We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Du Pere Bise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Du Pere Bise to your Saves list
Auberge Du Pere Bise
303 Route Du Port | Lake of Annecy, 74290 Talloires, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Talloires
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The location as with much of this region is beautiful, and the fact you can dip your toes in the lake from the restaurant a real treat. The hotel itself is wonderful for a weekend of relaxation and romance, and the restaurant is wonderful. Great, decadent food, a wonderful sommelier and more cheese and pudding than you can imagine. Fantastic

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    52
    31
    16
    7
See reviews for
40
165
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tournus, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is the third September vacation we have spent at Auberge Du Pere Bise, and we have been thoroughly satisfied every time. The location is spectacular; the service impeccable; the staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and professional; and the food is superb. Anyone wanting the perfect lakeside holiday in the French Alps need look no further. Both Madame Bise and her daughter, Sophie, the dedicated gourmet chef, have worked a miracle at Talloires in their careful attention to detail, from the grounds and gardens to the comfortable and luxurious accommodations. The menu is imaginative and delicious, with the dessert trolley being la piece de resistance. We will definitely plan to return next September, perhaps sooner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are travellers from Japan and stayed for 4 nights. Everything is excellent. A small dog stayed with us in the room was called "the star of the house". We will come back to this hotel if we visit this area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I first stayed at this beautiful hotel for four days in 1968 with my father when it had three stars and the old man Bise himself was still cooking. Naturally, my father paid. I have never forgotten that stay nor its poulet de bresse a l'estragon. I returned in 1981 and found the experience a disappointment, so I did not return again until this August.

The hotel rooms are much improved and very comfortable if decorated in idiosyncratic fashion. The location beside the lake with its cool, fragrant lawns and glades remains superb and the more so for the excellent lakeside service which is rapid and discreet. Dinner was simply unforgettable. Wonderful amuse bouche and delicious foie gras. Again I had the poulet a l'estragon and it was as magnificent as I remember it 45 years ago. Finally the grand marnier souffle was superb. The wine list is outstanding and caters to all tastes. Following the reviews of some others, I had expected rather sniffy service and a reluctance to speak english. This was absolutely not the case and the staff were solicitous to a very high degree. The service was excellent.

Finally, the poulet a l'estragon is a dish for two but my wife does not like tarragon. I therefore ordered this dish just for myself and asked the staff to bag the second half for me to take away. They agreed without demur and I duly received the second half beautifully packaged in a box from their fridge to take with me when I left on the Sunday morning. I had this warmed up for dinner the following Monday. It was again magnificent.

On our three week holiday this summer, we ate in several Michelin one star rated restaurants. Pere Bise is hugely superior to all of these. It is astonishing that it has not got back at least its second star. It deserves it. However, the experience does not come cheaply.

Room Tip: MUst ask for a room with a view of lake Annecy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoule sur Mer, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Extremely comfortable hotel and bedrooms, well serviced with smiling and helpful reception. Quiet and clean. Lovely swimming and boating (rowing or pedalo)on the lake, très romantic, out of this mad world. Also try to do some paragliding! A fantastic, exciting experience running off the mountainside to hang over the lake in total silence. Bit frightened at first but a some adrelanin is good during such relaxing holidays. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Pere Bise in July 2013 with a group who makes an annual trip to this property. After reading the TA reviews I had considerable trepidation on what to expect of the rooms and service. Overall I felt like the hotel was very good for what it is -- a 100 yr old inn on a gorgeous river near the French Alps. This isn't a new, modern hotel with 5* American amenities. If you go with the attitude of staying at an inn or nice B&B, you will be pleasantly surprised.

I was given room 25 in the new building, which is classified as a junior suite and had a reasonable amount of space. The bed was hard but comfortable and the couch equally comfortable despite being covered in a brash fabric. The bathroom has a single sink, separate (tiny) shower and WC. All reasonable and clean. Room servicing was efficient and kept everything in the room and public spaces clean.

We ate breakfast/lunch/dinner in the Pere Bise restaurant; though skipped out on the 5-7 course meals. The food was excellent but the service excruciatingly slow (even by Italian standards) and items routinely had to be requested multiple times. If you're spending a few nights here or in the town, I strongly recommend the pizzeria up the road and the boulangeries in the center of town.

Room Tip: Room 25 is large and has a small, private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Mixed experience. Spent three nights here in June. Grounds are lovely, location superb--right on the lake, mountains behind. Less than 1 hour drive to Megeve and high Alps. City of Annecy a few minutes away. Staff extremely helpful. Dinner at the restaurant is haut-cuisine super with prices to match. (The Cottage restaurant next door is almost as good and much less $.) We had Room #23 which has a nice view of the lake, good A/C, a very comfortable bed, terrific lighting and a new modern bathroom. But it was TOO small, not worthy of Relais & Chateaux and hardly worth 320E/night. Maybe we made a bad choice and should have upgraded to main house junior suite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Du Pere Bise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Du Pere Bise

Address: 303 Route Du Port | Lake of Annecy, 74290 Talloires, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Annecy lake, in a large and quiet park, this exceptional location will give you an experience of Privilege, with the proximity of the skiing resorts of Aravis mountains in winter, or with the serenity of our private beach where you can swim in the purest lake of Europe in summertime. Gastronomy complete this to make Auberge du Pere Bise a unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge Du Pere Bise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Pere Bise Hotel Talloires
Auberge Du Pere Bise Talloires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Du Pere Bise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.