We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and world class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Galise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel la Galise to your Saves list
Hotel la Galise
Rue de la Poste, BP 3, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Lonon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing location and world class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed here on a weekend ski break, booked last minute and they were very happy to provide a stay for a weekend only - which is quite rare in Val D'Isere.

Firstly, I was astounded by how good the location was. Although Val D'Isere is never cheap, this place was reasonably priced - so I was surprised it bang in the centre of the village and just 200 yards from the lifts. You could ski to about 50 metres from the front door.

The other best thing about this hotel was the service. The couple who run it couldn't have been more helpful, were very attentive, and just really friendly. This really makes a difference.

Wifi is available for 1 Euro for 23 hours.

There is no lift, so if you're on the third of fourth floor you might not like climbing the stairs.

Breakfast was excellent - continental buffet of a very good standard.

The bathroom was clean and modern. It had a hand-help shower in a bath, which wasn't as good as having a normal shower. There are showers downstairs, that you can use after you've checked out on the last day.

The hotel has a very good bar downstairs - 5 Euros for a beer - that is lively without being wild. But you've got dozens of options for nightlife and restaurants all on your doorstep anyway. There is also a small food takeaway downstairs - which I heard very favourable reports on from locals - the curry and burger are meant to be amazing, as the places has a very well respected local top chef running it.

You get 20% off at the hire shop across the road - which actually works out cheaper than booking online either directly or via Skiset in advance.

In short, a great place to stay - and several locals commented they advised visiting friends to stay there.

In one of the worlds top top ski resorts - Val D'Isere is top three ranking - and I will definitely return. You can get a return bus from Lyon airport for €90 - which departs several times a day including late evening - book via Altibus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed with my wife and dog a couple days at La Galise. Where we had a very nice stay
in this well managed family owned hotel ideally situated in the heart of Val d'Isere, very close to the main ski lifts.
For being a two star hotel it is very nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast buffet
is generous and fresh and the staff is very helpful.
Though, We found the beds and pillows a little to hard we would absolutely recommend
La Galise to our friends

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This is a basic three star hotel with ok breakfast. The basement pub does not have a pleasant smell but is quite fun if you wnat to play pool with your family. Here you also can meet (or see) the locals. The location of the hotel is excellent, close to the lifts and all the nightlife. The hotel is clean and the management and personnel is pleasant. We would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We had a five night stay in this perfectly positioned hotel. Very nice en suite rooms, good boot and ski room with lockers, lively bar but bedrooms very quiet. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Great breakfasts and small food bar if you don't want to go out for a big meal. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We booked to stay in resort close to pre-booked holiday party. The location is ideal as you can ski to the door most days and only short walk to/from cable car if no snow at low level.
The accomodation is clean & fuctional, with 3/4 bath c/w shower in rooms 20 & 27 we used. Separate WC without wash basin.
Flat screen TV & some BBC/english speaking channels.
breakfast was usual continental help yourself but allways plenty of fresh breads,fruit, meat & cheese. With tea's, coffee, hot chocolate & cold fruit drinks.
The staff were helpfull & polite. Acting quickly to change light bulbs which were not working & suppling heater to room 27 as radiator was faulty.
Boot room was a bit smelly from the hotel drains but it was always warm & dry . French alpine towns were never built with modern plumbing in mind!!!
We could hear the church bells each morning from 08:00 & if you want long lie may be better to get north facing room.
Alexandra Bar is basic & adjacent Tapas joint will give value snacks/fast food.
In Val 'Isere nothing is cheap so this gives very good value for location, remember your here for the SKIING not the 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed with my family at this hotel for a skiing holday in the february half term. The rooms are clean and tidy and there are some English Channels on the TV, particularly good, is the True Movies channel! The ski hire & slopes are close by. The continental breakfast is great with fresh rolls, ham,cheese, fruit salad & boiled eggs. There is a heated bootroom. The alexandra bar underneath the hotel is great for apres ski and the snack bar does delicious burgers & wraps. The owners Alexandra & Thibaut are always around and seem very hands on. In conclusion a great hotel, close to all amenities, with friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I did stay at La Galise twice, once in March 2002 and for the secons time in March 2008.
The price/quality ratio of this establishment and its proximity to main lifts is unmatched.
La Galise is a family hotel. The staff are great and very friendly.
I would definitely recommend this place for couples and solo travelers.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Galise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Galise

Address: Rue de la Poste, BP 3, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 30 years experience, we would be pleased to welcome you in a convivial environment in the heart of the resort. We offer you 30 cozy rooms,a house bar with 3 pool tables and a gourmet snack, all devoted to your well being. Located nearby the slopes ( 100m from the lifts) and all commodities ( shops, tourism office, ski schools...), we will do our best to ensure you enjoy relaxing and memorable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel la Galise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Galise Hotel
Hotel La Galise France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Galise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.