We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gourmandine

La Gourmandine
Rond Point Pistes, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
+33 4 79 41 11 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Val d'Isere
Price range: $20 - $34
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Val d'Isere, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Need a quick bite? Croissants for breakfast? At the bottom of the snowfront next to the book shop if that little place doing take away only but great take away, and all at affordable prices which for Val d'Isère is a big plus! They have sun chairs out so you can enjoy your sandwich soaking up sun. Great location, good quality food. Don't tell too many people ;-)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fab but its essentially a caff?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

They pack you in here a bit too much - I had one numb leg after lunch here recently as the table real wasn't big enough but the food is really really good. Its basically a cafe serving lunches and has a limited menu in the evening. Tartiflette was perfect - how can spuds cooked in cream and cheese be light? Sound burgers, soups, panini and assiette de charcuterie. Opposite Paulos near Snowberry.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Traditional French atmosphere in Val D'isiere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We came across this by chance on our first evening of our second trip to Val. Ordered the raclette for two which was delicious and plentiful. The owner suggested a local wine which was smooth and full of flavour and great value.

The service is attentive without being over the top and they are all genuinely friendly. We really liked it as it was comfortable, cosy and charming.

We were told that they have only just opened for dinner, previously they just offered lunch so when quiet, they will close early. We were the last couple eating but there was no urgency for us to leave. It is an old family establishment and retains that lovely feel.

I have to disagree with one of the feedback comments about it being overpriced etc, as one comes to Val expecting overpriced, perhaps the comment was a way to support other restaurants in the locale by dissing La Gourmandine.

Totally recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good - Not Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had a burger, it is the best burger I have ever had, carefully had assembled from quality ingredients. Some of the party had the raclette. This was really impressive, about three quarters of a wheel of cheese loaded into a grill on the table.

Also good WiFi makes and a nice bar to pop into but closes around 10:00pm

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Do go for Lunch - it was fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My bro in law meets his off piste clients here every morning - but has never had lunch!!! He is crazy this place is wonderfull - very french, lovely service and a really interesting menu - not just spag bol like so many Val restaurants. We did not order the burger however and I have to say it looked amazing. The kids had a tartiflette - yes very good. I had a salad with meat and salad - fabulous. And hubby had a soup in a bread bowl - he really like but as a tip needs breaking up with something else or sharing. Do go here it is really easy to eat at off the sollaise and amazingingly good value.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gourmandine also viewed

Val d'Isere, Savoie
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 

Been to La Gourmandine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gourmandine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.