We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and fantastic value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champs Avalins Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Champs Avalins Hotel
Save
You added Champs Avalins Hotel to your Saves list
La Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Val d'Isere
London
1 review
“Friendly and fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

A group of 4 of my girlfriends stayed in the Champs Avalins in the third week of March 2009. We had a fantastic time - looked forward to every meal, there was a good selection of vegetarian and meat options for dinner and the generous breakfasts and afternoon tea meant that we often went without lunch. The staff were friendly and approachable - always ready for a chat and even walked us home and made us cheese on toast after a particularly late night in town when we missed the bus!
La Daille is a great place to be - Verte is the only green that you can ski down from in Val D'Isere and with the main blues back into Val D'Isere often closed there are massive queues to get the bus back to Val D'Isere about 5pm every evening. We felt very smug watching them whilst drinking tea.
You need to get a bus to town but these are every 5 mins during the day and every 30 mins until 2.30 am. After that it's a taxi or an easy 20 mins walk.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to families as there is a no children policy in the restaurant after 5pm.
All in all a fantastic holiday and we would definately come back.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We had a great time in this hotel, the staff were excellent, Food Brill and the wine very good.
The hotel is clean and in a fab location for Skiing in Val D'isere.
The only negatives are a very small boot room and could do with a bigger bar area.
Would go back again for sure.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The staff at this chalet hotel went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They were all friendly and welcoming and happy to share their knowledge of the area and facilities no matter how busy they were. The food was excellent and plentiful. We didn't really need to eat in the middle of the day as afternoon tea was served from 4.00 pm. This was just as well as the prices in the resort and on the mountain were horrendous! The rooms were fairly basic but they were clean and the beds were comfortable. They were warm and there was plenty of hot water. Really on a skiing holiday that's all you need. We were very lucky to have such a huge fall of snow on our first day there which made the skiing fantastic for the rest of the week. The hotel is very close to the slopes in La Daille and we found it was a better position to access the ski area than the center of Val D'Isere. We had a great week and would recommend the hotel to our friends with no reservations.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Ok so its not the ritz. But this is France not Switzerland. i've stayed in better accommodation but not had better food or wine. The staff are young kids but they did a brilliant job, especially the chef. The canopes were fine, the bar area where you have them seats about 40-50 people, there are two sittings for evening meal because the restaurant seats about 45, which gives you the option of either a 6.30 sitting or an 8.30 allowing you to sample the apres in Val D'Isere which is a 10 min bus ride away. The bus stop is a 2 min walk from the hotel, and the buses are about every 10 mins. The breakfast is a cold buffet of croissants, cereals, yoghurt's, gammon and cheeses and also a hot choice of porridge, eggs, etc. When we returned after skiing there was always plenty of cake and endless tea & coffee. The 4 course evening meals were excellant far better than some 4 star chalets I have stayed in. Overall the food was fantastic. The rooms are a little cramped and basic but they are clean and there was always hot water. The boot rooms are very small but you can't have everything especially at the reasonable price Ski Total charge.
Ski Total could have made more of an effort to make the place more xmassy with some decorations in the restaurant, but overall the Champs Avalins Hotel is fine for people that don't expect 5star for 3 Star prices. The basics you want in a hotel ie clean rooms, hot water, good food and staff are all there. When we asked for something ie extra towels we got them. The only thing we didn't get was a light bulb on our landing. I've stayed in 2 star to 5 star and I would say this is about right for a 3 star in France. I would return, especially with my mates. You wouldn't spoil a girlfriend or wife there. But if you are there for the great skiing then its fine. The lifts are a short walk away and we skiied practically back to the boot room.
Val D'Isere itself was very expensive with lift passes for the whole area at £200 each, ski & boot hire at £165 and this wasn't for the best VIP equipment. Food and drinks were extortionate £6 a pint £4 coffee, soup £7 burgers and pizzas £10-15 so bring plenty of spending money, you'll need it. Clothes and equipment was on average 40-50% more expensive than at home.
The French are finally killing the golden goose! Austria and Italy now look far more appealing for next year.

  • Liked — The food and location.
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit small and basic.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champs Avalins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champs Avalins Hotel

Address: La Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In common with the rest of Val d’Isère’s La Daille area, the hotel might not win any awards for the cutest or prettiest exterior in the Alps, but as with all properties, it is the location that really counts! And that’s where the Champs Avalins really scores. You can ski back to within just 50m of the hotel, and each morning you have a choice of lifts right on hand to whisk you up the mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Champs Avalins
Champs Avalins Hotel France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champs Avalins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.