We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting building, OK food, great spot on the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abbaye de Talloires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abbaye de Talloires to your Saves list
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Chemin des Moines | Le Port, 74290 Talloires, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Really interesting building, OK food, great spot on the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Abbaye. I can't give it 5 stars as the rooms are pretty basic and the decor of the bathrooms is quite dated but it is a converted monastry - so you stay there more for the interesting history of the building. Our bed was very comfortable and we had a small balcony with wonderful views across the lake.

The bar and restaurant had a wonderful outside area looking across the lake.

I would most definitely recommend the hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, Manager at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Keen_Bean_Tr,

thank you for your nice words.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    65
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
30
127
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Not having researched this hotel before arriving on a recommendation, I was very happy to be greeted by very nice reception staff and helpful gentlemen to park the car and take the luggage. The building is dated in a traditional style but has just the right amount of modern touches to be acceptable to the well travelled. The rooms vary from a basic standard to quite nice and cute lake side superior and on to junior suites. We stayed in a Superior lake side room with a truly magnificent view of the lake. The room was clean, bathroom modernised and clean, TV, safe and a fan. ( no aircon due to age of the establishment)
We had a table for six booked for dinner by the lake side restaurant and the food was really delightful with a good choice of wines and very pleasent service. There was a slight issue with service, but once pointed out we were treated incredibly well.

While there we used the hotel boat, which was reasonable and good fun, spent a couple of days by the lake on the decked pontoon, which after surveying the nearby hotels I would say is one of the best lake side swimming and sunbathing options in the area,

I would recommend and return when next driving from London to the South of France.

We also stayed whilst the Fete du Lac was taking place which is a fantastic fireworks display.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsk53, General Manager at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Boulus,

we are delighted to read your compliments as we understand that you had a nice stay in our beautiful house.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Warmest regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This Hotel is very pleasant to stay in. The building is historic but very well looked after. It is lovely to

The staff are very helpful and I was pleased to find a laptop set up with free Internet access so I could keep up to date with my messages, and thus justifying my decision to leave all my own 'kit' at home. The rooms are not huge but certainly comfortable with excellent facilities. Only one or two channels with English but I don't go on holiday to watch TV so I wasn't worried at all. If you want to eat in the hotel you need to be aware that the restaurant is closed for Monday and Tuesday ever week except for the July / August Peak time. The village is quite small, and very quiet ( out of season anyway) but there are a few other eating place albeit not all to the standard of the Abbaye. The hotel in on the lakeside with a pontoon that allows you to take the sun looking over the lake and only a few steps from the Bar - where you could also get lunch, ice creams, coffee etc. Finally there is a landing a few hundred paces away where you can catch the boats that do a circular trip of the lake and allow you to get off at any village and travel back later. A very relaxing place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotels. Unique, charming, historical, romantic....we'll not forget our stay here. The location is breathtaking, the photos don't do it justice. On the beautiful shores of Lake Annecy, it's like you've stepped into Brigadoon, a town that time has forgotten. A former monks room, we had a "classic with a lake view", which was small but all the fine touches were there. The linens and pillows were very comfortable, and housekeeping was immaculate. To open our shutters on the lake, and listen to it's sounds all night was just heaven. We stayed 4 nights, and ate at the restaurant 2 nights - an absolute gourmet delight. Service was always helpful and courteous. We especialy enjoyed sitting out on the patio in the evening, had a delightful waitress (I wish I could remember her name) who bought us refreshing drinks (the house "mohito" was a specialty) and little bowls of olives and candies. The bartender was also charming and helpful, when we questioned him about the lovely and unique trees lining the patio gardens, he left and returned with the info ("silver lime trees" - blossoms are used for tea leaves). This was typical of our dealings with the staff at the Abbaye, no request was too small. Would love to return to this area, and the Abbaye in particular.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We we're at the hotel for 5 nights during the first week in June. This is a longer stay than most. From what I could tell everyone else was there for a couple nights while in transit to another location. This lengthy stay and 3 full days of rain meant that my wife and I had plenty of time to assess the quality of service and separate it from the effect the absolutely stunning location has on one's perception of the property. The good: location - wow! The building - beautiful, and the grounds were immaculate and the extremely well kept. The maid service was very efficient the entire hotel was very clean. The rooms were exactly as seen on the website. Very comfortable and pleasant. Dinner - the quality of the dinner service and wine list is very high.

The bad: The hotel has a feeling of being understaffed. Trying to get something to eat or drink outside of their meal times is extremely frustrating. Coffee after 10:30am? Forget it. A glass of wine or a cocktail after 10:30? No way... unless you ask the reception to grab something easy for you like a beer. Room service? No way. Overall it felt like one had to be on the hotel's schedule in order to receive service instead of the hotel working around your day/evening. For all that, I still think its worth checking out. The positive out weighs the negative by quite a bit.

Oh.... one last thing: the walls are paper thin. Which encourages a monk like silence in all the guests. If you're going for a romantic stay, be prepared to whisper your love or risk entertaining the entire hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This hotel was booked for me by my travel agent as part of a self drive holiday across France using some 'chain' hotels and culminating with a three night stay here close to Annecy. I had not done any homework regarding where we were staying. The chain hotels met expectations but this came as a complete surprise.
From the time we entered the hotel until we left we did not meet anyone who did not know their job and carried it out to perfection.
We had booked a garden view room but they provided a room on the side of the hotel with a balcony view of the lake as well as the mountains behind the hotel. We ate twice in the restaurant in the evening. On both occasions the food and service were excellent. On this occasion I was not able to choose a bottle from the wine list but 'Charlie' cheerfully provide the suitable odd glass to perfectly complement my choice food.

It was our first visit to this part of France and we shall return to the beautiful area and this hotel in particular.

For a fuller rave review see the one from October 2011 with which I fully agree.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

stayed overnight on a drive across the alps, really beautiful setting.We swam in the lake from the jetty of the hotel just like getting into a swimming pool. The gardens were beautiful, we had a wonderful dinner al fresco , with impeccable service. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway, the bedrooms are lovely in the converted abbey.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abbaye de Talloires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbaye de Talloires

Address: 2, Chemin des Moines | Le Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbaye de Talloires 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talloires, the most beautiful place on Lake Annecy is the home to the Abbaye de Talloires, one of the most extraordinary hotels in Annecy. It has everything: centuries of history, a long list of celebrities who have stayed there such as Mark Twain, Paul Cezanne and Jean Reno amongst many others. Fine dining is assured with the Aux Jardins des Delices gourmet restaurant and the light cuisine with the La Table de Cezanne brasserie-restaurant at lunchtime during summer. The historical wine cellar is filled with hidden treasures. Rooms and suites, each one different from the other are offering breathtaking views. The cosy and welcoming Spa; the vaulted bar for romantic evenings; the pontoon equipped with beach beds to escape the world, a wide choice of cultural and sporting activities and so many more. But, above all, it's the people who work here that make this hotel such a special place to stay, the Abbaye de Talloires is the only hotel in France to win twice ( 2009 and 2013 ) 4* et 5* Hotel Customers Trophy Award for its quality of service! ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abbaye de Talloires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.