We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Brussels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Brussels to your Saves list
Hotel Le Brussels
BP 13 | Derrière la Poste, 73151 Val d'Isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Val d'Isere
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

This is the second time we have stayed at the Brussels but were pleasantly surprised at the recent tasteful refurbishments of the hotel lobby, reception and restaurant. and a new bar that has ben created. You cannot beat this hotel for ski in, ski out loction. The service is excellent and friendly, the hotel food delicious. We did have a complaint about the noise coming from the Saloon Bar underneath the hotel but this was quickly remidied and we were upgraded to another room and given a bottle of Bollinger to boot! So our advice would be not to have a first floor room..... The hotel is curently 3 star, and I have stayed in worse 4 and 5 star accomodation. Watch out as the management will be up-grading the spa ths year and then the hotel will be re-graded. If I had to complain about anything it would be the price approx 450 euros per night for what are fairly small rooms, however they are comfortable and cleanliness is at a premium. Val has some great skiing on offer but is an expensive resort with 5 euros typical for a cappucino or hot chocolate...

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
22
26
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Just back from fantastic holiday at this hotel with fiancee. Rooms small but clean, staff very friendly and meals top class. Did experience a bit of noise from bar directly below hotel but this is to be expected due to central location. Great location and we were able to ski in and out all week as hotel directly at nursery slope and main lifts. However, as a beginner I did find resort rather difficult to ski. Will definately return though.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

I went to Val D'Isere with a friend in March 2006 and stayed at the Brussels hotel, both Val D'Isere and the Brussels hotel were fabulous.

Our room was great, it was spacious, cleaned and tidied very regularly (the beds were even turned down for us every evening!) and seemed practically brand new. We always had clean towels and the bathroom was spotless.

I had read a review prior to my trip to the Brussels hotel which warned that the hotel was noisy. I did not find that this was any problem at all, our room was very quiet as was the rest of the hotel.

The staff were really friendly and helpful (without being in your face) and the food was great.

In terms of location, the hotel couldn't have been better, situated right at the foot of the slopes near the lifts - you could almost roll out of bed onto the slopes!

If I had to mention one fault it would be the entrance to the hotel which could do with a spot of modernistation and was a bit fusty BUT all in all a great ski trip and I certainly would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

The hotel is in a good position on the slopes and although not ski out (a short walk to the lifts) can be skiied back to. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The terrace is great at lunchtime and the restaurant very welcoming. There is also an underground garage available.

On the minus side, the ground floor entrance lobby is awful; the Reception is situated on the first floor. There is a nasty smell in certain parts of the hotel and the corridors on our floor were in darkness leaving us to search along the walls for the time switches. The locker room needs upgrading.

Our room had been refurbished but was very small. The bathroom was excellent with a good shower and a bath. The room was at the back of the hotel and quiet.

We found it expensive although I recognise that Val D'Isere is an expensive resort.

Skiing back to the village can be hairy as the runs back are partly walks or overcrowded slush ridden reds or blacks. Best to take the lifts down at the end of the afternoon for anyone other than good skiers.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

Fabulous time was had by myself husband and two daughters age 13 and 14. We had stayed at this hotel in 2000 and liked its position to the slopes the rooms were very old at this time but what a change after refurbishment they were small but tastfully done,we were given rooms together as requested.
The staff were always very helpful and the maid even returned in the evening to turn down your bed and give a little extra tidy.
Fabulous Fabian in the restraunt was brilliant in helping my daughters and me with getting the chef to come up with vegetarian food every evening. As a meat eater my husband couldn't fault the food.
I read a previous report about the lobby and reception yes it is a bit shabby but it is to be refurbished in the near future.
We also like the fact it is small and family run in all a pleasnt stay with lovely hard working staff.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

The only reason to stay there is it location, directly next to the cable car. We had booked the hotel, not finding any other rooms in Val D'Isere during the high season and French school vacation. We know now why the other hotels were booked and this one had still rooms!! We had booked a superior room, so its more spacious, the initial room we were given there were no space to fit in 2 suit cases!! so we asked for another room, which was better. The entrance of the hotel and the lobby have a terrible smell, the hotel said it comes from the toilets and will be renovated for next year. The lobby is uninviting, the food not delicious, light bulbs in the lobby are missing and are only replaced after we asked them. The wall mounted hairdryer in the room went dead after there was a short power break and there was not even a spare one in the whole hotel so I had to ask for to visit another room in order to dry my hair.
Overall, for the price they are charging its not worth, there are better deals in Val D'Isere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

Before going to Val d'Isere, the only review I read was the 'sort out the soundproofing' review here, and I have to say I was a bit worried about what we'd booked!

It was totally unfounded as the hotel is fantastic. The rooms are comfortable and very warm, plus ours had a bath for a long soak after skiing! We had a room looking right up the Olympic black run, so a great view. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was amazing, tasty and well presented. I wouldn't have been disappointed to get this standard in a 5 star hotel. The staff in the restaurant were also really patient with our poor French skills!

We had a room on the second floor directly over the lively Saloon bar, which we thought might have been a problem. But we weren't disturbed by any noise late at night. So I'd have to disagree about the soundproofing problem, especially as I'm a light sleeper!!

The skiing is literally back to the door and I think it must be the best location in Val d'Isere. The ski lockers are also free and there's a room for your boots!

I can't sing the praises of this hotel enough and I would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Brussels

Address: BP 13 | Derrière la Poste, 73151 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a beautiful charming hotel located in the heart of Val d'Isère.Located on the slopes, guests can easily goand discover of one of the finest ski areas.You only have to go through the door to walk in the delightful village of Val d'Isere: shopping, leisure and sporting activities are at your doorstep!Enjoy a unique stay, a warm atmosphere in this chalet blending traditional charm and modern Savoyard for a comfort always ensured.The 53 rooms, which include junior suites and VIP Side will seduce you with its unique design that combines elegance with natural wood, precious fabrics and traditional furniture, it is a real invitation to relax.For all our rooms, a range of services is at your disposal:LuggageConciergeRoom ServiceLaundrySafeValetFree Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Brussels France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.