We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what is says on the tin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets

Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets to your Saves list
Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route de la Balme, Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Val d'Isere B&B and Inns
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does what is says on the tin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in the Verdets annexe of the complex. I booked through Thompson Ski and was under no illusion that this property was not a hotel but basic self catering accomodation. This was a budget holiday to one of the best ski areas in the world so I was not expecting the Ritz. Yes the appartment is cramped (and there were 4 of us) and lack of storage space for clothes and bags was an issue but the appartment was clean , warm and well situated for the slopes / free bus. The kitchen was adequate and even had a dishwasher! There was a decent bathroom and seperate toilet. My one complaint would be the Reception opening times (or lack there of) and the fact that on arrival we stood in a line with only 4 parties in front of us but still had to wait 90 mins before we got to the front of the queue. There was only one receptionist on duty who took between 20-30 minutes booking in each party. She was however very friendly and polite and spoke good English.
I did not read the reviews on this site until after I came home and am glad that I didn't as it would have dampened my enthusiasm for the trip. At the end of the day the 4 of us were there to ski on a budget and the property seemed fit for purpose. After all , it's the fantastic ski-ing and apres ski we were there for , not to sit in a hotel room all week!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

C'est avec plaisir que nous découvrons que vous avez passé un agréable séjour au sein de notre résidence.
En effet, les appartements sont bien agencés et très bien équipés.
Nous ne manquerons pas de féliciter notre personnel.

A bientôt!
L'Equipe Odalys Vacances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here last week, it was terrible booked via ski direct. I have stayed in 'shoeboxes' before but this was the worst. The rooms were very dull. The lights in the hall way were not working. We had to guess which room was ours at night! The pathway to and from the apartment to the main road was very icy. With my little sister falling over a few times and coming out with a few bruises. I did complain to the receptionist, but didn't get much response. Another day an icicle fell from the roof and cut my finger. Again I complained and asked to speak to the manager but the receptionist said he was away. I asked for him to come see me or call me, but the next day the receptionists excuse was his English was not very good. Didn't get much help from reception. Never got to speak to manager. And the ice on the pathway just got worse as the week went bye.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

C'est avec grand regret que nous lisons votre avis.
Nous ne manquerons pas d'informer le responsable de la résidence.

Cordialement,
L'Equipe Odalys Vacances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked a room in this place thru a website from a private owner. I should have become suspicious when they only accepted a bank transfer and cash, but unfortunately I threw my considerations to the wind.
It began with the fact that I had to call the owner to find out whether he had received my bank transfer deposit. I didn't even receive a confirmation email or anything and had to do some detective work to find out the address. When we arrived, we had to ask 3 people and when we finally found the place, we couldn't get inside because we didn't know the entry code. Some customer service!
The whole building smells bad. We stayed in a unit meant for 4, but even for the two of us there was no space at all. The room smelled, the bed was disgusting and smelly, separate toilet and rest of bathroom, no towels or bed linen. We had to sleep under duvets with no covers! The room was dirty and there was hair that was neither mine nor my boyfriend's everywhere. The crazy thing is that it wasn't even cheap and we could have stayed in a much better place for the same amount!
I cried for four days and had a nervous breakdown after which we decided to leave. The owner was so arrogant to say that the shabbiness was 'designer' as if to imply I was an ignoramus who knew nothing of design. I've stayed at W hotels the world over, so I know what quality is. Nobody expects the Bourj in Val d'Isere, but I do expect a place to adhere to basic hygiene levels and have adequate bedding.
Please avoid this place, the owners ar clearly having a laugh at their guests' expense. I found this experience nothing but utterly humiliating and want to rid my memory of it.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, you'll deeply regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tideswell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here as a coach driver bringing a party of students on a ski holiday, the good bit is the location, close to lifts and free bus service. That is where the good ends, we stayed in a four person appartment, there was hardley room for two of us, no where to hang or store clothes or dry them for that matter, the shower head was not fastened to the wall, one set of curtains was not fixed to the wall, we repaired them. The kitchen was tiny and only room for one person at a time to prepair food. We had bunk beds one single bed and the sofa turned into a single bed, so no double bed at all. I am really pleased I did not pay for this, Dont bring your family here.
Just a quick mention about Val d' isere, the ski area;s are fantastic plenty of slopes for all abilities, the town is beautilful with plenty of shops resturants and bars, the only drawback, is it is bloody expensive.

Room Tip: Dont go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Sub standard accommodation. Furthermore after a 5.55am pick-up I was charged 55euro's on my debit card card a 'so called' cleaning charge. The apartment was cleaner when I left than we I arrived!! Crystal ski don't want to know about my complaint and I am now nervous that this hotel have my card details and seem to have no issues with stealing from me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Spent a week in this 'hotel '( hostel). Baring in mind that I'm 18 and was expecting a budget holiday before I left i browsed through these reviews and went in with a positive mindset but i hate to admit it everyone who is reviewing is pretty accurate. First of all on arrival you are provided with linen , this is to be expected so I wasn't too bothered about this but then getting into my room with just thin blankets which i don't think have been washed , throughout the week i found myself pulling out very long hairs from this blanket which were clearly not mine. Also on arrival you are giving a cleaning list , when you leave the room you are expected to take the role of the cleaner and do tasks such as scrub the hotplates , sweep and mop the floor etc... which is frankly terrible , especially after paying £70 a night to stay there. As i was at this hotel for a ski holiday which means that I was going in and out 4 times on average every day and spending a week there the reception was open 3 times that i had saw throughout the duration of my stay . I could carry on and moan about other things like the hotel often smelling of weed but i will leave it at that and just generally say that you would be better off spending a extra hundred buck and going elsewhere . Don't worry though val d'isere is an amazing ski holiday and i'd recommend it to anyone :)

Room Tip: don't bother with this place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets

Address: Route de la Balme, Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Les Verdets Hotel
Residence Les Jardins De Val Et Les Verdets France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Les Jardins de Val et Les Verdets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.