We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre Romain (Antique)

Theatre Romain (Antique)
rue du Cirque, 38200 Vienne, France
04 74 85 39 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Vienne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Roman theater which seats 13,000.
Scotland/Portugal
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Difficult to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent ages trying to find this site - no signposts from the centre, so we eventually found it by accident. Expensive to go into and opening times unknown, but a helpful caretaker told us to go up the hill for excellent views looking down on it - much better than being inside it. Steep climb, though. As well as views into the theatre, lovely views of the city too, masking the scruffiness and dirt of the city. Vienne needs to get its act together and make it more visitor-friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niort, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gig Heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a most beautiful place. I attended a gig here in July 2012. It's an amazing gig venue. The atmosphere is fantastic. We visited the venue during the day and spent about an hour wandering around. Fantastic view of Vienne from the top.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

only able to see at night, but very well preserved and fascinating discovery in this little known town

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great venue for an evening of Jazz!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Fantastic venue, whether down near the stage or up high getting the view of the city and district as well. Bring along a cushion though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great site - used much?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had difficulty finding it, but eventually got there 15 mins before it was closing lunchtime. Mostly reconstructed I believe. It should be a big asset to Vienne, but I felt that the town didn't care. The town was scruffy, and did not publicise its assets.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Romain (Antique) also viewed

 

Been to Theatre Romain (Antique)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatre Romain (Antique), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.