We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Le Val d'Isere

Save Saved
You added Chalet Hotel Le Val d'Isere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel Le Val d'Isere
Val d'Isere, Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 hotels in Val d'Isere
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at here, about 3 years ago, and decided to book again this year. Luckily, this was before I'd read the reviews from last year! I'm pleased to say, we experienced a thoroughly enjoyable week.
I was pleasantly surprised with our room, which had a cosy colour scheme, fresh white sheets and fluffy towels(changed mid-week) and a good view of the mountains, even though it was at the back of the hotel. The bathroom was modern/ stylish, with both shower and bath. However, I do agree, the standard of daily room cleaning should be more thorough, with surfaces dusted and, in particular all parts of the bathroom surfaces, efficiently, wiped with an antibacterial cleaner.
The breakfast buffet had a good variety of hot and cold options and good to have a 3 choices for each course and wines at evening meal. The morning muesli was disappointment, as it was a combination of all the other cereals mixed together, and tasted of nothing. However, we thoroughly enjoyed all our evening choices. The staff at mealtimes were always pleasant, friendly and willing to help In any way they could.
The bar and lounge had a relaxing and cosy atmosphere, enhanced by the comfy leather sofas, which looked new.
The wooden doors to the bedrooms showed signs of scratches and bumps, but
The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of Val d'Isere, a bus stop 30 metres away, if you'd rather not walk the 5-10 mins to the nearest lift.
We did have a slight reduction for booking late, but, taking into account the general prices in Val d'Isere, we think this hotel, at the moment gives good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    21
    19
    16
See reviews for
46
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I do not know how this chalet hotel has a 3-star rating, compared to other properties we've stayed at in the area, unless the rating is based solely on proximity to the village centre. The rooms are tired, and in desperate need of major refurbishment, as are the public areas. All furniture was chipped or scratched. Our family room was so small that the doors to the bathroom and WC opened outwards into the hallway next to the wardrobe and entry door. This of course meant that if you were exiting one of these rooms and there was someone else standing at the wardrobe, this person would get hit in the back. Or, you couldn't open the front door at the same time as accessing the wardrobe, and don't event think about having more than one person in the hallway.
Very little storage in main bedroom - we ended up having to hang our ski gear on the backs of chairs and door handles as there were no hooks. There was no storage (except on the floor) in the children's bedroom annexed to the main bedroom.
The bathroom was tiny - there was not enough space on the vanity to store anything except our toothbrushes. Forget being able to leave brushes, combs, or toiletries out. These had to be packed away into our toiletries bags each time we'd finished using them.
The heating was unreliable and inconsistent.
I can understand why so many people get sick at this hotel (4 out of our group of 8 got a virus, and lost days of skiing): there are no food covers on the breakfast buffet to reduce spreading of germs from people coughing and sneezing over the food platters. There were hardly any tongs: people picked up and put down fruits, breads and pastries with their hands. On the changeover day, the supposedly clean sheets and towels for the incoming guests were dumped onto the carpets in the hallways and outside rooms.
And having to remember three security codes to gain entry in the hotel and ski locker room was a nuisance - why not a swipe card system, or at least just two numbers - one for the building and one for the ski locker room.
Ski locker room was a joke - the lockers are so small there is only room for the skis and poles, meaning that boots and helmets needed to be taken up to the room where space was already a premium.
Sauna was 10e per person per visit.
All of that said, the staff (students on gap years) were friendly and smiley. And we ended up having a good time in Val d'Isere, but that was because of the skiing and we were with friends, not because of this chalet hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Sounds like nothing has changed.

3 of us stayed here in Feb 2013 all of 3 of us finished up in the medical centre with the dreaded norovirus. We had anti-vomiting injections and about 100 Euros of narcotics. It took several months to fully recover.

My sense was that no one really gave a stuff. We couldn't even get the room cleaned and the sheets changed since it was staff day off.

It's border line criminal in truth.

Shame because the youngsters who work there are great but there is clearly a massive problem.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After reading some of the reviews I find it hard to believe that we have stayed in the same hotel. Whilst I have stayed in many 5* hotels this still did not disappoint. 1st off I will start with the down sides, yes perhaps our room could be a tad cleaner but no major cause for concern, clean bedding, fresh towels provided during the middle of our stay (but the amazing views of la face and the mountains from our balcony always made up for this), and yes some of the public areas could do with some tlc and updating. But taking this into consideration we were travelling with our 15 month old child and did not want to be anxious about finger prints or ruining precious artwork. This is a ski hotel which is going to have a few scrapes and bumps. On to the good stuff, like I said travelling with a child the mark warner childcare facilities were excellent, our child's nanny (Charlie) did indeed go above and beyond, as did the night time crèche girls, (as an anxious 1st time mum I felt in very very good hands). The waiting and bar staff were fantastic, easy to talk to and nothing was ever too much trouble. In fact that would go to all of the staff, whom we found to be well mannered and full of knowledge. With regards to the sickness issues that have been raised in previous comments, we did not have any issues with this, we found the hygiene of the hotel great, and even at the champagne welcome meeting we were reminded about washing hands before eating and entering the restaurant etc. the location of the hotel was just the best, a short walk to the slopes, with bars, après ski and shops literally on your doorstep. Everything was extremely well organised including the transfers. The food was outstanding, of restaurant quality with plenty of choice on the menu, and the free table wine equally as fab. All in all we had a wonderful stay and will be looking to go back again and book with mark warner, without a shadow of a doubt !

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A revisit to this hotel, and sorely disappointed.

Poorly managed, charming gap year students in need of some leadership. Food v average, rooms dirty with shabby sheets, grubby curtains, stained carpets. Many guests taken ill, so bad that 4 were vomiting on the plane home.

When on our return raised concerns with customer services, was told Mark Warner did not see any issues (head in sand comes to mind). Shame a great holiday concept, but cutting corners and not engaging with customers, an arrogant customer service head will lead to down fall. How can over 20 people be ill in one week, if it is not down to poor hygiene.


Check other reviews before booking

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a Mark Warner hotel so comes with that style of service and staff. Location is good being in centre of town set back from the road. It is not imposing being a part of a larger building, in fact rather oddly converted with the dining room on the top floor accessed by a spiral staircase. But it works well enough and the all important bus stop is outside. The bus service is very good in Val so you don't need to be near the slopes and being on the main street means easy access to bars restaurants etc. later.
Staff are mainly in gap year mode but good - the food has improved over the years and you now have a choice! Wine average. Breakfast OK - some hot items, it was OK the first morning but seemed to tail off. Afternoon tea useful to keep you going until dinner. You can share a table with others or choose to dine with your group.
Rooms OK and the bathrooms have been refurbished to a good standard recently. WC's very small. Have heard of some sickness problems but not when we were there. On the top floor is a swimming pool shared with the adjacent apartments but we didn't use this. Not that inviting - maybe better later in the season. Didn't use the 'spa' either so can't comment on this.
Probably will return it is bigger than a chalet so have the chance to socialise on a wider scale.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed New Year 2014. Tired shoddy rooms, temperature of which was either boiling hot or freezing cold. Cheap bed sheets/thin duvets/thin pillows/mucky cushions. Husband could barely get into the toilet, it was a very tight squeeze. Food barely average - restaurant tired. Carpets stained throughout. Free wine totally undrinkable. Rather pay for a decent local wine. Hairdryer didn't work. Complained about it twice and on third occasion given key to use one in another room. Staff all appeared to be gap year students. It came as no surprise to contract sickness bug and in bed for three days. Reception said a norovirus was raging through the hotel and they were using 'a stronger detergent'. Receptionist kept winking at us every time we asked her something. Our 'guide' on the bus home slept all the way to the airport (3 hours). Val d'Isere is a fantastic place, lively restaurants with great, accessible skiing! Just don't stay at Chalet hotel Val d'Isere.

Room Tip: Room 44 very noisy, very dim, hairdryer not working, extremes of temperature in room. Never saw '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Hotel Le Val d'Isere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Le Val d'Isere

Address: Val d'Isere, Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel Le Val d'Isere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalethotel Val d`Isere Hotel
Chalet Hotel Le Val D'Isere France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Le Val d'Isere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.