We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Mainau

Isle of Mainau
Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
49 (0) 75 31 -303-0
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The almost-tropical island of Mainau features a magnificent garden at its center and an ancient castle, which was the former residence of the Knights of the Teutonic Order.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went to the Isle of Mainau and were blown away by the beauty. They had so many different kinds of flowers, it was unbelievable from roses to palm trees, to pine trees. There were grape vines, and bees. It was just majestic. The isle even has it's own chapel. They had a little petting zoo for children along with different playgrounds. One other great thing is that it is not super busy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    80
    17
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to our hotel receptionist, we visited this place. The weather was perfect and the place was beyond beautiful!!
Theres a direct bus from the station to insel and they have lovely dalia, rose gardens, in addition to this, they have a lovely butterfly house. One can spend hours at this place. The view of lake konstanz is breathtaking from here!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful island of flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I visited Mainau with a friend who lives in the area. She had told me of the beautiful flowers on the island, but I was completely overwhelmed by the wonderful displays and number of different areas of interest and beauty. We were there in early October and the dahlia beds were just out of this world - masses of them, mainly colour-themed and many different varieties. The floral sculptures are also amazing. There are also many different varieties of trees and shrubs, a spectacular waterfall and playground for the kids.I also loved the butterfly house although it was very hot and steamy, so couldn't take photographs as the camera lens kept steaming up! Also, the garden shop is fantastic and there are tea/coffee rooms all in a beautiful setting. The Castle was also open on the day we visited and was the venue for a great craft and fashion fair, with lots of very high quality fashion and artwork etc on sale. The setting is spectacular, with lake views all round. Just a wonderful experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worthwhile day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent an afternoon in this beautiful island garden. A bit expensive, but worthwhile for the gardener or for those who love a gardener (fun to watch them light up). A wide variety of gardens, including a very large mature rare tree garden and a magical butterfly house try the great coffee and pastry at the little cafe near but not in the butterfly house).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A beautiful tranquil setting for a lovely day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travelled to this charming "island of flowers" by boat. From the moment we arrived, we felt in heaven. The island is a true gem and can be thoroughly recommended. We were lucky with the weather as it was warm and sunny. We have brought home with us some lovely memories of a very special day. The island is beautifully maintained with lots of lovely gardens to suit all tastes. The views all around the lake are gentle and tranquil. It is also a great family destination as it provides wonderful play areas and animals to pet, along with the sheer joy of paddling around on the shores of the lake. There is enough space for everyone to enjoy themselves. I would really love to go back again at a different time of year, possibly to see the spring bulbs in full bloom which I can imagine would be amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Mainau also viewed

Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Isle of Mainau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Mainau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.