We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Excellent Service in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Kern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel le Kern to your Saves list
Hotel le Kern
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Frederic Petri, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Val d'Isere
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Truly Excellent Service in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed here at the end of the 2014 ski season and what really came across was just how excellent the service was; the lady who is on reception and seems to generally look after the hotel was exceptionally helpful through out my stay. The hotel is some what basic the ski room is simple with no heated boot rack but it's located near the main door and very accessible. The rooms themselves are basic but perfectly acceptable for what they are. Location wise it's about 3 minutes to the mains lifts and less that 20m to the main street in Val. So in summary:

Rooms: Basic, functional, very comfortable
Service and Staff: Excellent, willing to go the extra mile to be helpful
Breakfast: a good if limited selection of meat, bread and cereal. Fresh coffee and juice
Location: Perfect
Value: I forgot to mention this earlier but for Val, excellent value

Would I stay again: I will

I stayed on my own whilst doing a course but I would have happily stayed here with my wife.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    22
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed 6 nights and felt totally at home in this delightful hotel. Pascale and Dani were superb hosts and truly made us most welcome. The hotel is small which adds to the charm. The rooms are clean and comfortable; breakfast is most enjoyable; and the runs are less than 3 minutes walk.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Le Kern in March 2014. The place has a perfect location: steps to the lifts and not facing the Main Street with its noise. Very good breakfast: all is fresh and tasty. Staff is fantastic and very helpful. Rooms are small, very clean.it's a perfect bed and breakfast in the village. We'll definitely come back as we like to ski in Val D'Isere.

Room Tip: I think all are good as they are facing a small quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a great place to stay in Val d'Isere! We were looking for somewhere for a short stay and couldn't find anywhere that didn't have a minimum 7 night stay, except for Le Kern. Only a 2* hotel, but the TA reviews were great so we took a chance. Great choice. It's not the height of luxury, but the staff were lovely, rooms were small but very clean and the beds were very comfortable. And breakfast was nice too.
Great location too, right in the centre of town, close to restaurants and ski lifts. Ski bus stop very close too. We rented skis from the shop in the Hotel Avenue Lodge next door which was very convenient.
Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This really is a hidden gem in the heart of Val d'isere and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.Just off the Main Street it is a short walk to the slopes ,opposite the bus stop and near to all the bars and restaurants.It is nestled amongst the 4 and 5 stars hotels in the resort and would be easy to walk past if you didn't know it was there.We were immediately impressed by the fresh flowers in reception and the warm and friendly welcome by Pascale , the manageress who is very efficient and immediately puts you at your ease. Indeed all the staff were helpful and accommodating.The breakfast was plentiful and variable with lots of fresh fruit/ breads/cold meats/cheese and cereals. There is a small pleasant bar area where you can relax enjoy a drink after skiing or before dinner. Rooms are small but clean and well appointed in traditional Savoyarde style. We had a very enjoyable stay at Le Kern- indeed we struggled to understand it only has a 2 star rating and we will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Dani was great and I love the hotel. Friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. All that and an easy walk to the lifts. I booked a single room last minute and was very happy with the rate as well. She advised upon arrival that the two smaller lifts were free after 3pm. I was able to get in a few laps that I had not expected. Local information was great.

Room Tip: Choose first floor as there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had five fabulous days at Le Kern visiting our children who are doing a ski season. Excellent position, clean, comfy room and great breakfast. Pascale could not have been kinder and suggested some excellent restaurants. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Kern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Kern

Address: Place Frederic Petri, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Kern 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and charming hotel 2 stars: best location in the center of Val d'Isere , 2 minutes from the slopes, breakfast buffet include in the price of the room, cozy sitting room and bar after ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel le Kern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Kern France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Kern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.