We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chalet, perfect location, excellent staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Le Thovex

Chalet Le Thovex
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Le Thovex
Save
You added Chalet Le Thovex to your Saves list
Main Street, Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great chalet, perfect location, excellent staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed one week in this great chalet, perfectly located in Val d'Isere with only a five minute walk to the ski-lifts. The chalet itself is very spacious and in perfect condition. The staff is super friendly and they know what good service should be like, we really enjoyed their cooking! Perfect choice for your holiday.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We have been in a lot of places around the world, on vacations in different gorgeous houses, including Val D’Isere, for much lower price that we paid for this Chalet! In the other situations the Staff was invisible, which is the normal procedure; this time they were on the top of us all the time! They do not have any idea how to run a catered service without ruining the vacation of their guests, who paid a lot of money with the hope to have a beautiful vacations. The cleaning service was awful! The attitude unpleasant! The staff even sit down on our meeting room without being invited. we never have seen nothing like that! In order for the “Hot Tub” work, for two time we were without hot water for the our bath! In the day of the departure the lady from the staff wanted to start to cook early in the morning (around 8am) for the next guests., our schedule to leave was around 11am , until that time it was our space as such we invited them to wait until we leave the chalet. The couple from the staff was not full responsible since they receive orders from the agency and seemed not having any kind of training! In LUXURY houses the Staff has to be TOP! Even their car was parked to close to our door which made was struggling to manage the skies and the children. the smell of food goes everywhere since the walls are very thin.
The WIFI failed the time all!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Stayed at Chalet Le Thovex with 7 friends. The location was amazing - 5 mins from the slopes, all the shops, yummy bakeries, restaurants and bars on our door step. Our hosts Matt and Loreta were awesome, kept the place clean and cooked delicious meals.
Hot tub was super at end of the day and bonus was having a sauna in the home!
Green Rides did a great job organising our ski gear, a little confusing with all the lessons that we booked through them but got there in the end.

Loved the whole experience and would defo go back! Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms on 1st and 2nd floor are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Travelled with 11 friends and had the chalet to ourselves which was ideal. Fantastic location right in the center of Val d'Isere, 5 minutes from the slopes and even closer to the apres ski. Very nicely done chalet with a particular highlight being the log fire in the main room. Chalet hosts Matt and Loretta were very welcoming and the food was amazing all week. The hot tub and sauna were real bonuses and really helped us relax after a hard days skiing. All in all, probably the best chalet experience I have had in the alps and very good value for what you get. Only downside, as mentioned in previous reviews, was the lack of working wifi, but otherwise very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

From the moment we arrived Green Rides made sure we were looked after .. We were picked up and transferred to Chalet Thovex . The Chalet was amazing and in a great location, and Matt and Loretta, our hosts for the week, did an amazing job looking after us . The food was of high standard for the week . The outside hot tub was great after a day of skiing. Thankyou everyone for making our holiday one of the best weeks .. Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I organised our group holiday this year and booked very early. We found a great deal with Greenrides and there was excellent correspondence with Connor. The chalet is located in the heart of Val d'Isere with great access to the slopes. The chalet has all the amenities you could want, but my only criticism is that the wifi was not working and this had been a problem for a few weeks and we saw no attempt to fix it during our stay. However, the food was amazing (especially dinner, but the hot option at breakfast could be varied) and our hosts were particularly excellent. The chalet was in good order, there was always plenty of wood to put on the fire and unlimited wine at dinner. Overall it has been an excellent week, and I would thoroughly recommend this chalet and company to any group. Dr LN

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I stayed with 11 friends at the beginning of January. We had a fantastic week- the food was really impressive and probably the best we have had a catered chalets over our last 5 trips. The chalet itself was very centrally located and had a sauna and outdoor hot tub. We also got on very well with our hosts Matt and Loretta, who were very accommodating. All in all, we had a cracking week.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Le Thovex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Thovex

Address: Main Street, Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT WITH GREEN RIDES SKI Right in the centre of Val d’Isere town, this free standing chalet has 6 en-suite bedrooms over 3 floors and bags of modern charm. Only minutes from shops, bars, restaurants and the chairlifts it allows you to fully experience everything that Val d’Isere has to offer. After a challenging day’s skiing there is nothing better than coming back to this fabulous chalet to enjoy a glass of champagne on the balcony and watch Val d’Isere sparkle as the evening approaches. Rooms and availability 2 x quad rooms (Full on-suite bathroom) 2 x double rooms (Full on-suite bathroom) 2 x twin rooms (Full on-suite bathroom) Local Resources Satellite TV, Nintendo Wii, DVD collection, Large open log fire, Hot tub, Sauna and separate shower area. Central village location Sleeps up to 16 people ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Thovex France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Le Thovex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.