We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theater Baden-Baden (Festspielhaus)

Theater Baden-Baden (Festspielhaus)
Beim Alten Bahnhof 2, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
07221 3013-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 things to do in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The town's popular 19th-century performance hall has served as the home to the same acting troupe since 1918.
Nontron, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cultural haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A huge (2nd largest in Europe!) auditorium, with good acoustic. Several bars and restaurant. Incredible series of world-famous artists throughout the tear.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    18
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grootschermer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I came all the way from the Netherlands to attend just one performance here (traveled on a Saturday for the performance, went back on Sunday).

The reason I went there was to see the concert performance of La Straniera by the wonderful Edita Gruberova.
I got there an hour before the performance started, had a glass of wine and a canape (not too expensive) and left my coat at the garderobe (also reasonably priced at € 1.50).

I liked the atmosphere, I liked the way all the employe's I made eye contact with smiled back at me. When I asked for directions or information they were very nice and very helpful.

What I also liked is that most people were dressed formal but certainly not all of them.
A tie is not a must and although I did not see people in jeans I don't think you will be stopped at the door if you want to attend a performance dressed that way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have attended several performances at the Festspielhaus and I think that there is not a bad seat in the theatre. I have never sat higher than the first balcony but having sat in a variety of locations, the seats offer a good view of the stage. One drawback to this facility is the parking garage. It is a circular cork-screw going underground. Exiting the garage is very time consuming. Unfortunately, there are really no parking alternatives in the area. If you are staying at a hotel overnight in the city, I would recommend either walking or taking a cab.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“a good program in a good venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I liked the opportunity the locations offers, provided good weather. Drinks and snacks on the square in front of the entrance of the venue.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Bobby McFerrin - Awesome venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great venue in good location. Theatre is amazing and huge. We sat way up the back but could see everything. After the show all the ladies were given a rose as we left the building which was a really nice touch!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theater Baden-Baden (Festspielhaus) also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Theater Baden-Baden (Festspielhaus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theater Baden-Baden (Festspielhaus), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.