We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab ski weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Kern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel le Kern to your Saves list
Hotel le Kern
Place Frederic Petri, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Val d'Isere
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another fab ski weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have been staying at Le Kern every year for the past 5 years at this time of year - it's a great destination for some pre-xmas skiing - this is the perfect place to stay for a ski weekend - Pascale the owner is lovely and really looks after you - it is beginning to feel like our second home in France now we have stayed so often. The hotel is situated right in the centre - really close to the pistes/bars/restaurants which is just what you want. The hotel is really cosy and the rooms nice, clean and tidy. We have stayed in other big hotels in Val D'Isere but we keep coming back to this one as it is so perfectly located and so reasonably priced. Can't wait for the next ski trip back to Val D'Isere - Thanks to all at Le Kern for a great stay - hope to see you next year (unless baby number 2 is on the way!!!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Le Kern, located right in the heart of Val d'Isere. We have stayed here before, and LOVE the breakfast - it is fantastic. The hotel manager Pascale is excellent - she is very nice, knows the best places to eat, and is always a pleasure to see and chat to after a day on the slopes. Can't fault this place. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed over Easter, the hotel is centrally located with easy access to the slopes, staff were excellent, two minor gripes: the radiator in our room was not up to it so a plug in electric one was supplied, the breakfast was the same each morning and could have done with some variation - apart from this we would go back and would encourage you to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are stayed in the hotel for 5 days. It is exactly what we expected based on the very good reviews here.
Room- number 8, small, as expected but exactly what we need. Very clean, nice bathroom, comfortable bed.
Breakfast was very good.
Pascale and Dany were there all the time and made us feel at home.

If you look for or need luxury, don't go there!

I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to spend 4 nights at Hotel Le Kern at the end of March 2013. The hotel is primely located, easy walk to both ends of town for all the bars/restaurants and it connects to a short driveway leading up into the lift area for Val d. My friend and I had a 2 bd room with our own bathroom and it worked very well. Room was clean, and kept clean. The staff was helpful with recommendations and an afternoon coffee. Breakfast was buffet style, and included pastries, fresh coffee, hard boiled eggs, sliced meats, fruit, cereal and yogurt; basically perfect fuel for a long day out and about.

I'm happy to have found Le Kern and look forward to staying there as soon as I can get back to the wonders of Val d'Isere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vouliagmeni
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is a family style Hotel. I stayed there 2-9 March 2013 with my husband. The hotel is centrally located close to the ski pistes, ski rentals (just opposite the hotel with special discount at Le kern clients), bars and restaurants. The hotel is very cute, very clean, very nice breakfast with high quality delicatessen, fresh variety of bread and croissants. etc. The best mattress I ever slept! The lounge is very warm furnished with antique furniture and has WI FI. The staff is very polite. Pascale at the reception is amazing and the Portuguese lady serving the breakfast is very friendly and willing. You feel like home! I highly recommend this hotel to those that like small, family style and cute hotels.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor, in a small, cute room with mountain vew from the window. It was my choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Isere, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I can highly recommend this family style hotel. It’s small and comfy, the hotel living room is very cosy and we spent our evenings there after having had dinner out. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and service minded. We were on the second floor, room facing the street outside and we heard no sounds neither from the street nor from other hotel guests. Some of us especially enjoyed the breakfast, which offered plain yogurt, unsweetened whole wheat bread, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, brie cheese, prosciutto type ham, hot milk with the coffee… on top of the ordinary sweet breakfast stuff. We had to leave for the airport at five in the morning and they had a small breakfast with coffee arranged for us before we left. It’s centrally located with many restaurants just a few steps away – I recommend you to pay a visit to “the Lodge”, a cosy and reasonably priced restaurant very near the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Kern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Kern

Address: Place Frederic Petri, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and charming hotel 2 stars: best location in the center of Val d'Isere , 2 minutes from the slopes, breakfast buffet include in the price of the room, cozy sitting room and bar after ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel le Kern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Kern France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Kern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.