We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious French/Alsace food and adorable environment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casserole

La Casserole
Gernsbacher Str. 18 | (Fussgaengerzone - direkt gegenueber dem "Loewenbraeu", 76530 Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
+49 7221 22221
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 164 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious French/Alsace food and adorable environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Trusted Tripadvisor and spent our one dinner at La Casserole. It did not disappoint! We could have eaten everything on the menu, and the service was sweet and just like we were members of the family. Delicious french specialities like frog legs, roast chicken, and an amazing rum baba. Great cocktails and wine to go along with it! Very cute space, candlelit and full of good people. If you eat anywhere in Baden Baden, make it here!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best value in Baden Baden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Small family restaurant, "feel at home" atmosphere. Very clean and friendly. Food is excellent; ate there twice and enjoyed it. Wine is very good and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have come to the conclusion that five star reviews should only be used for an exceptional meal and that is the only reason I am giving it four stars. la Casserole was recommended by a gentleman we met in town and we were lucky to find a seat at 8:00 on a Friday night. The service was wonderful and very friendly. We ate the escargot and the flammkuchen. Both were delicious! The atmosphere was very quaint, friendly and comfortable. It was a very nice meal and I would highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best steak I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Simply put, this was one of the best meals of my life. The steak (which I asked for well done, yeah whatever) was nicely charred on the outside, while light brown on the inside, and melted in my mouth. Never had that before!

The place was busy, but service was good, and wine was crisp, refreshing - and reasonably priced.

Check this place out, it deserves it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We found this small restaurant across from the bustling Loewenbraeu and thought we would give it a try. Sat outside having had the hotel reserve us a place. Not really needed as we were eating early (7:30). A good value for money and a good vantage point to watch the other tourists slip by along the cobblestone walkway/street. A nice change from typical German cuisine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casserole also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to La Casserole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casserole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.