We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Foret

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Foret
Save
You added La Foret to your Saves list
La Balme, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lovely week at La Foret. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Rooms comfortable and clean, very warm! Food for adults superb, a bit of a challenge for the kids but the staff couldn't have tried harder to feed them and encourage them to try new things. The ski hire and tech support was outstanding, all niggles sorted. Thanks for a great week!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just stayed there for a week and I must say I absolutely loved it. Staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Rooms were basic but always kept clean and very comfortable. I cannot lavish enough praise on the food we were served for the week. Breakfast was buffet style and certainly hit the spot after a few too many glasses of the tasty house red the night before!!! Evening meal was incredible every day without fail and was always served with a side order of a smile!
The spa is overly expensive for such simple outdated facilities and the pillows were a tad lumpy but all in all I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.
Will be booking for my wife Diane and I for 2015 very soon!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I travelled to this hotel for a week in Feb with a group of 7 friends in total. I have to say I find it very hard to fault any aspect of the accommodation;

Hotel rooms were very comfortable and spacious.
Staff were excellent, attentive and friendly, always with a smile, especially Helena the manager.
Food every night was a big surprise as I wasn't expecting such quality dining. Our plates were always empty and our bellys full!
The breakfast was also excellent with a great buffet selection and served as a perfect start to the day.
I thought the bar was a bit dead most of the time but they do quality cocktails!
The ski hire was one of the best aspects as it was so seamless and convenient. It took 5mins to get set up and very short walk to the main ski lifts.
We also tried out the spa & "wellness area" which was perfect for rejuvenating after a tough day on the blacks, but wasn't cheap at €9 per hour per person.

If I had to fault this hotel it would be the quality of the pillows which I found very uncomfortable, but this wasn't echoed by the rest of the group.

All in all a great trip to Val d'isere made all the more enjoyable by our wonderful accommodation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for 1 week when skiing in Val d'Isere. The hotel is basic but very good value. It may be a bit tired in places but the rooms were warm and comfortable with a good bathroom. Issue with luke warm shower later in the evening. The staff are absolutely brilliant. Very friendly and can't do enough for you. We were a family of 6 with 3 rooms and they were all together without requesting. The real delight was the food. We had read it was good before we went and we were absolutely delighted with the quality and range of food. Breakfast was buffet style and evening meal was served by great staff. The evening meals were excellent and could be easily classed as fine dining. A special mention to Helena the manager of the hotel. She is an absolute star and leads her team to deliver great service. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by a bit of noise, avoid the first floor rooms above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is a little gem. The staff are all Swedish and really friendly and helpful. The food is the best part about this hotel and I would rate the food and restaurant 5 star. The presentation was excellent and the staff could not help enough. Different food every night and really good. We went with crystal ski and has really enjoyable holiday. Val d'Isere is a really expensive resort but this hotel with the half board makes it easy and inexpensive. It's a very good location about 5 min walk to the slopes and very close to the nightlife. They also have a nice bar and a good bar next door. The rooms are a little small but in my experience this is normal in ski resorts and your only in the rooms a short time. We were a group of 12 and were seated together for dinner every night which was good fun. The breakfast was really good and you could eat enough to keep you going for the day if you wanted. In past reviews people go on about a smell which is nonsense, you get a little when you go in the door but this is chlorine from the steam room shower area and is gone one you go upstairs . If you want a quiet week with no crack this is not the place to be, it can be noisy at night with people coming and going and on the beer. Hope this helps people. I would highly recommend

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Christmas with partner and daughter.
Great staff and great food. Rooms small and basic, we had a mez floor with 2 additional beds. Great for kids, but low ceiling height. We needed the extra bed to put our things on, as the storage is limited.
Nice bar and dining area.
5 mins from ski lifts.
Ski lockers, but no boot dryers.
Could do with a refresh in rooms and say boot dryers, but quality of service and food makes up for the weaknesses.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in the hotel last week and have to say it is a difficult one to review.
The good points: the food is really good, the staff are very friendly and professional, the free Wifi in the bar and reception is a plus, the rooms are small but functional. Our waitress Siri and the bar man looked after the group.
The bad points are: we had a room looking out towards the back of the hotel which housed noisy students who would keep us awake all night, the ski hire service in the hotel is only average as the skis they had are dated.
The location is ok considering the size of Val d'Isere (5 min walk to ski lift)
The entertainment and days out the hotel provided were great. The band and movie quiz were brilliant.
So the review is difficult as the noisy neighbors and poor ski choice was not the hotels fault.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foret

Address: La Balme, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langley Hotel La Forêt is located in the heart of Val d'Isère with walking distance to the ski lifts and approximately a five minute walk to the city center.A simple and cosy hotel with a restaurant a bar to relax after your ski days. It also has a sauna and jacuzzi available for an extra charge and its own in house ski rental. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foret Hotel Val d Isère
La Foret France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Foret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.