We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're into that sort of thing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Koenig

Cafe Koenig
Lichtentaler Str. 12, 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
07221 - 23573
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 165 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you're into that sort of thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Atmosphere quite nice, old-school German coffee house. Quality of the two cakes we tried, Blackforest and a Genevan Nut Cake, not so impressed. This might be a matter of taste, but these layered cakes were more cream than anything else and struck me as a bit vulgar. The tea I ordered was too weak (hard to screw up tea, normally)...and at 5.80 eur for a small pot, I would have expected a fresh teabag... so in summary, not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    48
    23
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kaarst
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“very busy but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

people are waiting on a free table, so rather hectic but quality and service remain on a fair level. the atmosphere is old fashion mondaine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A fantastic pastry shop and good value lunch snacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After a long walk in the Lichtentaler Allee we came back and were so happy to get very good soups for lunch and fantastic cakes and coffee . In the middle of a lot of elderly people you seem to be back in the 60 s and 70 s when Baden Baden was very exclusive place

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes but very expensive for tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I enjoyed my lemon meringue pie but the tea was very over priced compared to what I am used to paying in the UK for afternoon tea. It is a very nice setting though and the service was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a disappointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Having trawled many cafes in Germany searching for one that did not dish up the usual Apfelstreusel and cheesecake -always high in volume but low in taste and quality, this place and its cakes do not disappoint. Lives up to what you would hope for from a picturesque and classy cafe. Atmosphere is friendly and although always well frequented never gives the impression of being crowded. We now visit regularly and on a trip to Baden Baden make it our first stop!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Koenig also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Cafe Koenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Koenig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.