We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ski-in / Ski-out Location in Val d'Isere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Altitude

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Altitude to your Saves list
Hotel Altitude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rte. de la Balme, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best Ski-in / Ski-out Location in Val d'Isere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

If you want to stay at a place that's super convenient to skiing, this is the place to be. In the morning, you put your skis on outside the front door and can ski to either the Solaise lift or the Olympic gondola. At the end of the day, ski back from the slopes, any of the lifts, or the nearby bus stop.

The hotel itself is lovely. Staff is friendly. Lobby is bright and comfortable. The food is excellent. The morning breakfast buffet includes fresh bread, baguettes, croissants, fruit, yogurt, cereals, meats, cheeses, and hard boiled eggs. Dinner is also excellent. There is always a choice of two appetizers (soup or something else), two entrees, and a variety of desserts. You can also make arrangements for fondue or raclette in lieu of the set menu, but you need to make arrangements for this several days in advance.

The walk into town is easy -- just walk across the base of the mountain and in 5 minutes you're near the shops, restaurants, bakeries, etc.

The rooms are comfortable and have plenty of storage space. The bathrooms are bright and have all been renovated within the past 5 years. Beds are comfortable. The rooms with a village view offer great people watching at the end of the day.

My family has been staying at the Altitude every year for almost 20 years and the complaints some reviewers have made are overblown (I most certainly would not compare it to a hostel!!). While we love this hotel, no place is perfect and there are a few things that could use improvement. The rooms are charming, but they could use a fresh coat of paint and some new furniture. There is free wireless internet available, but it only works in the lobby and even then the signal is quite weak.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

So close to the slopes, easy walk into town, although the evening food was so good we hardly bothered to go elsewhere. Very friendly staff, happy to let our children practise their french ! Food was excellent, very French, but children's meal in the evening for the less adventurous. Breakfast very good. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Very clean - L'Occitane in the bathrooms - lovely ! Would defintely recommend and will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We have just returned from a one week stay in Hotel Altitude and felt compelled to write a review as we were so disappointed with our experience.
We wanted to stay somewhere nice over Christmas and thought the bedrooms looked to be of a good standard. Be Warned! We were given a room that does not appear on their website and which was quite frankly a disgrace; very small, with tatty furniture, threadbare carpets, dirty marks running down the walls and rock hard beds. The door wouldnt open as the lock was so old and when we spoke to the owner about it she behaved as if it was our fault and scowled instead of apologising as she moved us to an equally sub standard room next door. Shortly afterwards we received a phonecall from our Inghams rep to say that the owner had said we shouldnt even have that room as we had paid for 2 adults and a child and at 14 our son was considered an adult and therefore we should all be in the bigger more expensive room. As it turned out we had paid for three adults, almost £1000 each and although she accepted this she made no attempt to upgrade us to the room we had clearly paid for. Infact she spent the week avoiding even eye contact with us which was very unprofessional and made us uncomfortable when we hadnt done anything wrong.
There are some things about this hotel that are quite nice such as the lounge area and the bar staff ,the restaurant and the close proximity to the slopes. However the breakfast was very basic and there were several nights when the evening meal was not to our taste( fish soup and veal is one that I can remember) Also now that we have visited Val D'Isere we know that all of the village centre accomodation is very handy to the slopes and we would stay there if we returned. After many different ski holidays I have to say this is the first time our accomodation spoilt our experience and I would never recommend Hotel Altitude to anyone. i would go so far as to say people are being deceived by booking on the basis of what they see on the hotels or Inghams websites.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Recent stay whilst skiing in Val d'Isere. Great location close to the main lifts, also close to the main street and newly opened indoor sports facility. Great staff, eager to please, and excellent food in the restaurant. Rooms clean and tidy, as is the case in all the ski resort hotels, rooms are not large but perfectly adequate with a modern bathroom. All in all a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Hotel Altitude in Val d'Isere is a nice place to stay. Summer prices are much lower than in the winter, so very affordable. We booked b&b for 50 euro's a night (one person). Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was okay, rooms were clean. Nice terrace with a view to the mountains. Swimming pool looked inviting, though we haven't used it. Prices for drinks at the bar were quite steep (7 euro's for half a liter of beer), but that's not much more expensive than in the restaurants where we had our dinners.

P.S. The hotel is right next to the slopes where the World Championships Alpine Skiing wil be held in 2009.

  • Liked — The great scenery
  • Disliked — Very tiny tv which was placed at the right of the beds.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We were expecting a lot more from this hotel as it was quite expensive. The location is pretty good for lifts and the town, as long as you don't mind crossing the piste (no problem for us).

We had a superiror room which was nicely done but not amazing . I think we were expecting a little more for £200 per night.

The food was actually quite good. That is if you like typical french cuisine. 2 options for starters and 2 for main. The portions were quite small and we were crying out for a bit of veg (we have huge appetites) but there was always the extensive cheese trolley and choice of dessert to fill you up.

The breakfast was not bad either, eggs and the usual continental. The wiating staff were very friendly but obviously under staffed.

The bar area is modern but uninviting, we ventured out for apres ski.

The hotel is definately no frills, but not terrible.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Altitude over Christmas and from the moment we arrived were very disappointed. The location is good for the Olympic and Solaise lifts but the only way to walk into town at night involves running the gauntlet across the piste, past the snow machines and piste bashers. The rooms are small and basic, bathrooms newly refurbished but unfortunately no hot water whatsoever on one occasion. Great after a hard day's skiing! The breakfast was the worst I have seen in a ski hotel and trying to get a cup of coffee in the morning was virtually impossible. The staff were always far more interested in getting the restaurant ready for lunch and clearing up around you. We were half board but ended up eating out every night after 2 meals in the hotel as the cuisine is generally ok but basic. On the whole, we were very disappointed and regretted not booking the same hotel we had stayed in the previous year. This was also three star and exactly the same price but absolutely streets ahead in terms of service, standard of accommodation/food and value for money. I would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it.

  • Liked — Location to ski lifts
  • Disliked — Having to walk across the piste to get to town
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Altitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altitude

Address: Rte. de la Balme, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altitude 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Altitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altitude France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Altitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.