We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but quick!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cologne Cable Car (Kolner Seilbahn)

Cologne Cable Car (Kolner Seilbahn)
Riehler Strasse 180, 50735 , Germany
0221 5474183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #313 of 2,658 Activities in Germany
Type: Trams, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good but quick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I took the cable car from the zoo station over to the Rheinpark, spent some time in the park and then went back again. The ride seemed very smooth but was over disappointingly quick, it only felt about three or four minutes each way.

From the cable car you get a good view of the river and the park and can also see the cathedral. I was surprised that there was a swimming pool almost directly underneath the cable cars at the Rheinpark end where some were sunbathing nude!

There did not appear to be anywhere to buy tickets at the Rheinpark end, only the zoo end. Both the zoo and Rheinpark were lovely places to visit, although the Rheinpark is easier on the budget!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“3 in one Exellent relaxing introduction to Cologne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

There is a 3 in one option is one ticket with two rides on each of the attractions. The minimum time you need is probably 3 1/2 hours including waiting time but it is well worth the time. The three attractions are, the Cable Car, 2 Rhine cruises one south and the other to the Zoo and cable car departure point and the third a tourist motorised train tour. Tickets give two rides on each.

We started late and took the train from near the Dom (Cathedral) to the Chocolate Factory which we decided not to visit. The boat pick up point was slightly south of the factory and well marked but deserted so we thought we were in the wrong place. There was an empty boat with the right markings (green and white)but no crew. A phone call by my German speaking friend established that another boat would come to drop people off and pick us up. Once we were confident about what would happen all went well. The boat trip was relaxing, there were options to buy food a d drinks on board and after a long relaxed cruise to the south of the city we were dropped near the departure point for the red and white boat. It too initially went south but it turned earlier than the first and took us back past the departure point to the cable car and zoo. Once again there were options to buy drinks and food on board. The cable car was great and introduced me to the swimming complex opposite which I will visit if I have another stay in Cologne. We missed the lst tourist train back to the centre but the metro station was closer and more convenient. It took us through the centre and back to our accommodation!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Enjoyed getting the tram, and, knowing no German, was delighted by how patient the staff were as I booked tickets. The crossing is smooth and well organised, and really gives a great view of the river. Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Must Do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I took a trip on the cable car and gained an excellent view of Cologne. You can make it part of a round walking trip; along one side of the Rhine and then back via the other bank of the river. Next to the Zoo and coffee and toilets availble either side.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice ride - poor organisation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

It is a lovely way to view Cologne and the Rhine but...

We travelled down from the zoo and the organisation was terrible - it seems that there is nowhere to buy tickets if traveling up from the bottom so the one person on the ticket booth was serving both those going down and those that had just travelled up resulting in long queues and a number of cable cars went down empty as people were still trying to buy their ticket. Anyone that already had a return ticket couldn't just board the car and also had to queue.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cologne Cable Car (Kolner Seilbahn) also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Cologne Cable Car (Kolner Seilbahn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cologne Cable Car (Kolner Seilbahn), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.