We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ski holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Val d'Isere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Val d'Isere to your Saves list
Club Med Val d'Isere
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rue d'Leglise, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Langdorp
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect ski holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Val d'Isére is a beautiful ski area, a part of the Espace Killy area. The Club Med in Val d'Isére is a the higher part of the village, so you have to take the free bus (every 15min) or walk 15min.
It is at the skitrack so you can ski in to the ski room.
At the ski room each room has his own locker for three pairs of skies and boots.
The food is great, it is buffet, but some of the chef's offer you a beautiful plate with their speciality.
The restaurant is a little bit to small for all the guest at the evening.
The second restaurant is on reservation terms and service at your table, they have choice between two menu's with three courses. They push hard their expensive wine, but you can take the one what is included in your stay.
Nice rooms but the "club room" is small, but oké for sleeping and taking a shower. The amenities weren't filled up every day.
You have to pay for using the internet, what had to be free in this kind of hotel. You buy a code for the whole week and you can use it on three devices. The internet is slow and unstable, we had one evening and the day after no internet (and no refund for that also)
Lobby, bar and theater are beautiful. Nice pool (the water was rather cold) and good sauna but separate men and women.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    84
    36
    28
    6
See reviews for
51
82
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

For the last 10 years we have been staying at a four star hotel in Val d'Isere but heard on the
grapevine that Club Med was excellent value for money. We have just returned from a
fabulous week at the Club. The staff are very friendly, we loved the choice of food in the
restaurant and our fussy teenagers were thrilled there was pizza on offer!
The Spa was great, nordic walking, table tennis, pilates classes, gym, pool and sauna. Plenty to do if you do not want to ski all day. Food and alcohol on tap and the ski instructors were brilliant. The ambience in the evening was very good and guests enjoyed dancing to music until the early hours.

Excellent hotel for teenagers, we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Val d'Isere, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for writing this very good review on Trip Advisor after your 1st stay with Club Med, in our Val d’Isère Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your teens had a good time and that you enjoyed skiing with our well-trained instructors, but also getting involved in all the non-skiing activities that we offer – pool, sauna, table tennis, pilates classes…-.

We are also happy to read that you enjoyed the late night fun atmosphere of the Resort!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We booked in to CM Val D'Isere for the last week in March and were so impressed. Having read some of the other reviews we were apprehensive about booking our holiday, but we can not rate CM highly enough. We arrived in to Geneva airport on time and we were met by a CM rep who quickly and efficiently got us on to our coach. After three hours we arrived at CM and were greeted by the staff with drinks and snacks. The bags were transferred from the coach to our room very quickly and without fuss. We enrolled in to the ski school, which was very easy and headed for our first meal, which was fantastic. There was a huge amount of choice and the staff in the dining room where so friendly, nothing was too much for them. The following morning we went and joined our respective ski group, the process again was very quick and efficient. The instructor Marie was fantastic, I could not fault her. She was patient, knowledgable and above all else very encouraging. The whole week continued to get better and better both on and off the slopes. There were barbecue lunches and drinks served on the snow after a hard days skiing. I fell on the mountain damaging my knee druing the week and could no longer ski. After returning from the medical centre the CM staff could not do enough for me and continued to do so for the rest of my stay. I was regularly given a fresh ice pack with my new drink without even asking! All of the CM staff that we encountered were polite and so willing to help in any way. From David at the bar taking our drink orders from the lounge to Tina at reception who had an answer to every query and was so helpful when I was trying to liaise with my insurance company in the UK after my fall. The manager Eric was always on hand talking to the guests from first thing in the morning at breakfast to last thing at night at dinner, he really does run a great hotel. The skiing was fantastic and the CM staff and facilities even better - well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Val d'Isere, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to write this review after your stay in our Val d’Isère Club Med Resort. We are delighted to read that you and your partner had a good time and that you enjoyed the organisation at your arrival, the diversity of the food, the Resort’s facilities and the vast knowledge of your ski instructor.

We are also very glad to read that you found our staff on site very helpful and friendly –before, and above all after your misadventure! We have forwarded you comments to our Chef de Village on site who will, we are sure, be very pleased to see that his team's efforts to make our GMs' holiday most enjoyable are truly appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts!

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We travelled as a group of six (three couples) in the last week of March 2012 and had an absolutely incredible holiday. This was thanks in large part to the superb location and amenities offered by CM, notably the efficient ski hire service and delicious food presented daily. I completely agree with the previous review regarding the positives about this CM (having also travelled with CM before) but could not disagree more with the comments about the attitudes of the GO's. Our tour party found them to be incredibly attentive and helpful, with perhaps the exception of a few of them where the language barrier seemed to be more of an issue. Every one of our queries were handled efficiently and I was particularly impressed to have a number of them seek us out on our final day to say goodbye.

In summary, this is a truly remarkable CM which I would happily recommend to anyone who is looking for a skiing holiday to remember. Congratulations to Eric, and his team, on a job well done.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have been to Tignes/Val d Isere many times but this was my best skiing trip ever, superb conditions, charming but elegant Club Village and the slopes are out of this world. Had the best ski week ever, did nearly all the slopes and off piste skiing there is in Val d'Isere and went over to the Grand Motte several Times. La Vallee Perdu, Col Pers, Col de l'Iseran, you name it we did it with a charming ski guide from the Ecole de Ski Francaise named Serge, could not have been more professional and polite.

The village is first class, though the food offer could have been a bit more select, particularly the bar food served was a bit meagre, but then the free drinks at the bar and at the restaurant and the totally delightful staff of the club more than made up for the smallish rooms and the fact that the club is a little at the edge of the village.

Can't wait to go back, have the post holiday blues already.

Room Tip: Go there if you really like skiing and a delightful, sportive crowd. Speaking a French helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Val d'Isere, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you very much for writing this great review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Val d’Isère Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see that you and your partner had such a good time and that you enjoyed skiing all day in the fantastic Espace Killy ski domain, with the great advices of your professional ski instructor!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

we stayed at this club on the week of March 18-25 for the first time, the hotel is very nice and the skiing possibilities are wonderful.The skiroom is spacous and comfortable. Please note that you can ask at the reception at any morning to have lunch at the Club Med at Tigne Val Claret (No extra charge), and this enables a longer day of skiing . As for the restaurants, the main restaurant is a bit overcrowded, but the food is good and the service is excellent. If you want you can order dinner at the more exclusive restaurant Le chalet du charvait. and enjoy a classier dinner. with local specialties. We had Salmon tartae and assortment of meats on a hot stone + delicious desserts. The lobby is spacious and is divided to many cosy sitting areas/ In addition the GO's were super nice especially at the reception. and the chef du village was "present everywhere at the same time",always ready to help and to solve any problem that may arise. The big surprise was the level of the evening shows, that unlike the conventional club style performances, this time it was really worth watching.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The resort overall is well presented and comfortable. As far as somewhere to stay goes, this CM is excellent. The location is good, with a short walk and bus ride into the centre of town. The facilities for skiing gear and the organisation of lessons are all excellent. The rooms are small but comfortable with good storage areas for boots and drying gear. The food is varied and tasty and unless you are particularly fond of Savoyard food, I would steer clear of the restaurant and stick with the buffet.

There were a couple of issues with this CM. The bus ride to the village from the airport was comical with one bus leaving a group of guests behind and a pit stop on the way that served expensive, tasteless food in a venue that no doubt featured pole dancing in the evening. The bus ride back to the airport wasn't much better with lost luggage and vague GOs slowing down the departure.

We have stayed at several Club Meds and you get used to the GOs and what they add to a village. Usually they are friendly, keen to help and pretty efficient. At this village, the GOS (with the exception of a few) were a disgrace. They were more interested in talking to each other in the reception than helping the guests out and would continue to chat away in French while "serving" guests. They all croweded around the bar in the evening in small groups which meant guests struggled to get to the bar. They were also pushy and I felt like they were there purely for their own amusement. In one incident a GO all but pushed us out of a lift because it meant it she would have to stop an extra floor. In another, a long line of guests were queuing for pizza (which was excellent) and two GOs just pushed straight to the front of the line. Small, trivial things but completely unacceptable when you're paying the premium for CM. I also didn't understand the dancing and costumes in the morning - seemed out of context and purely for the entertainment of the GOs rather than the GMs. This is all strange because the Chief Eric, was an amazing guy. He seemed to be everywhere all the time and personally carried my skis onto the snow for three mornings. He may be trying to do too much and needs to start delegating to his lazy team.

Another issue was with the cleaner who continually left our door unlocked and also left the balcony door open one day. We complained twice to the GOs but clearly our complaints weren't heard.

I have mixed feelings about this resort. All in all, we had a GREAT time. We met fabulous people and the ski lessons and ski organisation were all excellent. Eric, the chief is doing a great job but unfortunately his team is letting him down. We love CM and all it usually offers but this time, the GOs attitude was so poor it did affect things. If Eric could get the right team around him, this would be one of the best CMs around.

Would I go back? Absolutely. If you've never been to CM before, you probably wouldn't even notice the poor performance of the GOs so I would recommend this resort. Ultimately at CM Val d'Isere you're there ski and the facilities to do this are excellent.

Room Tip: Away from the bar/theatre - it gets loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Val d'Isere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Val d'Isere

Address: Rue d'Leglise, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Val d'Isere 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned worldwide, this Savoyard resort has attracted champions for years. Val d'Isere has always inspired adventures on a peerless ski domain. The Village's vast terrace unfurls at the foot of the slopes for gentle siestas in the sun. Its wood and stone facade merges into the preserved decor of the resort's traditional chalets. Within these walls, clad in warm colours and fine materials, the sophisticated service and elegant living spaces make your stay truly exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Val d'Isere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Val d`Isere - La Legettaz Hotel
Val D'isère Club Med
Club Med Val d Isère
Club Med Val D'Isere France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Val d'Isere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.