We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant young capable hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Reuben

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val d'Isere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Reuben
Save
You added Chalet Reuben to your Saves list
Rue du Coin, 73150 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant young capable hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Accommodation cosy but nice...opt for a room with a bath if poss.
Gap year hosts were special and talented. Package good value...inc flights, transfers and good half board and wine. For a family of four budget for almost double cost of package if you need equipment hire, ski passes and lessons. Hire equipment online in advance through Precision Skis (almost half Crystal price). Special thanks to our hosts Michelle, Benjy and Joe who could not have done more to make our stay memorable...wake up tea was an unexpected bonus....only minus is very erratic wifi signal.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just got back from a great trip to Val. Let me start with the downsides of the chalet. The bedrooms are small, but this is made clear on the Crystal website so people can't really complain. Also how many people spend much time in their bedroom (other than to sleep) on a ski holiday. The chalet could also do with a little more security as there are no real locks in the whole building other than the front door. I also found the organisation of the transfers to be a little haphazard. However overall the chalet is good. It is impecably clean. I found the public areas to be nice and perfectly sufficient. The biggest bonus is the staff. Catherine was an excellent rep who tried to ensure that anything that you wanted was achieved. Sophie who is the chalet host was absolutely brilliant. She was bright, bubbly and a fantastic cook. In short I found the service level at the chalet to be first rate. The positioning of the chalet really was excellent. It is about 5 minutes walk (at most) to the lifts. It is very central in the town but just back off the main road and so is quiet. Overall I thought it was a very good base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a well located chalet, but it has a feel of "sell it cheap, stack 'em high". The chalet takes ten people, with five rooms. The rooms are tiny, with a very small bathroom and a tiny wardrobe. With two people sharing there is not enough space to unpack and store suitcases, so you end up keeping everything in your suitcase. It is even hard to walk around the bed without stepping over suitcases. The common areas are also very small, when all ten people are in the chalet for example at meal times, you are sitting on each others laps. We got a very cheap deal, I would have felt very short changed if we had paid full price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'd read a couple of reviews on this chalet before we got there and - after a previous bad experience with Crystal - I was expecting the worst. However, generally I shouldn't have worried.

Bad points first, as everyone is saying here the rooms - expecially the double ones - are a little small. But to be fair it does say that they are small on Crystal's web site. Also, despite being a decent router the wi-fi was very hit and miss. I can only assume that its placement or the structure itself was interfering with the signal as you could generally get a good signal in the bedrooms but not so much in the lounge. Also, they were running out of a daft couple of things like teabags. And the boot lockers couldn't fit my our snowboards in so we had to keep them in the boot room.

But I'm really nitpicking here as what we had was an exceptionally good value chalet and a very competent chalet host. Plenty of wine, plenty of good food, excellent breakfasts, clean facilities and a great location. The chalet is 30 metres or so from the Gare Routiere and no more than 5 mins walk to the bottom of the Olympic ski lift in a pair of snowboard boots. The chalet hosts worked very hard but there was little here that was too much trouble for them. Given that Val is not known for its cheapness they also provided 'Mountain Munchies' - a nice big baguette to take onto the slopes with you for 3 euros.

We've stayed in a number of good chalets this past few years for the price we paid for the holiday this is one of the best value ones we've ever had and all four of us were very happy with the time we had.

Room Tip: The twin rooms have a little bit more space in them. If you can fold your suitcase / bag flat you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The bad points for Chalet Reuben first..... the chalet is pretty small with just about enough seats in the common area for everyone and the rooms are also pretty small. The bathrooms are modern and nice but the shower is made for midgets with the shower holder placed at hip height which none of us could fathom why. The ski lockers are small so everyone has to jam their skis/boards ontop of eachothers which is annoying but the boot dryers downstairs are modern and enough spaces for everyones boots. The good points, location is very good, only a couple minutes walk to the town center and to the lifts. Our chalet hosts (Sophie,Cat and Catherine) were amazing, really hard workers who would do anything they could for you. They cooked lots of beautiful food on a night and made cakes every day for when you got back from the slopes. The only criticism I had of the food was the cooked breakfast was not very good quality, but that was Crystals fault not the girls who could only cook with what they were given.All in all a great holiday and would probably visit Rueben again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits in Austria
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here beginning of the year!
The negatives - Crystal finest with small rooms- tiny is more accurate! My husband and I had to take it in turns to get dressed and sit on the bed to get past to go to the bathroom in a cupboard! Very difficult to unpack and limited storage space.
Some of the furniture was rickety.
The positives - Chalet Reuben is well placed for the main street and@ 5 minute uphill walk to the Solaise chair lift.company.
We were very fortunate to have great weather, brilliant company and some tasty meals (made by Sophie and Beth).
Val D'Isere is a beautiful place and we loved the ski area. However, this was our first experience of a Crystal finest chalet. We were dissapointed and would stay in a hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked at the end of November and had a pleasant holiday via Crystal in Dec 2012, however were it not for our Chalet Hostess's cooking (Sophie) I'd have felt severely short changed.
- electrics failed on more than one occasion
- TV didn't work properly
- WIFI was intermittent at best, and in available in the living room
- kitchen in need of renovation/repair
- rooms were so small it was not possible to fully open a suitcase. there was also very limited storage space
- the chalet is advertised as being at the base of the Solaise Express, it is in fact a 6-8 min uphill walk to the lifts, or a 3 min downhill walk to the bus stop which will take you to the lifts.
- no views from our bedroom whatsoever

On the upside there was adequate boot/ski storage, the main strip for shops/restaurants/entertainment was on one's doorstep and the bathroom we had was recently renovated.

The deal had been discounted for our Xmas stay however at full price I would have been severely disappointed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Reuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Reuben

Address: Rue du Coin, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Val d'Isere
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chalet Reuben France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Reuben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.