate we booked - this was excellent value for money. The Horse Bar stayed open late - a cozy old fashioned bar with leather seats!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof

Address: Kaiserallee 2, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baden-Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baden-Baden
#12 Luxury Hotel in Baden-Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s central location at the edge of the pedestrian zone, opposite the spa gardens of Baden-Baden with its world-famous spa and casino, makes it the ideal starting point for many different activities. At the Steigenberger Europäischer Hof the guest will find comfortable rooms, a cuisine with a French flair and a modern wellness area with sauna, massage and beauty treatment. The city of Baden-Baden and the surrounding area are very diversified. Spend a day relaxing in one of the thermal baths, hike or cycle through the Black Forest or the magnificent vineyards of Baden-Baden and enjoy a performance in the festival hall in the evening.The usage of WiFi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Europaischer Hof Hotel Baden-Baden
Steigenberger Europaischer Hof Baden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Europaeischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.