We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realy disappointed!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Provence

La Provence
Schlossstrasse 20, Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
07221/21650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 159 Restaurants in Baden-Baden
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Realy disappointed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

It wasn't good Food.
And too expencive for this food!!!!
I was really disappointed!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pricey but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This restaurant, up the hill near the Neues Schloss, is a bit of a schlep, but the room inside is very nice and the food can be good. Things like steak and lamb were great, but mixed grills of fish and meat were dry and overpriced. Some nice wines too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have been travelling to Baden-Baden for many years and always visit La Provence for the Best Dinner in Town. Mr. Domingo and his staff make my guests and I like Kings. The food?, Superb! The Best Carpaccio and Duck with Prune Sauce.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal, and after viewing the menu online, I figured that I should dress up a little. As we walked through the door, however, I realised I should have worn jeans. The decor was rustic and reminiscent of a hunting lodge rather than a classy French restaurant. The fellows at the table next to us (and we were practically stuck on them as obviously space is a factor) had removed the tablecloth and were happily swigging their beer. The first thing I noticed after this was the cheap paper napkins. I mean a place that charges you 26 euros each for Chateaubriand and doesn't have a decent bottle of wine under 50 euros can't afford proper napkins? We ordered the French Onion soup and the first thing that hits your palate is the salt from the overuse of beef broth to disguise the fact that there really is no other flavour there. Although I found onions at the bottom of the bowl, they had no taste. There was minimal gruyere cheese (and in fact I had to search for it). Next came the chateaubriand for two which we ordered medium and my husband specifically instructed the waiter that we wanted it pink but not bloody. When it arrived we each had three slices on the plate, one of which was completely raw (I mean it was almost mooing). I asked them fix it and they were gone like 10 seconds and as far as I can tell, just rearranged the slices to face the other way. There was no bearnaise sauce which I expected, but rather a very disappointing brown gravy. The vegetables were boring and plain (who wants broccoli and beans) although the small portion of ratatouille on the side of the plate was tasty. The potatoes which were served on the side, were very disappointing. They were supposed to be (I think) a version of dauphinoise or gratinee but there was no evidence of cream and one tired thin layer of dried up cheese on the top. I had to choke them down with the house wine which was okay but I refused to pay 63 euros for a bottle of wine that I could easily buy for 15 euros or less at the store. To be fair, the meat was tasty (the pieces that were not raw), but on the whole it did not live up to our expectations and as far as I am concerned, should not call itself a French restaurant because I am sure that any true Frenchman would have sent everything back. The bill came to 98 euros before tip which was a lot more than what it was worth. Not really suitable for a romantic evening unless you want to get hit on by the drunk at the table next to you.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

A short hop up the hill in Baden-Baden and you have this beauty restaurant. With excellent French food and an excellent wine list, brilliant and helpful staff and a really comfortable and cosy atmosphere you could do a lot worse when in Baden-Baden. Definitely well worth checking out for a nice evening meal. Make sure you book however!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Provence also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to La Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.