We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talloires is always a delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cottage Bise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Cottage Bise to your Saves list
Le Cottage Bise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lac d'Annecy, 74290 Talloires, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Talloires is always a delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Bize family establishments are very prominent in Talloires, and the Cottage is a more modest version of Pere Bize.Our room was perfectly adequate, nicely furnished and spotless. The restaurant had a good cross-section of pris-fixe menus, and the quality of the food was high.Service was good and there is plenty of parking space (essential in Talloires)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
63
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband booked us a surprise weekend here, staying in a Junior Suite for two nights. We arrived late, but were given a friendly welcome, and enjoyed a late night glass of wine on the terrace. The next day I was able to fully appreciate the divine location. Cottage Bise is situated in the middle of a small bay on Lake Annecy, and accommodation is spread out over three buildings arranged around a small green garden area. The setting really is special with a backdrop of mountains and a view out over a blue lake.
As well as a super location, there is plenty to do in and around Talloires. So much so in fact, that I never got to try the swimming pool, jacuzzi or spa located in the Cottage. We were able to scuba dive with Profil Plongee, the local company, who catered to our needs perfectly and were a delight to dive with, canoe on the lake, and cycle the length of Lake Annecy (there is a fantastic piste cyclable - dedicated bicycle route - on a former train route on the west side of Lake Annecy). There are plenty more outdoor activities to try...
We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the Cottage restaurant, though were a little surprised to see the same menu at lunchtime the following day. Service was always good. Breakfast, as noted elsewhere, is a continental style buffet with tasty bread, pastries, salami/cheese and a selection of jams and preserves though no hot options.
Our rooms were pleasantly decorated, with a separate shower, toilet and bath room, and a living room. The shower had good water pressure, the complimentary toiletries were very nice, a bottle of mineral water was available in the room, the hair dryer worked perfectly, lighting and mirrors were fine, and the rooms had air conditioning which was very welcome, as the weather was humid. The bed was comfortable and we had two nights of perfect sleep. I personally enjoyed having a bathrobe that fitted - I am sadly all too used to the gigantic sizing of bathrobes provided in other places.
We were able to arrange a slightly later checkout than normal, due to our activities on the Sunday morning, which was much appreciated by us.
We enjoyed a lovely stay, would return again in the future, and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
A questionnaire was left in our room before we left, which I thought was a sensible thing for any modern hotel to do. It did ask what one thing would we change about the hotel - at the time, I couldn't think of anything, but if asked again, I would only say - perhaps some cushions on the outdoor deck seating, as they were a little uncomfortable to sit on, though no doubt the bicycle ride did not assist with that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in a suite with lake view (Room No 8 I think) for 5 days in the second week of July 2012. Generally Talloires is a very quiet spot but Bastille Day night is anything but! The view from the room was spectacular and the suite had plenty of room. The layout was slightly unusual in that the toilet (with no wash basin) was at one end of the suite and the bathroom at the other end. There was also a large pane of glass between the bathroom and the bedroom with no blinds / curtains to provide any privacy whatsoever whilst in the bathroom. Otherwise the room was very comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel on all 5 days and dinner for 4 of the 5 days. Breakfast probably sl expensive (18 euros?) for what was on offer and cooked eggs extra! For dinner there is 3 menus to choose from, however you can go a la carte and pick and choose from several. However after 4 days we felt that we had exhausted the menu. Wines were sl disappointing with a relatively poor selection of the local Savoie wines on offer. I understand this hotel closes down from about October to March when the weather turns cold. Very good it was...excellent probably not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I feel that Mr. 900cc from London ( review posted 6th July) has hit the nail on the head with his very astute review. We stayed at the hotel 21 years ago on our honeymoon and been going there more or less once a year for our anniversary dinner ever since. Many of our friends and family have also stayed there on our reccommendation. The hotel iteself is OK, nothing to shout about - the setting is just overwhelmingly beautiful. When we first knew it, the restaurant still had gravel on the ground and the tables and chairs were wonderful blue wrought-iron affairs that you just wanted to take home and put in your own garden. Then the hotel had a refit, the gravel gave way to ubiquitous decking and the chairs and tables have also gone to be replaced by some forgettable ones. We booked a table last Sat. to treat our in-laws and arrived just before sunset - it was magical. I had booked blindly and had not looked at the menu online so we were all taken aback. The menus (€45 and €70) were very limited as was the à la carte choice and When the food was served up it was fussy and unsatisfying (eg. lots of little islands of things on a slate - emphasis on "little"). The service was amateurish to a point of being laughable as a very yound lady managed to pelt my mother-in-law with a bread roll and glassess were snatched away before the wine was finished. Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against young people learning a trade but I would have thought that the hotel would unleash them on to us with slightly better skills. After all, we were paying a price and it's not cheap. We saw the maître d' agitating and gesticulating at them but at no point did he come over to apologise or to find out how we were doing.
We were all out to have a nice evening and that is what we had. Before you reject this review as that of ignorant annual holiday-makers who wouldn't recognize an oyster if it bit them, let me just say that we have been living in the Annecy area for 25 years and know what to expect from a French restaurant. I still love the Cottage but I would say, "less is more" in the kitchen and bring back caring for your diners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a find this hotel is. We were lucky enough to get the last room they had available, which presumably meant it was the least good in the hotel, and it was still excellent - large, light and with a lovely view.

The service is friendly and always ahead of you - the barman remembered our pre-dinner order, the waiter heard us wishing we had a bowl of nuts while serving another table and brought them, the owner spotted we had the spa brochure and immediately offered to make the booking... you just feel incredibly well looked after all the time.

Talloires itself is delightful in summer, with an unbeatable blend of adrenaline sports such as paragliding, activities like windsurfing and pure relaxation along the lakeside and pool. The view across the lake is spectacular.

The food in the restaurant is exceptionally nice - we ate there most nights and it was always beautifully presented, fresh, well balanced and delicious. The chef clearly has a very good palate.

I hope we will return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

As other people have said, perfect location, great view. We booked last minute for 2 nights and got the last room available, room 1, first floor. Actually a reasonable size, not huge but enough space, certainly not cramped, newly decorated. Large bathroom, all marble, very nice. A decent sink with good lighting and plenty of space for the toiletries, which is usually lacking in most hotels. Both rooms had plenty of natural light. This room has a very large balcony but is just to the side, and above, the kitchen. Whilst the noise is not enough to wake you, and I'm a very light sleeper, you can hear it once awake, and the extractor. View from the balcony was to the hills behind. Mildly marred by the staff accommodation. Non the less, fine for the money (€180p/n) peak season. Unless you want to sit on your own balcony, there's no need to pay for the lake view in summer, just go and sit outside.
Breakfast, excellent for France, this category hotel and price.
Dinner, very decent, approaching Relais Chateaux standard. Wine per glass between €8 and €15. Service was faultless, with each course 'announced'. Staff very friendly and professional.
Outside seating is comfortable, not too close to each other, and that view! Definitely a place to sit and have a cocktail whilst watching the sunset.
The other top alternative hotels on the front are the Père Bise and the Abbaye.
All in all, a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Your first impression of Le Cottage is wondering why you've never been here before... Set on the undeveloped waterfront of Talloires on the side of Lake Annecy that you never knew about, it's a very welcome sight after a long drive. Tables are set under the trees overlooking the lake with boats and pedaloes tied up to the jetty. A quiet and peaceful setting that really is rather beautiful. It's expensive though. Whilst the rooms, at €190 for a (very small - you have to walk sideways) double with great lake views are what you might expect to pay, dinner can easily double that. Like many French restaurants, there's a fixed menu at around the €50 per head mark - and unfortunately It's one of those menu's that you can't find anything that you actually want to eat on. And after four (overly fiddled about with and unnecessarily complicated) courses, plus wine which Jean-Claude, the owner only recommends becomes drinkable at €36 a bottle, you'd better be hungry. Again, true to form for these kind of restaurants in France, whilst you can order just one course, it comes at a huge premium (like €40), so if you're not hungry, you're better off sharing the menu fixe. Service, was by either a desperately keen but very nervous identical twins proffering a bread roll held like a grenade between shaking forks as if they were always on the edge of being berated by the owner for not being subservient enough.

The dining room is a rather stitched-up affair like you'd imagine it would be eating on the Queen Mary... elderly couples talking in hushed voices whilst obsequious staff wander around never quite catching your eye.
If you're neither elderly nor feel like being fleeced, I would recommend this place for a 1 - 2 night stay, but you'd be better off eating elsewhere (trouble is, there's nowhere particularly close). It is in a beautiful setting but could be so much better if they made the restaurant less 'haute' and more 'cuisine'. And charging €18 for the buffet breakfast is a bit rich too, particularly when boiled eggs are then extra.

Hmmm.... Good then, but a shame that it's not as good as the fabulous setting promises..

Room Tip: Only go for rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cottage Bise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cottage Bise

Address: Lac d'Annecy, 74290 Talloires, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cottage Bise 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Cottage Bise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cottage Bise Talloires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cottage Bise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.