We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, great breakfast, brilliant location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel de la Poste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Hotel de la Poste to your Saves list
Le Grand Hotel de la Poste
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Cours Romestang, 38200 Vienne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vienne
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, great breakfast, brilliant location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Pluses:

Great location
VERY Friendly
Amazing Breakfast
Air Conditioning
Nice traditional hotel style decor (I like it when a hotel looks like a hotel)
Good shutters to keep you sleeping in the morning
Free Street parking outside for motorbikes on weekends.
Good Wi-Fi
English Speaking (in fact an English manager I believe)

Negatives:

The room itself only had a couple of wall lights so it was very dark even in the afternoon light.

oh! and the Bathroom is a bit outdated but clean. The Bath itself is VERY Small (I'm 6ft and I couldn't sit upright and straighten my legs even) with a tap Mixer and no shower curtain. I gave the shower a miss and filled the bath high, it was faster and not too much of an inconvenience.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is much difference but the only thing I'd ask about if it bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Speed Demon,

Thank you for your contribution to the Tripadvisor community. We try to make our guests stay a confortable one. Ongoing renovations should bring extra confort. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel despite the rather small bath. We will eventually replace the wall lights with newer energy saving leds for brighter rooms. There are shutters on the windows, opening them up will let in more light during the day.

Kind regards, Mark Skellett (the English manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    50
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
14
36
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is well situated with restaurants and shops nearby. The room was clean and nice even if it was old and a bit small but big enough for two persons with not too much luggage. The staff was kind and very helpful. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice English-speaking staff, they helped us with finding best sight-seeings, restaurants and souvenirs. We took a room for 4 people, it wasn't very large, bathroom was cold, but at all it was OK. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

On your way to the south of France, instead of checking in at any anonymous "shoebox" hotel à la Formule 1 or Balladins, prefer this hotel in Vienne.
Yes, the hotel is not the newest one. Yes, it's "only" 2 stars. But hey guys: for 50€ a night in a double it's a real bargain. And be sure to book the breakfast. For another 8.5€ it's a real bargain and it's real good too. Nice fruit juices and fresh baguette... the best thing in the morning. And on saturday, there's a big market in front of the hotel where you can buy the first "saucisson" of your holiday ;-)
But beware: DO NOT park your car in the street in front of the hotel or you will get towed on market day. There's a cheap car parc 300 meters away, go there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Skakzbeer,
Thank you very much for your kind contribution to the tripadvisor community. We try our very best, to make our guests stay, a pleasure, and were happy to see you enjoyed yours.
Vienne is an ideal halfway stopover town between the North and the South. There are lots to see and do, and we're in the very centre of town.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on another trip.
Kindest regards, Mark Skellett, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good hotel with nice and friendly staff. Rooms are good, some are a bit small. Breakfast is good and the breakfast room is nice. The hotel is nice situated in the center of Vienne. Enough parking nearby in the train stationparking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Monsieur Onno,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience,
suite à votre séjour en notre Grand Hôtel de la Poste de Vienne
Nous sommes heureux qui votre séjour parmi nous, se soit passé dans d'excellentes conditions.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau très prochainement au Grand Hôtel de la Poste de Vienne
Bien cordialement à votre écoute.
André BONNEAU - Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After a long day travelling by car, decided to try our luck by enquiring for a room for a one-night stay. Was shown a room, that while cheap (approx. E62), reeked of cigarette smoke even they claimed it was a non smoking room. The young girl who showed us the room was very kind and courteous and even allowed my girl to use the washroom in the lobby even though we declined to take the room. While my wife was in the washroom, the male manager was very angry at this young girl for allowing "non customers" to use the facilities and chewed a strip off of her right of me. Obviously, he has no class and certainly not in the right line of work. In Canada, this type of behaviour would not be tolerated... Dated October 8, 2013

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Sir,
First of all, you had no intention of staying at our hotel. You already had another hotel either reserved or in mind. Your visit to our hotel was purely and intentionaly to use our restrooms.
You are not the first to try this, neither the last. Our facilities are for those that stay with us.
This is not a public restroom. Strange on leaving you asked the receptionist where Chasse sur Rhone was ? That was where you stayed ! Wasting our receptionists time on asking to see a room with the only reason being that ! You have the nerve to complain to tripadvisor !!!
Next time you are in a place where you wish to use the toilets, try going to a cafe and buy something !
Mark Skellett,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel, Hessen, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose the least expensive room, which was good value for the price. It was small, but clean and quiet. The hotel's location is central, within walking distance of excellent restaurants, historic sites and the fantastic Roman-Gallic Museum just across the river. The staff were very helpful (English speaking) and the breakfast was good quality And plentiful. The potential drawbacks are the steps (there are a few up to Reception, and again up to the elevator) and the lack of a hotel parking lot (you must either park on the street - metered - or in the Garage du Gâre - a ten minute walk from the hotel. We used the latter, and were a bit worried because much of our luggage remained in the vehicle all night. However, the garage is video-surveyed and we had no problems. I would return to the Hotel de la Poste any time... and Vienne is lovely. it is a small city, with terrific boutiques, Patisseries offering goodies and home made ice cream on every corner, and a bustling cultural scene. We ate a fantastic meal at L 'Etable du Boucher, enjoyed a walk up to the old Roman Theatre, and generally enjoyed everything about our stay in Vienne.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Gérant at Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much, for sharing your comments, with us on Tripadvisor, Following your recent stay in Vienne.
We offer our sincere apologies, for the lack of a private carpark. However as you mentioned, there is a multi story carpark within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Yes there are many stairs. Next year we will be installing a second lift in addition to the original one. This will hopefully be a relief for those that find climbing stairs a challenge.
We are delighted all the same, that you enjoyed our hotel, the location, it's services and the town of Vienne. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back , very soon.

Kindest regards, Mark Skellett, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de la Poste

Address: 47 Cours Romestang, 38200 Vienne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vienne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vienne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Hotel de la Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old coaching inn dating back to 1750. In the very center of town. Near all historical monuments. Not far from the train station. We have family rooms too. All modern amenities. Buffet breakfast. Vienne is a Roman town and famous for its two week jazz festival in July, attracting lots of famous artists! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.