We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for adults with enquiring minds as well as kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universum Science Center

Universum Science Center
Wienerstrasse 1a, 28359 , Germany
+49 (0) 421 / 33 46-0
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,298 of 6,282 attractions in Germany
Type: Science Museums
Attraction Details
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great for adults with enquiring minds as well as kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Came across a flyer for this museum tucked in a drawer at our holiday rental! It is a little way out from Bremen centre, though a direct tram (6) from the centre gets you within a couple of hundred yards, and takes no more than twenty minutes.
Calling it a 'museum' is rather misleading, as this is a place to be experienced, with the majority of displays etc being interactive and very (literally!) hands on! As two not-so-young adults we found ourselves bouncing, hopping, stirring, winding, pouring, measuring, remembering, discovering...... You get the picture!!
There are lockers where bags can be dumped, and a couple of cafes. We found we had spent well over four hours there, and had still not seen everything on offer!
Others have commented on the maps not being very user friendly, and would agree. We completely missed the entrance to the 'world expedition' zone and ended up doing it in reverse! Also inadvertently wandered into the 'cosmos' zone in the middle of doing a completely different zone - a minor confusion at worst.
By the time we got to the outside area it was getting dark, and we were by then virtually the only remaining visitors.
Well worth a visit, on cold winter days, as much as in the summer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a day, for all ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Six adults on the loose in Bremen for the Christmas markets, and we needed somewhere warm to go one day when the frost threatened to bite our toes off. Our hotel suggested the Universum! In a building resembling a flying saucer, a brilliantly presented set of displays, embracing very many areas of science; lots of hands-ons, feelies and walk-throughs including a dark space that you had to feel your way through, and it freaked me out a bit (very cramped, totally pitch back, and actually quite claustrophobic). My only criticism is that I didn't find the map very user-friendly, nor were there signs showing a logical way through the exhibitions on the three floors and I know for a fact I missed some areas out inadvertently, as some of the group described bits I know I didn't see.
There is outside space where we spent maybe 20 minutes - things to climb, swing on - probably more attractive in summer, and I felt more could be perhaps made of this space. It is surrounded by a rusting fence, which doesn't make it look very inviting. A bit of money needs to be spent to spruce it up, perhaps.
The museum was easy to get to on the No. 6 tram. Entrance fairly expensive (€16 for adults), and the coffee shop was adequate in what it served, and the staff friendly. A "definite" if you are in Bremen!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a spare morning in Bremen, and this was a fun way to spend a couple of hours (and there was enough to do we could have spent longer there).

It's a museum based around hands-on interaction and puzzles to teach principles of science - there were a wide range of activities that appealed not only to my 3 year old son, but for us adults as well.

There's also an interesting section based around statistics about the lives of typical Germans (how many cars they own in a lifetime, how many books they read etc). Most exhibits have English explanations alongside the German.

Great though the Universum was, I did have a couple of niggles. It's not a cheap place to pop into (€16 for an adult) - and at times the layout could be a bit confusing. We were almost defeated by the first puzzle - how to get inside! The main entrance isn't into the shell shaped building - but a building on the other side of the road (and signing was pretty negligible).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting for young and old - recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Rainy day in Bremen. What to do? Go to the Universum. Family ticket was €40 for 2 adults and 2 kids. The set up is good with themes and the lay-out is good enough. Sometimes a bit confusing but nothing that is considered a downside. We had a really god time with the many hands on things that you could do. Almost all things had explanations in German and English. Both kids and adults can learn something here in a nice and playfull way. Bring your camera as there are lots of opportunities to take pictures.
DON'T go is your kid needs a stroller! Although the location has elevators the paths are not always that wide. And think if the kid needs a stroller maybe he/she isn't ready to enjoy the Universum.
There is also a outside area that looked good on the internet but as it was raining we didn't go there.

This Universum is surely worth a visit!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very nice and fascinating museum not...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010 via mobile

A very nice and fascinating museum not only for children but for curious adults as well. Plan for enough time there is so much to see and do there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universum Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Universum Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universum Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Universum Science Center to your Saves list